We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“... excelent location ... excelent breakfast ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ipanema Inn
Ranked #10 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“... excelent location ... excelent breakfast ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great location (near the beach, shops, restaurants ...). Excellent breakfast. The wi-fi internet is good and free. The room is not big ... but very clean. The employees are very professional and friendly. Ipanema is a quieter, safe and beautiful than Copacabana. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the amazing comments related to your recent stay with us at the IPANEMA INN.

We are honored and happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying in our hotel, which is fabulously located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighborhood, close to various exquisite shops and restaurants, in the midst of a vibrant cultural area.

We hope to host you again soon at the IPANEMA INN.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    511
    114
    23
    11
See reviews for
239
534
88
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Ipanema Inn is not a luxury hotel by any means: the rooms are very small, and the view- at least in our case- was of the concrete walls next door. The hotel is however on a fantastic street, is very close to the beach, has very friendly staff and comes with a very tasty breakfast. I'd definitely return to this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your preference to IPANEMA INN.

I am glad that you enjoyed our location on a fantastic tree-lined street, half block from the best spot of Ipanema beach and from the best shops and restaurants.

Thank you also for your kind compliments to our staff and restaurant service.
I hope to welcome you back soon, when you will be able to also try one of the other categories of rooms: the Superior or the spacious Duplex Suite.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked this hotel without any special expectations... But in the end it revelled to be a very good surprise.. With a excelent location, good rooms (newly renovated), and a excelent breakfast.
Also very clean and the staff very helpfull and nice!
Good option to stay in the beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLarangeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the great comments regarding your recent stay with us.

The various teams at the IPANEMA INN are thankful for your amazing comments on our exquisite location, newly modernised rooms and excellent courtesy buffet breakfast, with a great variety of local and seasonal products.

I am happy to hear about the cordiality of our staff and hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

Very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days in late November. I have nothing but good things to say about it. The breakfast was delicious and had many options as well as some local flavor. The room was simple and clean. Yes it was fairly small but you have to understand where you are. Majority of apartments in Brazil are tiny, so the size of this room was actually pretty large in comparison. The location is just one block from the beach and close to many restaurants and bars. Most of Brazil has issues with safety but I felt safe in the area surrounding the hotel. It was raining while we were there and the hotel provided umbrellas for us to use. They also had beach towels for the guests to take the to beach. I would without a doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review on your recent visit to Rio de Janeiro.
We are very happy to hear how much you have enjoyed your four day stay with us, at the IPANEMA INN.

Our selection of recently modernised apartments are more comfortable then ever. Now you can choose from three different categories: Duplex Suite, Superior and Standard.
Moreover, I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the great level of services at the IPANEMA INN, including our rain and beach services.

We look forward to welcoming you again here.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The location was good. The service was very kind, except some guy in the reception. The hotel was under construction. My room was very noisy, i could hear the aacc from outside, the fridge of the room very noisy also, there was a problem with the wc and there was always water on the bathroom floor. At the middle of the stay, they entry into the room and move the furniture! Now i have the fridge under the desk, so when i sit to use the laptop i feel the heat of the fridge in my legs.. There was a desk in the room but no char to sit on, so i had to request it to reception. The breakfast was veery good. The reception was too small, impossible to meet someone there. The recepcionist recommend us a brazilian restaurant that at the end was italian ...if you open the window you can smell all the kitchen of the building behind, thhere was always food smell. The room had no view, only very close windows of the next building so i had no privacy in the room. The toilet tissue finished with no replacement...

Room Tip: Try to be in a room with street views, no the ones on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiosko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments at Trip Advisor.

We are extremely pleased to know how much you have enjoyed the location at IPANEMA INN, as much as you enjoyed our breakfast with local and seasonal products.
This air conditioning unit was recently installed, during the modernisation of the room, so thank you for letting us know about this little issue, that was already located and fixed.

We look forward to welcoming back into our hotel, when I will be able to show you all the improvements being made at this very moment. There will soon have a very pleasant restaurant opened to the tree-lined street, where the hotel is located.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hotel has undergone recent refurbishment so expect some snags...eg. No chair or reading light in room. No doubt easily rectified.
Ideally suited for the beach, restaurants, buses.
Breakfasts were excellent...don't forget to ask for one of their special omlettes. Delicious!
Staff very helpful but if you are expecting fluent English forget that and get put your phrase book and speak some Portuguese.
We love staying at this hotel, our first visit 1983!

Room Tip: Hotel has undergone refurbishment so expect few snags. Eg. no chair , no side light in bedroom but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 463Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the great review and, more importantly, thank you so much for being a guest at IPANEMA INN since the early 80s.

There is nothing that we value more than our regular customers. Your message has been passed onto to all the teams in the hotel, who look forward to welcome you back soon, when you will be able to see all the new fittings and furniture.

Thank you also for the compliments to our delicious breakfast with a a special daily dish.

We look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The rooms are modern, clean, and European sized (on the small side). Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious! Best of all, location was just a few blocks from Ipanema beach between post 9 and 10. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed being hosted by us, at IPANEMA INN.

Thank you so much for the compliments to our delicious breakfast, location, interiors and cordiality of our teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#18 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#35 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#64 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#71 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Property: Ipanema Inn
Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IPANEMA INN is a boutique hotel located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing