We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Leme”
Review of Windsor Leme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Leme Hotel
Ranked #39 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is right across the street from the beach and many rooms look out over the ocean. The rooms were clean and large and the hotel offers a really good free breakfast buffet. The location was perfect for our family, in the more residential side of Copacobana, with the bus stop right at the corner and the metro a 15 minute walk away. Downsides- we only used the free wifi in the lobby and there are no amenities like a gym or pool. But, honestly, there is so much to do in Rio that we didn't miss these things a bit.

Room Tip: The ocean view and large windows were worth the upgraded price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J87571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Windsor Leme Hotel.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time expended in our hotel. We really have a very good price and quality relation if compared with other hotels in Rio.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

José Luíz Pilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The room i have is big and seems they have renovated it. It was recently bought by the windsor chain.
The Wi fi cost 7,5 dollars per day per device (2 i-phones then 15 dollars) and, when it works it is like 56 k.
As i mention, the hotel just nothing else than the room.
The breakfast is ok but i didn't try the juices.
They are renovating the hotel right now.
It was a mistake to choose it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bajo_cero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear guest,

We sincerely apologize for the incident and believe that this situation was very punctual due to the period of renovations the hotel was undergoing.
We are always looking to improve our structures and this reform was necessary to better serve our clients.

We hope to welcome you soon and showcase our new structure and improvements that have been made.

Best Regards,

José Luíz Pilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A very good hotel situated on the Leme beach next to Copacabana.
+ Great view from the upper floors, albeit rather small windows.
+ Extremely helpful reception staff that arranged for us transport+tickets to a soccer game at the Maracana, suggested and booked great restaurants, suggested walks and attractions
+ Very good breakfast buffet comprising both of western style eggs/bacon/saussages but also local fresh fruit and pastry
+ Clean spacious rooms/bathrooms
+ Free Wi-Fi at the reception
- Cumbersome per day per device Wi-Fi subscription in the rooms. It would be better to integrate this in the price and have free Wi-Fi everywhere in the hotel.
- Actually this is what pushed this more towards a 4 than a 5 rating: the last week of August they started a very noisy rennovation at the lounge on the ground floor that they said "would last for months". Both the reception and the beakfast room became a bit unpleasant during working hours because of the noise. Fortunately for us it was our last day.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor (above the 10th) with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiannisBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Windsor Leme Hotel.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time expended in our hotel. We really have a very good price and quality relation if compared with other hotels in Rio.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

José Luíz Pilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. View of the beach was spectacular. Staff was the best I have ever experienced. They assisted at every opportunity and managed crowd control during the Pope's visit like professionals. Their English speaking skills were excellent which proved helpful more than once. Breakfast was well above average, didn't really need lunch since breakfast was so abundant. Great location, great bakery and grocery store close by.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Glue_momster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Windsor Leme Hotel.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time expended in our hotel. We really have a very good price and quality relation if compared with other hotels in Rio.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

José Luíz Pilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location:
The hotel is well located on a neighborhood called Leme, near Copacabana (15 blocks to the left facing the ocean). The hotel entrance is on a side street but one side faces the ocean which I guess that would provide a very nice view specially on the top floors. The trip to downtown is very fast (15 minutes on a cab) and cost 33 R$ more or less. During the week you won't find traffic since you are going against the traffic, on the afternoons it could take between 20 and 30 minutes to get back to the hotel. There are several restaurants near the hotel on Av. Atlantica where you can have a very good dinner for 45 to 80 R$ or just a beer at the end of the day.
Grounds:
The hotel lobby is very nice, spacious and neat. The building in general has been refurbished a couple of years ago or more and in general I would say that it is clean and well cared. I didn't saw anything out of place or worn. The hotel does not have a pool, gym or anything else besides the restaurant but who needs pool when you have the ocean in front of the hotel.
Room:
I got a room on the 4th floor facing the side street and my window was totally blocked by a tree and during the nights you could hear the music and screams of the locals having beers on the "bars" nearby. The room was average, it didn't match the quality of the hotel in general, that was my overall impression. You have a desk where you can connect to internet and some power sockets (bring several different adapters and make sure you have the 2 kinds of Brazilian standards). You have the usual over expensive minibar, and for my surprise a very old 24 inches TV (not even a LCD) with the usual Brazilian channels and all movies with Portuguese audio. I got a king bed and I can say that it was huge but hard and I found that it was a bit bumpy on some spots and the pillows weren't very comfortable.
The bathroom was nice but it could have a bathtub instead of a shower with a plastic curtain, in general it was clean but the towels quality could be improved.
The laundry services is expensive in every hotel as usual, each shirt washed and passed cost 23 R$ (10 USD). If you are on a tight budget, there is a laundry place near the hotel on the street before Av. Atlantica where you can probably get a better price.
To summarize, I would say that the room was a 3 stars room in a 4 stars hotel.
Staff:
The staff was very nice and some of them speak Spanish or English (but just a little) so do not expect to have large conversations with them.
Restaurant:
The breakfast is great, you have all the things you need for an international breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, cereals, etc) plus typical Brazilian fruits and some pastry and breads. I had dinner on the hotel the first night and I can say that the food quality was excellent and the waitress was flawless.
Internet connection:
As usual, the hotel charge you a lot for the internet connection (15 R$ for the whole day) and the speed wasn't good enough ( I couldn't have a decent Skype video conference). I believe that in a 4 or 5 stars hotel you should get internet connection for free since you are already paying a lot for the room (I was paying 405 R$ per night). Today you have free internet in several places (restaurants, bars, coffee shops, etc), why they still are trying to charge you more for something that should be already be included in the rate... that is something I would never understand.

Finally, I believe that if I had to come back to Rio, then I would try a different hotel (just to see if I can get something a bit better for the same or less rate) but I wouldn't mind to go to this hotel if I can't find any better.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors to avoid the noise of the people on the bars during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastián M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Windsor Leme Hotel.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time expended in our hotel. We really have a very good price and quality relation if compared with other hotels in Rio.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

José Luíz Pilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Windsor Leme Hotel (recently re-named from the Leme Palace). We received a room as soon as we arrived, well ahead of the normal check-in. They allowed us to extend our check out time as well. The staff and bellboys were extremely helpful and friendly--and everyone we encountered spoke English. Great full breakfast and a lovely, clean room. The only downsides to the stay are no free wifi and no pool.

Room Tip: High floors have a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Windsor Leme Hotel.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time expended in our hotel. We really have a very good price and quality relation if compared with other hotels in Rio.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

José Luíz Pilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I have been to Rio 3 times, and so far this hotel is the best yet, I is highly recommemded. If I go back to Rio I will try to get a room in this hotel. The food served in the breakfast room an the other restaurants were of good quality and great taste. There is a free and good WiFi in the lobby area.

Room Tip: An exellent hotel with great service, clean rooms and a very good location next tonthe Leme Morro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helgges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Windsor Leme Hotel.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time expended in our hotel. We really have a very good price and quality relation if compared with other hotels in Rio.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

José Luíz Pilar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arena Leme Hotel
#12 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
555 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#36 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,445 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,790 reviews
Leme
Hotel Novotel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hotel Novotel Rio de Janeiro Cop...
#62 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,211 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#27 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Leme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Leme Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 656, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £74 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Leme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Leme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leme Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Othon Palace Leme Hotel
Windsor Leme Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing