We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Integrity issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Florida Hotel
Ranked #34 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Integrity issue”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arrived on long flight at about 7.30am and asked for early checkin. Told that we could checkin but must pay otherwise had to wait till 2pm to checkin.After checkin we read service directory in room which stated that subject to availability we could checkin earlier.When we raised with front desk we were told told to show directory.We then took matter up with manager who said directory was not updated and in any case did not say that we could checkin earlier free.
Ended up with us paying twice for our checkin on 12th Oct ! Suffice to say we felt cheated.
We were told that we would be given a bigger room with jaccuzi but instead given a standard room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank louis899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    505
    125
    26
    8
See reviews for
251
172
46
417
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I've spent just one night at the hotel with my two daughters but wish we had had more time to enjoy it. The triple room was very comfortable and spacious although basic furnished. The rooftop pool was a delight to the girls who spent hours enjoying the sunny winter afternoon. The staff was warm and competent, they sent me sewing supplies and extra towels within minutes of my request and got us an "very" early check in. The restaurant was very good, with a "all you can eat" buffet for lunch, unfortunately a little pricey, especially if you are with kids who don't eat very much. The included breakfast was filled with a wide range of tasty food. The subway station is only a 5 minutes walk away and it was very easy to hail a cab anytime.
I am looking forward to another opportunity to stay longer at Windsor Florida.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Clean, comfortable and basic room. There is construction but I didn't notice until the last day. Front desk staff were helpful with good English. Breakfast was same, same but fruit options are really nice. Top floor with small pool and basic fitness center, and patios has nice views and was relaxing place to have a beer. Internet is included and while not blazing fast, it was adequate. Very close to Metro with easy access to some of the tourist destinations, although hotel is not located in tourist area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Geoswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our trip for World Youth Day. The staff was professional despite rudeness of our group. The room was clean, and the bathrooms had walk-in showers covered in granite. The roof-top bar with views of Rio at night was great. Meals in the hotel restaurant were equivalent or better to food you get at buffet restaurants in Rio.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead
Level Contributor
481 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

You wouldn't know you were in Brazil and it has a very corporate atmosphere but the upside is that you get great service, English spoken on reception, helpful bell staff etc.
Even though we arrived early, they managed to get us a room within half an hour.
The rooftop views and swimming pool are a bonus.
Breakfast was very loud and busy - but great food. As ever, plenty of fresh tropical fruit and fresh fruit juice.
The sound insulation between bedrooms was not enough to keep out the noise of the very loud family next door at 8.30am.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubybirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo,Brazil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was in Rio for the final match of Copa das Confederações, so I stayed at Windsor Florida for 02 nights. Everything went really smooth with check-in.
Rooms were clean and spacious for 02 people, nice shower, hairdryer, in-room safe and confy good-sized bed!
Breakfast was terrific with lots of options, from fruits to pastries and all sorts of bread. Service was pretty good at the restaurant as well.
Location is nice. Not perfect like Copacabana, but it is an amazing cost/benefit relation as you pay much less and have a subway station only 02 minutes away.
Since the hotel has been recently renovated, you will notice how new everything is. From the floor to the sheets, towels, etc.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deko85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Adirondacks, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband, 2 teenage daughters & I stayed at Windsor Florida for 3 nights in May. The staff was every accommodating, the food was excellent and the room was extremely comfortable. We flew into Rio on an overnight flight and had only gotten about 15 minutes of sleep on the plane. When we arrived at 8am, we asked if we could possibly get into our room early. The staff told us yes and that our room would be ready within a couple hours. When we came back in just an hour, it was ready so we immediately went up and sleep for a few hours.

The area seemed very safe but we did not go out at night as that just isn't our thing.

The hotel is located equidistant from the Cristo and Pão de Açúcar and the staff was very helpful with directions and getting taxis. Copacabana is also not very far. For all these places, public transport is an option but we chose to use taxis.

The breakfast buffet was first rate; lots of fruit, coffee, pastries. The dining room was quite large and there was plenty of space for everyone. We saw a number of high school groups, teams and young families.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Rio.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Elegance Praia Hotel
#43 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
382 reviews
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#51 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
660 reviews
Hotel Regina
#40 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,027 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Florida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Florida Hotel

Property: Windsor Florida Hotel
Address: R. Ferreira Viana, 81 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Flamengo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Florida Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Florida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Florida
Windsor Florida Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing