We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kusel's trip”
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ipanema Inn
Ranked #11 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hotel has undergone recent refurbishment so expect some snags...eg. No chair or reading light in room. No doubt easily rectified.
Ideally suited for the beach, restaurants, buses.
Breakfasts were excellent...don't forget to ask for one of their special omlettes. Delicious!
Staff very helpful but if you are expecting fluent English forget that and get put your phrase book and speak some Portuguese.
We love staying at this hotel, our first visit 1983!

Room Tip: Hotel has undergone refurbishment so expect few snags. Eg. no chair , no side light in bedroom but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 463Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the great review and, more importantly, thank you so much for being a guest at IPANEMA INN since the early 80s.

There is nothing that we value more than our regular customers. Your message has been passed onto to all the teams in the hotel, who look forward to welcome you back soon, when you will be able to see all the new fittings and furniture.

Thank you also for the compliments to our delicious breakfast with a a special daily dish.

We look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

The rooms are modern, clean, and European sized (on the small side). Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious! Best of all, location was just a few blocks from Ipanema beach between post 9 and 10. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed being hosted by us, at IPANEMA INN.

Thank you so much for the compliments to our delicious breakfast, location, interiors and cordiality of our teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I spent some days on this beautiful city of Rio de Janeiro, but something that really did the difference was the up level service provided by the peopleo of Ipanema Inn.
Every single person from the hotel was really nice and providing the perfect tips to enjoy to the maximum the jewels of Rio.
The breakfast is good, the hotel is really close to Ipanema beach (really close to everything and connected with buses that will take you everywhere)
The rooms were clean all the time.
When going back to Rio I am planning to stay again on Ipanema Inn

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuanPablo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest,

We are very honoured by the review posted, written after your stay with us at IPANEMA INN.

Thank you so much for granting the highest grade to IPANEMA INN in every aspect.

We do hope you can be back in Rio de Janeiro to enjoy all the fantastic programs that our city offers. You will be able to enjoy once again our high level of services, a result of the constant training performed with our teams.

Your compliments were transmitted to the various teams at the hotel, who look forward to welcoming you back soon.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very nice and clean hotel just blocks from a beautiful beach and within walking distance to restuarants and stores. Rooms are small and simply furnished but comfortable. Very nice breakfast buffet selection.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAAHollandPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding your recent stay with us at IPANEMA INN.

We are happy to hear how much you have enjoyed our location, interiors and the vast selection of fresh products in our Brazilian buffet breakfast.

Hope to welcome you soon in Rio de Janeiro.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Away from the touristy Copacobana beach, lies upscale Ipanema beach. Ipanema Inn is an excellent option if you want to be close to the beach, have nice clean rooms, a decent breakfast (included in your room rate), and very kind employees. My daughter and I have stayed here on more that one ocassion, and the employees remember us with great smiles each time we arrive.
Everything is within walking distance. The restaurant where "The Girl From Ipanema" was written is just a few blocks away. The hotel gift shop has lovely gifts for you to purchase. Try to book here for New Years Eve in Rio. It s the experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmanigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for being a regular guest at IPANEMA INN.

It has been fantastic to hear your compliments regarding both your recent stay with us and your regular visits to Rio de Janeiro. We are very honoured to be your hosts in the city, as this is the highest proof that the high level of services at IPANEMA INN, which together with our prime location and kind staff make it, as you mentioned, the experience of a lifetime.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in our hotel.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the close proximity to ipanema beach, aprox. 100m from the nice and warm sand! Absolutely perfect!

Breakfast is excellent and has good variety of local food: fruit, juice, bread and you can also ask for omelette!

The room was very reasonable sized and bed was really comfy. However, it was one of the newly refurbished rooms and we were expecting it to be nicely done but it looked like the repairs were rushed. I am sure it will be looked after. Shower was excellent. Was it clean? Spotless!

The best part of staying here was the staff. Really helpful and genuinely interested in ensuring you had a great time!

Highly recommended! Enjoy your stay in Rio!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SusanaCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

We are thankful for your preference and flattered by the compliments published here, regarding your recent stay with us at IPANEMA INN.

The great comments regarding our delicious breakfast were transmitted to our team at the restaurant. In fact, the made-to-order courtesy dishes, such as the omelettes, waffles and tapioca (brazilian pancake) have been receiving many great comments from our guests.

The various teams at IPANEMA INN look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Rio de Janeiro.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The beach and Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon are an easy walk from the hotel. Good restaurants nearby (try Zazá Bistro for dinner). Some shops at Visconde de Pirajá Street. Tasteful breakfast (juices, fruits, yogurt, cakes, breads, eggs, cheese and, made by the order, omelet or tapioca). All the employees are kind to help you with any trouble and try to make you feel welcome. The room and bathroom are new (recent refurbishment), although small (the standard one; I’m not sure about the superior one). There’s some work going on now, only during the day, but it seems they are finishing it soon and the noise did not disturb us (we opted for an interior room: there is no view, but it’s quieter). A good choise to visit Rio.

Room Tip: An interior room is better if you wish a calm one, but there's no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the amazing comments regarding your recent stay with us, at IPANEMA INN.

We are proud to be located in one of the nicest areas of Rio de Janeiro, in the very heart of famous Ipanema, a few steps from the beach and from the buzzing area of bars, restaurants and shops.

It is fantastic to learn how joyful our delicious breakfast has been, as this is definitely a plus point of being hosted in one of our hotels. In regards to the rooms, we do have two other categories that offer spacious rooms at IPANEMA INN, named Superior and the Duplex Suites. As they have double-glazed windows, these also offer a relaxing stay.

We look forward to hosting you back in our hotel.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,203 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#88 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,572 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,483 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £86 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IPANEMA INN is a family-run boutique hotel located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing