We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, Great choice! :-)”
Review of Hotel Arpoador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Arpoador
Ranked #25 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best location, Great choice! :-)”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This is the ONLY hotel literally on the beach, not across the street from the beach. The views are spectacular day and night. Veryyyy friendly staff, very clean, very comfortable. I am so happy I chose this hotel for the week. Great breakfast literally outside on the water almost on the sand. I would definitely stay here again, but the wifi is not very strong signal. I was told that it is being upgraded next week, which will then make this hotel my #1 choice to stay at in Rio when I return. Definitely two thumbs up. Obrigado.

Room Tip: choose an ocean view room! it's worth the extra per night. sounds of the ocean constantly. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your superb review regarding the recent with us, at ARPOADOR INN.

Our teams are extremely excited to know how much you have enjoyed our excellency services and comfortable facilities. We are indeed the only hotel in Rio de Janeiro located literally on the beach, with a charming private stone cobbled street between us and the beach.

Our internet services were upgraded, so we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    336
    111
    21
    20
See reviews for
160
322
79
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Basic facilities, friendly and efficient staff, unique location! But make sure you select a room with a view, truly what makes this hotel unique! It's a luxury to be literally twenty steps from the sand of Arpoador beach, with no busy streets with honking cars in between.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank engliishpatient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for enthusiastically reviewing your stay with us, at ARPOADOR INN.

I am extremely glad that you enjoyed the peace in one of our Deluxe Sea View apartments, which overlooks the nicest beaches in Rio de Janeiro.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've been to Rio twice and stayed at the Ceasar Park which was beautiful but pricey. I thought I'd give a cheaper hotel a chance.

Arpoador is in a great location and the bed I slept in was comfortable. Those are the only positives I could list after being there for 1 night. I found the hotel a bit run down and the room made me feel like I was staying in a motel. I also am not sure what people were talking about in terms of a good breakfast. I found most of the items left out stale and I ended up only having a couple of pieces of fruit because there were no good options for anything that looked edible. I use Trip Advisor religiously so I'm a bit disappointed based on the reviews that it's rated so highly. If I were to go back, I'd spend double the money for a much better stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Shirin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear guest,

We are thankful for you taking the time to review your recent stay with at ARPOADOR INN.
I am particularly happy to hear how much you have enjoyed our location as much as you have enjoyed our comfortable bed.

Both our properties will have been refurbished soon.
I hope to be able to welcome you back soon, either at ARPOADOR INN or at IPANEMA INN, where the modernisation of the apartments has already started.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Great location with only a walkway between hotel and beach, unlike all other hotels that have a busy rood between them and the beach. We had a nice big sea view room which was clean, although bathroom could do with a refurb. Breakfast good with a really nice fruit salad. Reception staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us, at ARPOADOR INN. It is great to hear how much you have enjoyed the view from your apartment's window.
To stay in a Deluxe Sea View apartment is, in fact, a unique experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon, while we plan the renovation of some parts of the hotel, including the bathrooms, for an even greater comfort.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location right on Ipanema Beach, and just a few minutes away from great food and shopping. The rooms were bright and clean, the staff were incredibly courteous and helpful. The experience was great overall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MentalWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We were thrilled to hear how much you have enjoyed our location and level of services and hope to welcome you soon at ARPOADOR INN.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

It's a great location on Ipanema (which I prefer personally to Copacabana). The staff that this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Two thumbs up for Diego! The rooms are small but were clean. The restaurant was OK. A bit overpriced, but the breakfast buffet prepared each morning with fresh bread and juices was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patsy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Gerente at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your superb review about ARPOADOR INN.

I am glad that you have enjoyed our location as much as you enjoyed our great level of services.
Your compliments were transmitted to the teams at the hotel, who look forward to welcoming you back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the best location. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Stefano was always willing to assist us, thank you for your hospitality. The rooms were clean and well equipped. The restaurant staff were not very friendly. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Loretta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Gerente at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the preference and for the kind comments regarding your recent stay with us, at ARPOADOR INN.

We are indeed located in an incredibly special location, literally in front of the sea.
Your compliments were transmitted to our staff, who look forward to welcoming you back to Rio de Janeiro soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,383 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#6 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
253 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#41 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#66 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,135 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#36 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,693 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#84 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arpoador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arpoador

Property: Hotel Arpoador
Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 177 | Arpoador, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-046, Brazil (Formerly Arpoador Inn)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arpoador 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful neighbourhood in the whole of Rio de Janeiro, HOTEL ARPOADOR is the only hotel in town literally located on the beach. This idyllic area, located in the intersection of the famous Ipanema and Copacabana neighborhoods, is a peninsula with its own beach and park. The hotel offers comfortable suites, decorated in a simple sophistication, with plenty of Brazilian hardwood and white walls. Our teams are always ready to assist you in every means. HOTEL ARPOADOR Where the City meets the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arpoador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Arpoador Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing