We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ipanema Inn
Nearby Hotels
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sol Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
832
570
121
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
570
121
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationhalf block from the beachrooms are smalltapiocashopping and restaurantsbeach towelssuperior roomrestaurant stafffront desk staffboutique hotelyogurtexcellent hotelbreakfast was excellentsafe areavisit riobeach frontipanema
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed three nights at the Ipanema Inn and loved the hotel.
The beach is just a few steps away and the Ipanema district bustles with great shops and restaurants.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet. We shared a master suite on the ninth floor with our two children. Although this room was not yet renovated, it was spacious and well equipped.
The breakfast is marvellous with fresh juices, fruit, eggs, cold cuts and local specialties (our tip: try the freshly baked pane de queijo, it's delicious).
But the absolutely best feature are the staff. From chambermaid to doorman, everybody is friendly and makes you feel welcome.
The chef went out of his way to supplement the already plentiful buffet with anything we might desire and the concierges had many great tips for eating, bars, shopping and anything else we needed.
All in all, a great hotel for both city and beach.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

We are extremely pleased by the lovely words used in your review, describing the myriad of qualities that our hotel presents.

IPANEMA INN is, in fact, located in the very best spot of the iconic neighbourhood, with a multitude of incredible shops and restaurants by our doorstep. I am personally happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed this superb location, also a few steps from the beach.

It is great to learn how much you have enjoyed the Duplex Suite, with its terrace with lateral view of the sea and the mountains. It is also nice to know how much you have enjoyed our breakfast, with plenty of local delicacies, freshly prepared daily.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon at IPANEMA INN.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights at the start of July. The staff were so friendly and their English was excellent. Breakfast was the best we had throughout our trip in Brazil with a good range of cereals, breads, every fruit you can imagine, omlettes, pancakes, juices . . . all fantastic and really helped to set us up for the day.

The hotel room was small, but nice, clean and safe with good air conditioning and no noise from the streets. It's in a great area, one block up from the beach and a block away from lots of shops, bars and cafes.

I've no doubt there are fancier hotels with gyms/ pools etc, but for the price, quality and friendliness of the staff, I would much rather stay here than any other hotel in Rio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to reviewing here your experience with us, from IPANEMA INN.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed our services and unique location. Thank you also for the great comments regarding our courtesy breakfast, served as a Brazilian-style buffet.

We hope to soon welcome you back at IPANEMA INN.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff are warm,friendly and very helpful. There was a mix up with our booking, this was dealt with without a fuss. The location is excellent just half a block from the beach. As it is in a good area it was possible to walk or get a bus and so it was not necessary to use taxis all the time. The breakfast is exceptionally good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sulconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

We are very pleased with your excellent rating to IPANEMA INN.

Thank you very much for your great review, where you pointed out the great aspects of staying with us in Rio de Janeiro. Our prime location is, in fact, a must: in the very heart of Ipanema neighbourhood, a few steps from the beach and from the vibrant shopping area, with plenty of restaurants and shops.

We hope that you and your friends are back at IPANEMA INN soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very few words to add in relation to most of the comments made by other reviewers.
Service is above my expectations, special thanks to Almir from the reception desk who helped us to recover my kid's cap which was forgotten in the coach we took for our tour to Corcovado. Breakfast is notably well done and service is personalized. Waiters call guests by their names and remember how you would like your omelette as example.
We booked a duplex room which was spacious enough to comfortably accommodate my wife, niece, boy and myself. Excellent side view of the beach and nicely located a few blocks from the beach, shops, restaurants and charming 'Carioca' fashioned pubs. Indeed somewhat expensive but yet within the market reality of Rio de Janeiro. Would definitely recommend anyone to consider Ipanema Inn as a top option for a relaxing stay in Rio de Janeiro.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

The staff at IPANEMA INN is extremely pleased with your superb review.

Thank you so much for the great comments regarding the reception team, as well as our facilities and breakfast. I trust you have tried the tapioca, the gluten-free Brazilian pancake, and I am very happy that you noticed our attentive service.

It great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in a Duplex Suite at IPANEMA INN, with a terrace with lateral view of the iconic Ipanema beach.

It has been a great pleasure hosting you and your family in Rio de Janeiro and we truly hope to see you back in our hotel soon.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Located just next to Ipanema beach, I can highly recommend this area to stay in Rio. The hotel itself is clean and tidy and the breakfast was a nice start to every day. I stayed in 2 different rooms, one newly renovated and one not. Both were fine but the newer one was of course preferable. If all rooms were at the standard of the new rooms then this would be a definite 5 star review.

The best part about this hotel is the wonderful staff. They were all warm, friendly and helpful and a great representation of Rio de Janeiro. When I come back I will almost certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevieboy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to travellers around the world.

Your compliments to our housekeeping service was transmitted to the team, who were pleased to hear your nice words. Soon all the apartments at IPANEMA INN will have been modernised so we hope to count on your visit.

Thank you also for the compliments to our wonderful staff. The training on excellency services recently undergone has generated a great feedback from our valued guests, so I am particularly happy with that.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews