We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Ranked #83 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 4 May 2011

nice and good location in rio city centre and easy access to most of nice places.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7ossam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of a Delta flight that was canceled at 2:30 in the morning. Delta had taxi's take about 40 people to the hotel but because of lack of staff nobody had Delta vouchers for the hotel. At 3:00am we were all tired and cranky at the front desk. The desk staff had no vouchers from us, could not get Delta on the phone and we were at a stand off. The manager came in and arranged rooms for everybody and room service for food as the restaurants were closed. The next morning the manage personally helped most guests figure out how to obtain transport back to the airport. There were about 20 kids that came to the hotel by bus but in the morning Delta said there were no buses and the hotel had to arrange taxis for the kids. The manager of this hotel should be highly commended for service above and beyond the ordinary, Thanks a lot!!!

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank radboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

From August, 2009:
The Guanabara Hotel in downtown Rio is not far from the subway and from a variety
of restaurants. After 6 p.m. or so, the street on which it is located is wall-to wall with
homeless people bedding down for the night. Therefore, it is advisable to stay in in the evening or take door-to-door taxis (the taxis are very generally trustworthy --- my colleague left his wallet in one, and the driver found it and returned - with contents intact - to the hotel).
The hotel has a small pool on the rooftop, and a terrific dining room with the largest buffet selection I have seen anywhere. It has a business center, with computers, and another room, used mainly by young people, also with computers --- but free! I suspect that this was a perk for employees, but we never did figure out the true purpose of this room. Although otherwise quite clean, I did notice and dispatch two small exotic caterpillar-like insects in the well-marbled bathroom on the first day, and none thereafter. This hotel is centrally located, so taxis were fairly cheap to all convention and business locations: 5 Rs to the convention center, for instance. This compares favorably to the taxi cost from the beach areas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efmCalgary_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I stayed at the Windsor Guanabara for one whole week. The hotel is located in the busy and noisy city centre therefore far from the beaches of Copacabana or Ipanema. However, this hotel comes as a good business alternative as many companies are located in the city centre of Rio.

The rooms are comfortable and have sound proof windows, the business center is efficient, internet is available in each room and wifi in common areas, reception is multilingual and efficient, breakfast is average to Brazilian standards but much better than options in US hotels. You are a quick taxi ride to many points of Rio.

It is also located across a metro station (Uruguaiana) which runs efficient and quick metro lines to many areas of Rio including Ipanema and Copacabana. The negative aspect is that the city centre is deserted during evenings (after 8pm) and weekends with most shops closed (meaning that for dinner you would need to eat at hotel or take a taxi). The hotel is just 5min taxi drive to the domestic airport (SDU), and about 30min taxi drive to the international airport (GIG).

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hardii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We are recommending it to everyone. The price was great. The room was comfortable. The staff was very attentive, alert, friendly, quick and efficient. Metro is very close. The staff located great cabs to match our other varied transportation needs.

Most of the staff spoke some English, and if needed, a person fluent in English showed up immediately.

Fantastic massages are available a couple of blocks away at Inovative for $25 an hour.

The views from the pool are fabulous. Nice workout area. The bar there and at the restaurant were great 7 of the 8 days (average on 1 day). The meals were huge, tasteful and inexpensive. The free breakfast bar was fantastic.

Rio is not the safest city in the world, but the staff helped assure a great, safe, fun vacation.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Falsename90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Well, I can't be categorical because I only spent 3 days in the hotel and most of the time I was out. It was a quick trip with my sister and wasn't really for tourism. The main caracteristic of the hotel is that it's in the center of the city. Near good stores and restaurants. Opposite the Candelaria'a church - we could hear its bells tolling (what was't exactly a good thing). It's more or less 10 minutes from the airport.
The service was good - considering that some businesses meeting was happening and the things was a bit slow. The leisure area isn't that big, maybe because the hotel is foscused on business (what explain its localization and business centers) and not really in tourism. But it's amazing for who can go for a walk to know the place. You won't waste more than 10 minutes to visit places like the theather, the fantastic Colombo's confectionery, Modern Art Museum (MAM), Center Rio Sul shopping mall. About the Corcovado and Pão de Açucar: I'm not good with numbers but the cabby said they were about 10 Km from the hotel.
Concluding it's a good choice if you're traveling for business or if you want be near the agitation of the city's heart.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

I stayed in Rio the week at the Marriott CopaCabana, a review I just wrote how wonderful the property and high recommendation I would give for others to stay.

Now, as Paul Harvey used to say, the rest of the story..

I left the JW Friday night for my red eye back to Atlanta. Unfortunately, fate grounded the airplane and 300+ passengers including myself were victims of Delta flight 60's troubles.

The hotel chosen for the stranding was the Guanabara Palace. It was, as explained by the airport agent who was trying very hard, God Bless her, to maintain a smile with many unhappy faces surrounding her, a 5 star property.

The stars may have been in the sky, for this property is not one..Maybe 3 stars at best.

Located in the heart of the Centro, it is an aging property.

The front desk staff were amazingly proficient in enrolling the masses who descended around 3am this morning, and upon my arrival in my room, I faced the reality.

It was a smoking room. I don't smoke, but given the hotel was immediately full, I lived with it. The rooms are dark, lighting poor, and colors drab. I read another review this evening and have to agree that 'Sad' is the operative word for this hotel room. The TV is an old Philips picture tube clunker with limited channel selection, the windows are not noise proof to street noise, and the AC is noisy. It does not shut off when it reaches temperature. It also sparks when you hit the off switch. Nice.

The bed is not comfortable, but is large. The cover is a dismal old throw and inadequate for feeling warm and comfy.

The bathroom is clean, but sterile. They do not have wash cloths here. They also do not have Kleenex tissues here. After 5 minutes of vain Portu-English with the housekeeper and 2 other English speaking staff on the phone, 'Duh' was hovering in the air and I gave up. No kleenex, use the toilet paper and move on.

The restauarnt was an open space with 5 tops. It was buffet, and the service kept the food moving and hot. The coffee was stellar.

The area outside the hotel is inner city. After business hours it's a ghost town. The shops close after hours and on the weekends. The streets, dingy during the day, are dangerous at night to walk freely. Take the usual precautions when travelling in a foreign country.

Bottom Line; Avoid this property if you have another preferrable one to stay at. It will not lift your spirit or provide value beyond location to nearby businesses in any other way. Stay at the Marriott CopaCabana if possible (I just finished the review)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitedNewPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#55 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
688 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#130 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
30 reviews
Flamengo
Windsor Florida Hotel
Windsor Florida Hotel
#31 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granada
#102 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
719 reviews
Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
705 reviews
Hotel Novo Mundo
#103 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Guanabara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Address: Avenida Presidente Vargas 392, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20071-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#49 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Guanabara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Rio. Tranquility and refinement, in the Heart of Rio de Janeiro. Windsor Guanabara Hotel has a privileged location in the cultural corridor of Rio de Janeiro. Within a few minutes you can reach several tourist attractions and also the main transportation terminals of the city such as: Subway, Trains, VLT, Santos Dumont Airport, Antônio Carlos Jobim International Airport and Novo Rio Bus Station. Ideal for those visiting the city on business or pleasure, the hotel offers ample space for events, meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment, business center for printing services, copy and scanning, international cuisine restaurant, and a beautiful view of the great sights of the city on our Top Floor. Explore the region's highlights such as the Olympic Boulevard, Tomorrow's Museum, Rio's Art Museum, the city's new transportation: the Light Rail Vehicle (VLT) and the newest AquaRIO to enjoy a complete and unforgettable experience, Besides other renowned and known areas of the region. Parking available for guests with an additional charge of R $ 35.00 (Monday to Thursday). From Friday to Sunday, parking is free. Tourist attractions nearby: Rio Museum of Art Museum of Tomorrow National Historical Museum Museum of Modern Art of Rio Banco do Brasil Cultural Center Olympic Boulevard Pier Mauá Maravilha Porto Candelária Church AquaRIO Pedra do Sal Monastery of St. benedict Confectionery Colombo Square XV Arco dos Teles Imperial Palace Santos Dumont Airport Antônio Carlos Jobim International Airport Vivo Rio Arena Marina da Glória Odeon Theater (Centro Cultural Luiz Severiano Ribeiro) Lapa Arches Theatro Municipal France Brazil Museum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Guanabara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Guanabara Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing