We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #92 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

If you want to be in a smart neighbourhood that is relatively safe and with an amazing sea view then choose this hotel. Yes it's a bit dated but the staff are friendly, the concierge is very helpful and the breakfasts are good. The pool was being finished when we stayed but as we were out all day, did not not notice the noise. The reality is that hotels need to do updgrades at some point... If you want super de luxe and all that goes with it, choose a hotel in the more crowded, and touristy copacabana :-)

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenningSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraiaIpanema, Gerente at Praia Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments are valuable to seek to overcome the expectations of our customers

Our prime location, we are close to great retail options, entertainment and leisure, as well as stunning views of the best sights of the Marvelous City.

We horados with his kind words, especially about our location, service, structure and service! On behalf of our team we appreciate your comments.

Our daily commitment to establish a hospitable service becomes further enhanced by its recognition.

We hope to receive it soon in their new home in Rio de Janeiro.

Sincerely,

Deise Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms are slightly dated and our beach facing room was quite noisy (5th floor) but overall the staff were great, the food ok and the location amazing. We will stay here when we return.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2bstressfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

It pains me to write a less than complementary remark about a hotel, particularly one that is located right on the beach at Ipanema, but it is just not up to the standard most western visitors would expect. It started with the unavailability of a room until after 3pm following some 14 hours in the air and arriving at the hotel at 11am. The aircon was noisy, the bathrooms although clean were small and tired. I was fortunate enough to get a king size bed but my travielling companion who is 190cm was given a triple single bed room. When he asked to be moved they put him in a double single bed room! We had complementary breakfast which was very limited and repetitive over the 5 days we were there and they simply couldn't get our coffee order right in the bar area (it was only a cappuccino and flat white!) It became a running joke with us as to what we were going to get next. The staff were very friendly and this is not aimed at them and the cleaning staff seemed to be doing their job well, but when you only have one person doing checkouts and a line of 15 people something is wrong. I was travelling with a group and we were delayed by 30 minutes. Overall this is only at best a 3 star hotel and if you go with that mindset then you will be fine, but if your expectation is higher then you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northern side give you a great view of Ipanema beach and to the left Christ the Redeeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

When we have made our reservation, the hotel send us a confirmation with this :
NOTA : "we inform you that the swimming pool is out of service for modernisation": the reality is different. More and less during 3 o 4 hours per day, men working in the swimming pool used pneumatic drill with a high level of noise, When we spoke with the Manager, she said we were alone to complain about the noise. Speaking with other customers, we realize we were several with the same problem of noise. Also the phonic isolation of the windows (rooms with sea view) is non-existent. Means that is very difficult to take a rest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

my husband my teenage daughter and I stayed for 3 nights. it was right on the beach and we had a corner room. we could see the christ redeemer behind, and the beach in the front. it was awesome. vey safe place to walk around. we were going for a walk at 10pm in the night. hotel staff could speak english and were very helpful and pleasant. breakfast was included but was very average. after staying in other places we realised breakfast was like that everywhere.breakfast area was lovely though. probably slightly over priced but i think we were paying for the area. would recommend for someone looking for a quieter safer beach than copacabana

Room Tip: corner room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 122sarah594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The hotel needs better maintenance and cleanliness for the $300/night we paid to stay here. The location is superb (especially with a room that is ocean front), but the hotel itself needs updates and more attention to cleanliness. For example, we found hair on our new towels and in the sink, and also found the white blanket cover stained with yellow marks. We changed rooms on the 2nd evening and the same hair and stain issues were found in the 2nd room. Also, we stayed 3 night, but our room was not cleaned on the 2nd day. I found the breakfast fairly good, but it seems that they purposely refill the mango plate very slowly. When I came to the breakfast buffet years back, I remember a much wider selection of fruits (e.g., small papayas as it, guava, passion fruit, etc). They really need to invest back into the hotel on the things that will matter and bring people back, like cleanliness and basic room upgrades that don't cost too much. Also, you can hear conversations outside of your pretty easily - very poor sound insulation and thus privacy. On my next trip, I will definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptips007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I went to this hotel having a much better expectation than what I actually got. Beginning from the nice things: the hotel is located just cross street from the sea -- Ipanema Beach! -- and the overview is just something one can not talk about without missing much of the magic. The location is a big plus! It is a walking distance to Copacabana, Leblon and Lagoon Rodrigo de Freitas. Staff is very friendly, all the time, and some speak english and spanish (don't know about other idioms). The standard room I stayed in was very good size and had two twin beds put together playing a king one, and one more twin bed. Linens are clean, made from good white cotton and the cleanness in the bedroom is ok. On the other hand, the hotel looks tired in every aspect you pick. Walls, doors, floor, furniture. I had in my room an old tube TV! In the bathroom, hair drier, soap, shampoo, conditioning, shower cap, and paper tissue. Breakfast in the restaurant was good, but very, very simple; the same for the meals they serve in there. No bad, but expensive. Actually, everything would be ok, if only the cost were just compatible with what is offered. The price is very high, so the cost benefit ratio can be accepted only for the marvelous location. It is worth to say that is a safe neighborhood; you can walk around, go shopping or go out for eating without being paranoid about safety (being careful is always important, of course).

Room Tip: I stayed on a first floor room and it was quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuelyBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#81 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,195 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,739 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,441 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,595 reviews
Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
#96 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Ipanema Hotel

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 706, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-012, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £104 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Praia Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio's most charming beach just a glance away. Sophistication, beauty and good taste all put together to offer you unforgettable moments in one of the world's most exclusive neighborhoods. Perfection is having a breathtaking scenery day and night right at your feet without the need to leave your balcony. At Praia Ipanema Hotel this is possible as all of our guestrooms offer beachfront views. We are prepared to provide the best stay for any occasion with the top-quality and customized service that makes Praia Ipanema Hotel an unforgettable setting from the moment you check in. Aside from the privileged location that allows guests to enjoy not only a stunning sun-filled beach but also all the fashion, culture and entertainment that Rio's most inspiring neighborhood has to offer, Praia Ipanema Hotel provides leisure options such as, a steam sauna, beach service with sunbeds, a heated swimming pool with infinity border overlooking the ocean and the Lobby Bar, a cozy and modern environment for those who enjoy spending time savoring on a nice drink. Ipanema is the perfect place to meet people and discover trends and styles. Famous for being one of Bossa Nova's birthplaces, it's the ideal spot to enjoy great moments in a very special way. Choose the hotel that knows Ipanema like no other and let us surprise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praia Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praia Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Praia Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing