We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I expected from other reviews”
Review of Hotel Savoy Othon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Othon
Ranked #100 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed during World Cup so everything was busy. I was impressed with service, impressed with the size of my room. Superior much bigger than colleague who had standard room.
Room clean and functional. Shower best in Brazil (not saying much). Breakfast OK and mini bar choices ok.
It is a bit noisy if you face the street, but didn't stop me sleeping.
Location is excellent for price. Between Posto 4 and 5 and 1 big block back from beach.
No issues with security, bank across the street, plenty of food options in walking distance.

Its not a hotel with a view and its functional rather than classy. I would always prefer a beach side room with a view, but if you are visiting peak season or cant afford the view this hotel is adequate.

Room Tip: Try for a superior room. Much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear TandDAustralia,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at our Savoy Othon Travel.

We are very pleased to know you were positive impressed with our rooms, location and specially
our services.

All the team always work hard to achieve this kind of satisfaction and hope you will visit and recommend ua to your friends, any time you come back to Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely yours,

Norma Lanaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located. We just ended up there by chance, and free rooms were available. Ours was very big, but very run down. The breakfast was okay. Free wifi was available in the lobby. Acceptable hotel if you get a cheap rate!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christoph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Mr. Christoph,

Thank you for the comments about your stay a tour Savoy Othon Travel.

We are glad we met your approval regard price, location, breakfast and
service. The up-grade of these rooms in the 3rd.floor is one of our goals for
the future.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Norma Lanaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

absolutely not a place to stay, extremely expensive, all rooms with smoking smell, the windows in my room faced the noisy street but didn't close, air-condition was so noisy I have to turn it off, breakfast is poor...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marioszt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Mr. Mariostz,

We are thankful to you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Savoy Othon Travel.

Its only through comments from customers like you, we realize we were not able to exceed your expectations, and sure you we are taking them into consideration..

Sincerely yours,


Norma Lanaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The savoy, with good location near copa and ipanaema, is a classic mid 1960's hotel: the rooms are worn down, the lobby looks about five decades beyond useful, and the same employees that check you in were most likely the same employees that helped to open the hotel way back when.

This all aside, hotels.com description of the hotel was not close to accurate. The online pics were of a different hotel, the room described as "ocean view" in fact faces an adjoining building.

Honestly, wifi is a factor in deciding hotels these days, and hotels.com described the hotel as with wifi. The hotel had wifi only at the front desk.

This hotel was not as described. My room was all asunder and within minutes of entering the room, I exited and requested to cancel my reservation.

Paulino, the hotel manager and gentleman that let me into the room, assured me that I was not to be charged, and no cancellation fee nor any other penalty would be applied to my credit card. Paulino shook my hand and I left the not as described hotel for another rio hotel.

The hotel ended up charging me for the original three night stay, thereby in fact penalizing me for the cancelation. Hotels.com has been completely negligent in reversing the charge and refuses to contact the savoy to help me to get the refund.

I never stayed in the hotel, the hotel was not at all as described, and thankfully Capital One will pursue my refund.

Be careful, lesson learned here, always take a quick look into your hotel room before paying.

Go to the royal rio palace, decent rooms and honest staff, and wifi throughout the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Djexodus80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had to stay at this hotel at a business trip because I had no option as all the other hotels were full. This is a run down hotel (clean at least) hotel with a great focus on tourist groups. The service and breakfast were ok. Location is not so great, as this part of Copacabana is pretty awful with not a lot of good choices to eat and go out (Ipanema/Leblon are much better). The great sin of this place is to charge for the internet. For this it will get only 1 star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Dakail,

Muito obrigada pela sua avaliaçao de nosso Savoy Othon Travel.

E sempre constructivo receber uma critica que outorga somente
Uma Estrela ao Hotel apesar de classificar nossos serviços em geral,
nosso café da manha e limpeza positivamente, devido a falta de Internet
Gratuita nos apartamentos.

Estamos repasando este comentário para nossa Diretoria, devido
a que a cobrança de Internet nos aptos. e uma politica corporativa.

Cordiamente,

Norma Lanaro
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our stay in this hotel was ok. Our room was not facing the avenue, so it was nice and quiet. However, the hotel has no parking lot and the price they charged for the garage was absurd. Their website and front desk said it was $35/day. When We got there, they said it was $115!!!! Completely non-sense. And we waited more than one hour for the room service. The staff was really nice.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank ThalesMendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Thalesmen,

Thank you very much for your comments about our Savoy Othon Travel.

We are glad to know you had a nice stay, and taking into consideration your positive
comments about the room and about the delay of your Room Service.

We appreciate too, your comment about the price of Parking Service at our ROPH because all tariffs, rooms and parking included, are different in Reveillon Period (28 to 31 December) but they must be properly announced in our Site and Front Office. We are checking this with both departments.

We hope to welcome you at Savoy Othon Travel, during next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely

Norma Lanaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We have spent a weekend on Rio and even though this hotel were one of the best price available for the category, we find this hotel not really worthwhile. The staff is very gentle and the room is ample, but is very very noisy, the hotel is in one of the busiest avenues n rio and the windows are very thin resulting in a VERY noisy room we could barely sleep! Also, the room was a little dirty,the floor was covered with a thin layer of dust from the autos on the avenue below.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Guilherme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guillerme,

Thank you for taking your time to give your impressions about the stay at our Savoy Othon Travel.

We are really sorry your evaluation was poor and hope to have the opportunity in a near future to
Improve your satisfaction.

It is very important for us to know from our guests positive and negative experiences in order to
improve our services. We are glad that the room was good and our staff gentle as we consider this one of the goals.

About de dust in the rooms floor (even you mentioned it’s from the autos from the avenue below) it is our responsibility to avoid this negative aspect. Therefore we are making with our Housekeeper and Maids staff a special action plan to meet this goal.

About the noise, it is a pleasure to inform that we are changing all the front rooms windows for special double glass windows (anti-noise) All rooms at the 3rd floor are already with the new windows, and we will finish all the floors during next year. We are sure this is an important investment for our guests satisfaction.

We hope we will be able to have a better evaluation in your next visit, and always let us know any
comments.

Sincerely

Norma Lanaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#39 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
689 reviews
Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
#125 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
252 reviews
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#68 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Grande Hotel Canada
Grande Hotel Canada
#123 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
457 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
#60 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
525 reviews
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#147 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Othon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Othon

Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 995, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22060-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £42 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Savoy Othon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Savoy Othon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Savoy Othon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing