We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean, but thin walls”
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ipanema Inn
Ranked #10 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Driverove the location and the room was clean, but the wall was paper thin. The inclusive breakfast had great selection of local fruits as well as eggs, sausage (hotdogs) and variety of juices. The staff is helpful (speaks English) and friendly.

For those on a budget, there is a bus stop about three blocks from the hotel and you can take a bus to almost all attractions for R2.75 per person per ride (transfer is not included). Taking a cab can add up and you're at the mercy of the driver who can rip you off. Ask the hotel staff for an approximate cost for the cab if you do take the cab so the driver doesn't over charge.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CL_011610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your superb comments to our hotel, IPANEMA INN.

I am happy to hear how much you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet and daily dishes, served every morning in extended hours, as a courtesy to our valued guests.

Our English-speaking staff look forward to welcome you back soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The room is small but very clean. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great. You can order omelet. They provide beach towels and Umbrellas. It is a very good hotel. I will come back here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggystott1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel, IPANEMA INN, to travellers around the world.

We look forward to welcoming you back here, when you will be able to try the various categories of rooms we have: Standard, Superior and the spacious Duplex Suites.

I am glad you enjoyed our made-to-order dish, made as a courtesy by our chef.

Hope to see you soon at IPANEMA INN.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed three nights at the Ipanema Inn and loved the hotel.
The beach is just a few steps away and the Ipanema district bustles with great shops and restaurants.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet. We shared a master suite on the ninth floor with our two children. Although this room was not yet renovated, it was spacious and well equipped.
The breakfast is marvellous with fresh juices, fruit, eggs, cold cuts and local specialties (our tip: try the freshly baked pane de queijo, it's delicious).
But the absolutely best feature are the staff. From chambermaid to doorman, everybody is friendly and makes you feel welcome.
The chef went out of his way to supplement the already plentiful buffet with anything we might desire and the concierges had many great tips for eating, bars, shopping and anything else we needed.
All in all, a great hotel for both city and beach.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

We are extremely pleased by the lovely words used in your review, describing the myriad of qualities that our hotel presents.

IPANEMA INN is, in fact, located in the very best spot of the iconic neighbourhood, with a multitude of incredible shops and restaurants by our doorstep. I am personally happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed this superb location, also a few steps from the beach.

It is great to learn how much you have enjoyed the Duplex Suite, with its terrace with lateral view of the sea and the mountains. It is also nice to know how much you have enjoyed our breakfast, with plenty of local delicacies, freshly prepared daily.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon at IPANEMA INN.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights at the start of July. The staff were so friendly and their English was excellent. Breakfast was the best we had throughout our trip in Brazil with a good range of cereals, breads, every fruit you can imagine, omlettes, pancakes, juices . . . all fantastic and really helped to set us up for the day.

The hotel room was small, but nice, clean and safe with good air conditioning and no noise from the streets. It's in a great area, one block up from the beach and a block away from lots of shops, bars and cafes.

I've no doubt there are fancier hotels with gyms/ pools etc, but for the price, quality and friendliness of the staff, I would much rather stay here than any other hotel in Rio.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to reviewing here your experience with us, from IPANEMA INN.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed our services and unique location. Thank you also for the great comments regarding our courtesy breakfast, served as a Brazilian-style buffet.

We hope to soon welcome you back at IPANEMA INN.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The staff are warm,friendly and very helpful. There was a mix up with our booking, this was dealt with without a fuss. The location is excellent just half a block from the beach. As it is in a good area it was possible to walk or get a bus and so it was not necessary to use taxis all the time. The breakfast is exceptionally good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sulconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

We are very pleased with your excellent rating to IPANEMA INN.

Thank you very much for your great review, where you pointed out the great aspects of staying with us in Rio de Janeiro. Our prime location is, in fact, a must: in the very heart of Ipanema neighbourhood, a few steps from the beach and from the vibrant shopping area, with plenty of restaurants and shops.

We hope that you and your friends are back at IPANEMA INN soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very few words to add in relation to most of the comments made by other reviewers.
Service is above my expectations, special thanks to Almir from the reception desk who helped us to recover my kid's cap which was forgotten in the coach we took for our tour to Corcovado. Breakfast is notably well done and service is personalized. Waiters call guests by their names and remember how you would like your omelette as example.
We booked a duplex room which was spacious enough to comfortably accommodate my wife, niece, boy and myself. Excellent side view of the beach and nicely located a few blocks from the beach, shops, restaurants and charming 'Carioca' fashioned pubs. Indeed somewhat expensive but yet within the market reality of Rio de Janeiro. Would definitely recommend anyone to consider Ipanema Inn as a top option for a relaxing stay in Rio de Janeiro.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear guest,

The staff at IPANEMA INN is extremely pleased with your superb review.

Thank you so much for the great comments regarding the reception team, as well as our facilities and breakfast. I trust you have tried the tapioca, the gluten-free Brazilian pancake, and I am very happy that you noticed our attentive service.

It great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in a Duplex Suite at IPANEMA INN, with a terrace with lateral view of the iconic Ipanema beach.

It has been a great pleasure hosting you and your family in Rio de Janeiro and we truly hope to see you back in our hotel soon.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Located just next to Ipanema beach, I can highly recommend this area to stay in Rio. The hotel itself is clean and tidy and the breakfast was a nice start to every day. I stayed in 2 different rooms, one newly renovated and one not. Both were fine but the newer one was of course preferable. If all rooms were at the standard of the new rooms then this would be a definite 5 star review.

The best part about this hotel is the wonderful staff. They were all warm, friendly and helpful and a great representation of Rio de Janeiro. When I come back I will almost certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevieboy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to travellers around the world.

Your compliments to our housekeeping service was transmitted to the team, who were pleased to hear your nice words. Soon all the apartments at IPANEMA INN will have been modernised so we hope to count on your visit.

Thank you also for the compliments to our wonderful staff. The training on excellency services recently undergone has generated a great feedback from our valued guests, so I am particularly happy with that.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,226 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#94 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,641 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,550 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#8 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
373 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £92 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IPANEMA INN is a family-run boutique hotel located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing