We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, average rooms, good location”
Review of Hotel Arpoador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arpoador
Ranked #24 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, average rooms, good location”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The one thing that really stands out about this place is the staff. I found the staff to be super helpful and very accommodating. They are willing to help you with everything and very polite and courteous. The rooms are average but comfortable. The AC is not good and will not keep you cool in the summers of Rio!

The location is good if you want to be in Arpoador. But it's a 10 min walk to Copacabana and 10 min walk to the good parts of Ipanema.

Overall, I would recommend this property for a good stay in Rio!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic comments regarding your stay with us at the ARPOADOR INN.

Your great compliments were transmitted to the various hotel teams.
I am happy to inform you that all the AC units are now working perfectly, so thank you to have flagged that.

Finally, thank you for recommending the ARPOADOR INN to guests all over the world.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    335
    111
    21
    20
See reviews for
160
322
79
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights and had a great experience. The location cannot be beat; it is right on the beach... literally. The outdoor tables at the hotel's restaurant extend to right next to the sand, and the view is fantastic sunrise to sunset. The room was very comfortable, really clean and spacious. I really appreciated the free and fast wifi in the room (almost all similarly priced hotels in Copacabana and Ipanema have free wifi in the lobby, this one has free wifi in the room and it worked well throughout our stay).
The breakfast was served at the hotel's restaurant, so you start the day with great food and a fantastic view to go with it. The only two minor disadvantages that I can think of, relative to similarly priced hotels in the area, are lack of a pool/common area, but the restaurant patio is great for socializing and right next to the beach... so who needs a pool area? Also, access to the hotel was controlled by the staff after hours. I appreciated the extra security, but felt a bit awkward waking the poor guy up every time we came back at 4:00 am after a night out. Maybe consider installing a system that lets clients in by scanning their room key?
Overall, an excellent value though... Very good service, Excellent Location, Excellent View, well priced (given location and time of the year), clean and comfortable.
I would definitely stay here again when in Rio.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 422eltonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us at the ARPOADOR INN.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel is right on Impanema Beach. The rooms are small and clean. The wi-fi is slow if you can get on it. The customer service is great. Our luggage was lost for 4 days and they did everything to accomodate us. The concierge would constantly call the airlines checking on our luggage and keep us posted when they would arrive. I would definitely use them again.

Helpful?
1 Thank stutz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your incredible review, regarding the recent stay with us, at the ARPOADOR INN.

I am glad to hear that you made the most out of our high level of service and hope to see you back in one of our hotels soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A visit to Rio for reveillon (New Year celebration) was everything we had hoped for and more. Arpoador Inn is perfectly located on Ipanema Beach, one block off and an extension of Copacabana Beach. It's one of only a few hotels in Rio without a Blvd. between the property and the beach. Although a bit pricey during reveillon, (expect prices to be 3 or 4 times normal with a minimum of a 4 night stay), I feel the quality and service was what you might hope for at an expensive beach front hotel. The staff had a good command of the English language and able to provide good logistical information for getting around town using either taxis, busses, or the metro. I want to give a particular shout out to Carlos Aberto, the morning shift desk clerk. He was particularly kind, courteous, friendly, helpful; in short, professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalimoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the amazing comments about your recent stay at the ARPOADOR INN.

Your compliments have been transmitted to the various teams and collaborators who made your stay a special one.

We hope to see you back here soon.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The rooms are clean and the beds are nice. The breakfast is quite satisfying and the shower as can be expected.......the best feature however is the view. If you can then book a sea view room. Of course not the cheapest one but you are ON the beach which is not an everyday thing in Rio. Ipanema and Copacobana are within waling distance...........hence the title.........

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your preference and for the amazing comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Reception was very welcoming and English speaking. Room was clean and comfortable and included free wireless connection, TV and a fridge. Had air conditioning but unit was relatively noisy. However since AC could be switched off and windows could be opened this was fine. The hotel is unique for Ipanema (where it is located) or Copacabana, in that it is located directly at the beach front. All other hotels are behind the main road and further away from the beach. This means that one can have breakfast and dinner looking directly at the sea (while surfing on the free wireless connection...) which is very pleasant. The breakfast was included in the price and was buffet style with a variety of standard and Brazilian food options, very good value. I had dinner there once. The restaurant is specialised in Brazilian seafood, and of very good quality and good service, but it is not cheap. However I found it was worth it.

So all in all a hotel I can highly recommend particularly for travelers who want to be right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debjar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending ARPOADOR INN to travellers all around the world.

It is great to learn how much you have enjoyed our high level of services in this idyllic setting that the Arpoador neighbourhood is - a peninsula sticking out of famous Ipanema beach.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing location and great service. Great breakfast and strong wifi (both included). The rooms are slightly small and I found the laundry service extremely over-priced, but we will absolutely stay here again. Highly recommend this venue.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank UDenver20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Hotel Arpoador, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your preference and for recommending ARPOADOR INN to travellers around the world.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our courtesy breakfast buffet, served in the restaurant facing the beach, and the courtesy wifi internet throughout the hotel.

If you are looking for even more space, we are happy to recommend you one of our Deluxe rooms, larger, next time you visit Rio. Thank you for your compliments to our location and service.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,366 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#55 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
203 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#66 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,127 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,676 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arpoador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arpoador

Property: Hotel Arpoador
Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 177 | Arpoador, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-046, Brazil (Formerly Arpoador Inn)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arpoador 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful neighbourhood in the whole of Rio de Janeiro, HOTEL ARPOADOR is the only hotel in town literally located on the beach. This idyllic area, located in the intersection of the famous Ipanema and Copacabana neighborhoods, is a peninsula with its own beach and park. The hotel offers comfortable suites, decorated in a simple sophistication, with plenty of Brazilian hardwood and white walls. Our teams are always ready to assist you in every means. HOTEL ARPOADOR Where the City meets the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arpoador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Arpoador Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing