We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Copacabana

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Atlantis Copacabana
Ranked #89 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
United States
Level Contributor
221 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

For budget option in Zona Sul -- less than $150 usd -- not many clean, renovated choices. This hotel is one of them. If you choose to stay here, just keep in mind that Rio hostelry (and Brazil at this moment in time) delivers a pretty poor value for cost. The renovation was superficial, and without style, or enhancing the comfort standard in the room. Cheap and meager furnishings, feels like a fishbowl, but it is clean enough. Older AC's at least cover the street noise in the front rooms. Room was long and narrow with three beds, traditional Brazilian family style, although some of the clientele here for proximity to Farma might appreciate the clustering options. Staff lax and casual, guest concerns don't seem like a priority here. Wifi and breakfast ok, but dining room cramped at rush times. Other than beachfront, Hotel is in the best possible location for visitors new to Rio.

Room Tip: inquire in advance about bed arrangements, several types
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    693
    263
    41
    32
See reviews for
280
481
78
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

First off, you can't beat the location - one block to Ipanema, three blocks to Copacabana in a safe, attractive neighbourhood, three blocks from a Metro station. We were on the 8th floor and we could see Ipanema, but we're usually gone early and back late. Rather than look at the beaches, I'd rather be on them. If the room is clean (and it was) and the AC works (albeit a little noisily), then I'm happy. Also, our room was quite big. The rooftop pool is tiny, but go up there at sunset. The view is incredible - Sugarloaf, Copacabana, Ipanema.

I was quite impressed with the breakfasts.

The staff were helpful, giving us directions to various attractions and making reservations. My only complaint was when we left for the airport, and they tried to put us in a cab that would've cost 85 riyals. We paged one that agreed to go by the meter, and it cost us about 55 riyals, not including the tip, not quite $20 cheaper. So hold your ground on that one.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I just got back from out trip to south america and this hotel was probably the worst we encountered
it was not clean, there was no natural sunligh, the toilet was loose on its footings, and the free wifi never worked in the room.
i would pay the extra next time and go somewhere a little more better

sc

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

There are a couple of good things to say about this hotel, most notably the friendly staff, the free and fast internet access, and the good size of the rooms. However at over EUR 130 per room (for my booking), it is just terribly overpriced. The rooms are really faded with tired, cheap and tasteless furniture, rustic and loud ACs, filthy bathrooms etc. etc. - Such rooms do not cost more than EUR 50 even in otherwise quite expensive cities.

The problem with Rio is that most hotels here are tired and massively overpriced, but this one seems to be a particular case in point..... Overall there are not many strong reasons to stay here, I would rather take a hotel of similar price range that is closer to Copacabana beach (e.g. the similarly-named Atlantico - which is also far from good but much better located).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltwohnen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Price not too bad for the location, if you turn right you're in Ipanema, turn left and you're in Copacabana (or maybe the other way around? haha not sure now). Friendly staff, breakfast was okay, clean and quite rooms. The only complaint is the air conditioner which seemed to stop working from time to time.

Room Tip: A room not in front of the elevator sounds the best, we had a corner room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in 2005 and back then the hotel was also ok and good value for money. I now came back in december 2011 and directly noticed that they renovated almost the entire hotel. Hotel around the Copacopabana and Ipanema area are basically all expensive for what you get. So keeping that in mind this was a good value for money choice. We wanted to stay 4 nights but they only had availability for 2 nights against that rate. We got a large family room. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Breakfast could be better but that is almost anywhere in Rio hotels. Conveniently located between Ipanema and Copacobana beach. Safe area and restaurants on walking distance. I would go back to this hotel if the rate is ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in August 2011. First time in Rio and the location of the hotel was important for us. The hotel is located in a quiet and safe area, very close to all beaches (5 min). Besides the location, we did'nt think the hotel was worth the money. The room was ok, the bathroom small. The breakfast area was in on the ground floor without any windows or light, which made it very very dark. Not a very nice way of starting your day. The breakfast itself was also very average. The main complaint was the attitude of the personel at the reception. When we arrived they just ignored us and after asking a few times, they kept us waiting for more than an hour. After arriving from holland on a long fligth, we were not very pleased with this behavour. So conclusion: location is the best, but the rest is less then average compared to the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjolein28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#29 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#19 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#112 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#87 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Copacabana

Property: Atlantis Copacabana
Address: Rua Bulhoes de Carvalho 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Atlantis Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing