We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Stay, Great Location”
Review of Olinda Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olinda Rio Hotel
Ranked #93 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Right. Let's get one thing straight. The hotel is dated. In it's hay day, this would have been THE spot. Fast forward a few years and it could use some TLC. The front desk looks shabby despite the high ceilings in the dining area, the rest of the hotel smells a bit old.

Check-in was a smooth process, we arrived earlier than check-in and had no issues getting to our room which had a view of the beach. The jumbo bed was made of two doubles pressed together. Large window which meant for a lovely view , however as per previous comments these weren't double glazed - something which I don't think has arrived in Brazil just yet.
The bathroom was clean, a blueish marble colour - great water pressure however if you have an early flight like we did , shower the night before else you're in for an icy surprise.

Front desk staff were helpful - some more than others. There is a tourist information booth almost opposite the hotel where you can get more info. On gentleman in particular was lovely and gave us lots of local tips and tricks which was great. We had pre-booked our touristy things online ( Christ Redeemer etc) and had pre-set times . We got quite a few cabs off the street with no issues - much cheaper than expected.

Food : Breakfast at the hotel was okay. Standard continental breakfast to get your day started - not a massive variety of fruits/juices but hey it's included in the price so eat up - you've got a long day of queuing and walking around. There are lots of restaurants on Copacabana and the hotel gives you a discount voucher to a good local ' por quilo' place near by for lunch. One place we enjoyed was called Brasileirinho - 4/5 blocks from the hotel. They serve a stellar feijoada with all the trimmings - not cheap but worth it for traditional Brasilian food.

Things to do : There are lots of restaurants/ shops/ markets in the surrounding area . We went for a run on Copacabana and saw the sun rise - absolutely glorious. Obviously try and fit in the touristy bits - we were only in Rio for one full day so had lots to see. The city has these bright orange rental bikes - similar to the Barclay's bikes in the UK. HOWEVER you have to set up an account online before using the bikes - great way to see the city. Parque Lage is stunning as is the river that brings you into the Leblon / Inpanema area . Be mindful of pick-pockets - keep your eyes open, and don't flash your new Samsung S5 about - I felt much safer in Rio than I did in my native Sao Paulo which says a lot.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Olinda Rio and would consider staying here again on a future trip to Rio - for the location

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RollWithIt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We appreciate positive comments about our hotel, we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The great: wifi, location and view. Lovely views from the front of the building. Behind are some grocery shops and the taxis rank and a small little park. ATM / banks also there.
The good: services and breakfast. Good English and helpful staff. We booked two rooms but were given one a the back (nasty, dark and awful view) and one facing the beach. Quickly we paid the difference and got adjoining rooms. Whilst the view was amazing the noise from the traffic was not and disturbed out first few nights. The rooms needed some tlc. There was exposed wiring and the walls had unfinished paint.
The breakfast was fresh lots of fruit and local varieties. Only scrambled eggs and you had to ask to get your bread toasted!
Not so good: bathrooms but significantly the hot water is switched off between 12-6am. This was really annoying and not what you would expect. Neither is the fact that the hotel only has one iron and therefore couldn't let us borrow it. With young kids this became an issue. The helpful staff pointed us in the direction of a local shop where we bought one for £10!
Bad: got screwed by organising the taxis through them which cost 250 real. Only R$20 person on the way back!
We wouldn't stay there again. We needed hot showers, an iron, double glazed windows, nicer bathrooms and some TV channels in English

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Chapter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, as the negative as hot water during this period had a problem with our boiller that has already been solved and unfinished paintings are renewing runners to better serve them, we hope to give a brief return our positive changes .

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

the hotel answered to my e-mail that they will give me an early check in on a base of availability.
When we arrived the hotel, they said that there is no available room, but if we will pay 200 reals, they will find a room...
The location is great! on the Copacabana ceach.
Breakfast is not more thab average, no vegalables.
King size bad

Room Tip: ask for a room with see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oferta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, in relation to its early checkin and we take it one common rate pay.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were given a room at the back, overlooking a court yard (noise from fan) Although room was big the bathroom had mold growing in every corner!! The only good things is the location, facing the ocean and breakfast was excellent. Staff were ok, only few spoke English.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanccy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We appreciate positive comments about our services, as the room looks funds also have the option ocean where guests can choose from, we are undergoing a renewal that includes our bathrooms. We hope to see you soon to erase the less positive impression left on their stay.


regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked and paid the 2-bed room with balcony, as mentioned in the choices in the booking website we used. However, we were given a room on the 11th floor with a balcony, but with only 1 bed. We asked for 2 beds then we were shown a room on the 10th floor-- no balcony but the bed can be separated. We were told to wait until the check-in time as the hotel was full. However, when we were given our room, it was on the 7th floor. We paid for the 2-bed room with a balcony! I tried to contact THIS booking website to clear things up but I never got any response. The AC was noisy.

But the staff in general was good. The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of fresh fruits.

The location is also great-- beach front, supermarkets around the corner, metro station a couple of blocks away. It's a very nice hotel. I just can't get over with the room situation.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms on the left side has the sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, as the reported failures are working to make these facts as not to repeat.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location is perfect right on Copacabana beach. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. They also spoke perfect English which is nice. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and had all types of fruits and breads. Only issue I had was that the floor had not been swept well so myself and a friend stepped on shards of glass that had been left by previous guests. Other than that it was an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Khalia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights after Carnaval wrapped up. We booked through Expedia and before we left, we realized there was a balcony-view room facing Copacabana beach available, so we upgraded. I'm so glad we did. Our first hotel room didn't have a beach view, and this was such a pleasant change, even if you're not in the room that often.
We arrived a few hours before check-in time, but our room was ready. The gentleman who checked us in was very pleasant and spoke English well. While the room is simple, I felt everything was very clean. The bed was not as comfortable as our first hotel, but we slept fine. The room included a mini fridge and bathroom toiletries, but there wasn't a clock in the room. The views from the balcony are terrific, but there weren't chairs outside, so we moved the furniture outdoors. Not a problem, unless it rains. I also felt the air conditioning worked well.
As many people mention, the location is amazing. We enjoyed walking to the Pao de Acucar grocery store and Rufo's Sucos & Lanches, both a short block and half away. The tourist information booth is also directly across from the hotel, where we booked our tickets for Trem do Corcovado at no additional cost.
The hotel had a sign for airport shuttle service through Shuttle Rio, which we used when we left. It was R$20 per person, but we were running out of cash and didn't want to take more out of the ATM, so we were able to pay US $19 total. We found this option cheaper than the metered cab during the holiday, and it was just as quick. Just try to book it in advance to make sure you get a time you want.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but there were eggs, cheese, sausage, fruit, breads and juice. A number of people enjoyed breakfast each morning. Also, the restaurant menu (also provide room service) was not overpriced and had a good selection.
I was very pleased with this hotel. At times the front desk seemed overwhelmed with people checking in and out, answering phone calls and assisting guests with questions, but we visited during a busy period so it was expected. I would stay at the Olinda again.

Room Tip: Book beach view. We were on the 11th floor at the end of the hall, and we had no issues with noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHall2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, we hope to see you soon

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#79 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,181 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
753 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#104 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,423 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,925 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olinda Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olinda Rio Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2230, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Olinda Othon Classic)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £58 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olinda Rio Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most privileged location with a wonderful view of all Copacabana beach because it is at the beach. The Olinda Rio Hotel is housed in a noble building with classic architectural style built in 1949 on which retains the charm and glamor of that era. Guests of Olinda Rio Hotel can enjoy the Brazilian or French cuisine at Venezia Restaurant in a European setting, with Italian marble floors, crystal chandeliers, a cozy wooden bar with crystals and stunning ocean views. Luxury apartments, Luxury Executive Suite with Balcony and the Olinda Rio Hotel have panoramic views of the beach. All accommodations have soft colors with wooden furniture. All apartments have air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, electronic safe, minibar and free internet wi-fi. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast quality with varieties of breads, croissants, fruit, cakes, meats, juices, dairy products, cereals, still having the option to request personal service. The closest hotel is the metro station Siqueira Campos, besides the availability of several bus lines to various parts of the city. The hotel is approximately 23 km far from Galeao airport for international flights, domestic flights 12km from Santos Dumont Airport and 14 km from the Novo Rio Bus In Olinda Rio Hotel guest finds the speed, total discretion in customer service and a service room spotless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olinda Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olinda Othon Classic Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing