We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Leme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windsor Leme Hotel
Ranked #42 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

just got back from a trip to brazil where we stayed in this hotel. Personally we can not fault the place. Lovely large room plenty of bedding and pillows and comfortable beds. Brilliant shower and bathroom and prompt room service. Lovely choice of food fore breakfast and everything was clean and fresh. Hotel is right on copacabana beach and you can ask at reception for beach umbrellas and towels. There iis no pool or gym but you can use the other hotels facilities. if your english then dont expect to be understood by a lot of the brazillians. They do try but like i always say "their english is a lot better than my portugese/tunisian/or wherever else im visiting!" You must do the tours and it works out a lot cheaper to do it through a guide than to organise it alone. The jeep tours are ace. You do christ thee redeemer and the sugar loaf tour in one day. It takes around 6 hours all in all but you dont have to queue and you get lots of other information about brazil aswell. There is a traditional brazilian bbq place that is amazing and you would be mad not to try it if your a meat eater. You can ask at receptiion for details on these things or message me an ill get the details for you. All in all lovely hotel niice staff and a beautiful place. Would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    381
    115
    36
    20
See reviews for
271
229
30
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. Location is superb, just opposite to the Copacabana beach. The service I would say is below avergae, mainly due to lacl of English speaking staff who take the order for room service, If you speak Portugese, this is not a problem.
Breakfast is ok, although same thing was repeated everyday!
For this money I would prefer to try another hotel next time around.

Room Tip: Pls book a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at the Leme Othon Palace Hotel during your last trip to Rio de Janeiro.

We are very thankful to you for sharing your thoughts with us and also must apologize to you for any inconvenience we may have caused you. It is only through comments from customers like you, that we realize we were not able to exceed your expectations.

Thanking you once again, and hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French in Geneva
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed 4 days for the New Year and paid 5.900€ for 2 rooms.
The only good thing about this hotel is the location on the Copacabana beach which is great.

Everything else is bad. The rooms are dated and with a very low ceiling on some parts of the room, the windows are dirty and can't open so you can have a dirty sea view, the bathrooms need to be redone, the is no swimming pool and no gym, the bar is depressing, the breakfast is cheap and they squeeze lots of tables you in a large room without windows (on the brochure they show the tables in the room with a view), the free Internet in the lobby does not work most of the time, the staff is very nice but they don't have answers to your questions

To be honest, I think that their best skill is the TripAdvisor ranking management for which they answer if you do a positive or negative review and they also probably do some kind of magic to get such a good (and misleading) ranking.

Anyway, Rio is such a fantastic place that you don't spend much time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room in another hotel :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcosFrenchinGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest

I would like in the first instance to convey our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointment that you have encountered during your last stay at our Hotel.

We are very thankful to you for sharing your thoughts with us and also must apologize to you for any inconvenience we may have caused you. It is only through comments from customers like you, that we realize we were not able to exceed your expectations.

Thanking you once again, and hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel by chance (after another in Copcabana we had prebooked was so terrible) and felt quite pleased. No hotel in this location is cheap, but we felt we received value for money. The oceanview room had a very pleasant view and was not noisy high up on the 8th floor. However it was basically furnished with no luxury. The bathroom was fine. Everything was very clean. Breakfasts were plentiful but very overcrowded with the hotel being near maximum capacity.

Room Tip: Request oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WideawakeMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

Denise Reinoso
( General Manager )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Ok Hotel if you are in town for business. Steps from the beach, most rooms have ocean views as well. Only downside was the lack of pool & fitness center, but for the latter the hotel provides you with a voucher to the gym next door that you can use

Staff was attentive and nice.Breakfast was just ok, stayed there for 5 days and breakfast never changed...Rooms were clean, bed was comfy.

I would honestly just recommend this hotel if you are in town for business and do not have much time to hang out. Otherwise would stay somewhere else in Ipanema or Copacabana.

Room Tip: Higher floors on west side of the hotel will give you great ocean views all the way to Copacabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eli k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

Denise Reinoso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed at the Leme Othon Palace during Carnival in 2011.
Our travel agent overbooked and re-routed us there....we found this hotel to be pricey for what it was, (about $500 per night) but then again it was carnival and everything is ridiculous so I guess what do you expect? Rooms were basic/standard at best. Nothing fancy or luxury about the ammenities, if there was a pool or gym I dont recall seeing it. First room had a smokey smell but they moved us immediately upon request.Staff was OK although we really didnt need them for much else.
Location was great, directly across from the beach and we had a fabulous view of Christ/sugar loaf mountain from our window that was priceless. We were walking distance from the famous copacabana palace, where we had great capirinias amongst a fabulous crowd at the bar. We attended the Magic Ball so it was important to be in the area.
the hotel provides a free shuttle to the H Stern tour, which we took to get a ride over to Ipanema!
Breakfast was good...a full spread. We booked this 9months out and it was the best we could find during Carnival.All in all it was OK and served its purpose as a safe place to rest our heads because after all you dont go to Rio to stay in your room. Only main issue was the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BXPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

Denise Reinoso
( General Manager )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed for a week last november. Despite paying for at least a partial sea view, we had a standard room with no sea view at all and a lot of street noise. The air conditioner was old and very noisy, we stayed all the time and sleeped with windows open. Luckily, the weather was not so hot!
In our room, the wardrobe has no drawers, only a single shelf, making difficult to keep T-shirts.
The breakfast was nice, a lot of fruits, breads and hot options.
But the hotel has no pool at all and, for exercise yourself, you must cross the street, cause the fitness academy is on the neighborhood, not in the hotel.
Also, the housekeeping was terrible, no one came to clean if you don't request!
The shower box has no door, only a plastic curtain and, obviously, all the bathroom floor was wet after taking a bath.
Finally, nowadays is preposterous not having free wi-fi at rooms, or at least downstairs. They charge you a lot!
Be carefull when you are making check-in or check-out, sometimes it takes a lot!

Room Tip: Rooms with no sea view are very noisy! Ask for a quiet A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bripece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arena Leme Hotel
#7 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
#63 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#30 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#32 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Leme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Leme Hotel

Property: Windsor Leme Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 656, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Leme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Windsor Leme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leme Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Othon Palace Leme Hotel
Windsor Leme Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing