We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 3*”
Review of Rio Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rio Design Hotel
Ranked #51 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average 3*”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

They say they are a 4*, but they are an average 3*
Downs:
Water filtered in my room as it rained.
Gym is poor quality, and I couldn't use it in any case because it was full of water due to the rain so the had to close it up.
It smells bad.
They now changed name to Rio Design Hotel, but there's no design at all. Normal 3* rooms.

Ups:
Wifi and discrete breakfast is included in the fee.
Good location.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    278
    124
    25
    20
See reviews for
161
188
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The name "design hotel" sounds good but the reality is far less attractive. The rooms and bathrooms are of poor quality and the noice level is high (busy street and very poor windows). For this price you expect (much) better.
The good things to mention is : close to beach (Copacabana) and the breakfast: good choice and quality

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dannyvanheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just a few days ago, I had the misfortune of staying at the Portinari Hotel with a group of people. My room was in the second floor.

Check in process: The hotel had overbooked and part of my group was accommodated in a makeshift room in the service level. Not acceptable.

The room: The place calls itself a "design" hotel. It might have been so 20 years ago. The current state of affairs: furniture with dirty, chipped white laminate, dirty lamps and curtains; dirty grout in the bathroom. Not exactly inviting. The towels might have been white at some point, but now they are a soft shade of gray. There is no good sound insulation between rooms, so you can hear conversations in other rooms. Or screaming toddlers...

The service: Astounding in its low quality. A friend tried to call me at the hotel. After a couple of tries, he was told I was not a guest in the hotel! Another example during my stay was that the travel agency manager came to check things over and we found debris and some wire in the bathroom sink in my room (we could determine the origin). 4 hours later, two people from the hotel showed up to clean. "Cleaning" consisted of running water in the sink and tossing the largest pieces of debris to the floor, the wire included. Finally, I tried to make an international call, but such calls were blocked -- staff at the reception was clueless. I tried for over 30 minutes, finally used someone's cell phone.

Security: The room doors do not have 'peep' holes or locks. The corridors are pitch dark, on motion sensors that trigger when you are a couple of steps outside the elevator. It's easy for non guests to take the elevator into the guest area. The hotel charges US$6 per day for use of the safety box, something I have not seen before either in Latin America, Asia, Europe or the US.

Their breakfast is ok. The location is great. The crappy facilities and service are only enabled by the current Brazilian boom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrianf64
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The rooms at this hotel, 50m from Copacabana beach, are currently being upgraded to stylish individual designs. I stayed in one of the older rooms which was still perfectly fine for the cost.

But the service here was great. Especially from Marcello on the front desk - who could not have been more professional or helpful. A real star. He'd fit in at any of the worlds best 5* hotels perfectly.

So value great. Service even better. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I traveled in South America: Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile. At hotels, the 4 stars are well below European levels. Another general problem: very poor internet connection.
Watch your pockets in the street.
They stole some things and money from hotel room (the suitcase unlocked).
Otherwise, helpful staff, good breakfast and a good position to wander in Rio.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adi035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Since we arrived i think the room is not big but good size. also every floor is diferent decor we stay in japonese ... i loov the shower room

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazil_cat_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is one of the 45906287924 (many, many) hotels I have already stayed in Rio de Janeiro. It is not bad, as the staff is polite and atencious. If you know Rio de Janeiro, you know how unpleasant people can be in that city.
The location is good, between Copacabana and Ipanema beaches, and close to the metro station "General Osorio". There are restaurants, drugstores and bars in the neighbourhood.
The only problem I saw is inside the hotel. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are not as clean as it should be and there is no big mirror in the room. The breakfast is average, there nothing special in it.
If you are going to stay a few days in Rio de Janeiro it will be a good choice, because it is close to interesting places, but if you will have more time, I suggest look for better places.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#54 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
841 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#34 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,113 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#32 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,887 reviews
Copacabana
Best Western Plus Copacabana Design Hotel
Best Western Plus Copacabana Des...
#60 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
220 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#78 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Design Hotel

Property: Rio Design Hotel
Address: Rua Francisco Sa 17 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#52 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rio Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portinari Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Design Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing