We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice experience”
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ipanema Inn
Ranked #12 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“A very nice experience”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We just spent 5 days at the hotel, and even being on the busiest week of the year (between Christmas and new Year), the attention we received was second to none. The staff was so dedicated, from the moment we step in, until we left the hotel. The rooms were brand new and everything worked pretty well. Breakfast was great, with a lot of options and the always delicious Pão de queijo, always hot. Not necessary to say that the location can't get better that this. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

The comments regarding your recent stay with us, at IPANEMA INN, have made us extremely happy.

It is very rewarding to see that the training on excellency services, recently undergone with the various teams at the hotel, has been generating such great number of positive comments.
Your compliments to our breakfast was transmitted to the restaurant team.

The staff at IPANEMA INN look forward to welcoming you and your family back here many times throughout this year.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    519
    116
    24
    11
See reviews for
247
554
93
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My sister and I stayed in Rio de Janeiro for only 3 days and we discovered this hotel. First the rooms are decently clean and nice. Perfect for relaxing and cooling yourself down after a hot afternoon in the beach. The location is also perfect as it's 4 minutes from Ipanema Beach. You can't ask for a better location.

However, what makes the entire hotel awesome is the helpful staff. Everyone in the hotel made it a point to answer our every question and direct us to the best way to enjoy the city on such a short timeline. We have been blessed to have such a helpful staff from the concierge, to the manager everyone went out of their way to guide us to the best way to enjoy Rio's tourist destinations.

From 2 Filipinos we can only say one thing: Maraming salamat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francismir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your preference of staying at IPANEMA INN.
It has been a pleasure hosting you and your sister during your visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Many thanks also for your great comments expressed here. I am happy to hear how much you have enjoyed the newly modernised rooms in our hotel, as much as the unique location, in the very heart of iconic Ipanema neighbourhood.

Your compliments to our teams have been transmitted and we all look forward to welcoming you back here in your next trip.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nicely designed, modern rooms, awesome location, great and helpful staff who speak good English (which is not the norm in Rio). Very recomendable hotel. It will be my first choice when I return to Rio.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for giving the highest score to IPANEMA INN.

We were thrilled to read your great comments regarding the recent stay with us and were very happy to see that our well trained staff are able to easily communicate with our guests.

We hope to welcome you and your friends again soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just got back from our trip to Rio and one of the first things to do is to send through this review on the Ipanema Inn. also, for those that have been warned about safety while in Rio - should really not be worried. The city has really transformed itself over the recent years and crime/petty theft isnt really an issue if you are SMART. we felt very safe at all times.

Now back to the hotel review -

1/ Location is amazing. It is perfectly placed less than 1 block from the beach. And everything else that you would want to see in the neighborhood. everything in ipanema is walking distance from the hotel. shops, grocery stores, acai, great restaurants (Zaza was one of our favorites), etc. you really cant go wrong with the location of this hotel.

2/ Front Desk staff is beyond knowledgeable, all speak very good if not fluent english. always accommodating. very friendly. lock the front door after hours so coming home to a hotel that is secure was also a nice comforting touch.

3/ Rooms. we stayed on the 7th floor. room was perfect. bed, pillow and bedding were all very comfortable. slept amazing. actually havent slept that well in quite some time. darkening shades probably helped. more importantly was how well the AC worked. weather all week was in the high 90s so having a fully functioning AC unit to come back from the beach to was really nice. bathrooms was renovated and modern. another great experience.

4/ Housekeeping at this hotel is amazing. our room was always spotless and clothes were always folded up. very trustworthy staff cleaning the rooms, always pick up spare change from the floors and placing it on the side tables. felt very comfortable feeling valuables out while we were out of the room.

all and all, this hotel ROCKED. and we will most definitely be back and will be staying at the Ipanema Inn. Without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are extremely happy by the review you have done about IPANEMA INN, as soon as you were back home.

It is fantastic to learn how much you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel. I could not agree more that we are located in the very heart of the Ipanema neighbourhood, only half block away from the beach and from the buzzing cultural scene here.

Our well trained front desk team is always ready to help in various languages, such as english, french and spanish, so I am happy to see that you made the most out of their excellent service.

The recently modernised rooms provide, in fact, a great moment of sleep after a long day in warm Rio de Janeiro. The great taste of our architect Bel Lobo and the great finishes utilised provide a comfortable stay.

I am also happy to see that you enjoyed our housekeeping service, careful and accommodating and always ready to help.

We look forward to welcoming you again at IPANEMA INN, when you will be able to see Rio de Janeiro from our perspective: that of a local, with comfort and joy.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I enjoyed a four night stay at the wonderfully located hotel. It is literally a block from Ipanema beach and within steps from shopping, restaurant and cafes. The best part is the rate; very reasonable for upscale Ipanema.
The rooms are small (think European) but clean, contemporary and comfortable with all the necessities one needs - in-room safe, toiletries, and free wi-fi (worked great once reset). My room was an inside room so I slept undisturbed. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak good English.
The included breakfast is ample to prepare for a day of sightseeing or the beach. Cereals, pastries, fruits, egg dishes, meats, cheeses and yogurt all on offer.
I will stay here again if I return to Rio. In all honesty, there was nothing I found troubling at the Ipanema Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are extremely happy by the review on our hotel, the IPANEMA INN.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our services, great value and newly modernised interiors.

We hope that your return into Rio de Janeiro happens swiftly, as we wish to be your hosts in town.

My warmest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Rio without breaking the bank this is the place for you. Perfect location, short stroll to the beach and to Leblon, as well as several really nice restaurants not even a block away. Hotel and rooms are really, really clean. Breakfast is delicious, fresh, nothing super fancy like in a posh hotel but everything you could want - lots of fruits, eggs cheese and meat, cereals and so on plus some Brazilian breads and cakes, as well as exotic fresh fruits every day, coffee etc. Front desk staff speak perfect English. Rooms are a good size and price is perfect. There is a safe and at all times I felt like myself and belongings are secure. If you want a nice hotel that is not the Caesar palace but not way out of town or crummy - then this is a great option. I would stay here again.
Wi-fi initially did not work but the pleasant woman at the front desk fixed it promptly by resting our account. It's a little slow and occasionally kicks me off, but generally it's fine for emails and internet surging (and I am working here as well as holidaying).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngaire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the great comments about your recent stay with us at IPANEMA INN.

It is fantastic to hear how much you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart of Ipanema, a few steps from the best spot at the beach, as well as our services.

Your compliments to our restaurant and reception team was transmitted to them, who look forward to welcoming you back here soon.

We look forward to being your hosts again in Rio de Janeiro.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Ipanema Inn December 27th to 30th. The people are great. So helpful especially Graciano!. We got into Rio at 10 in the morning, went to the hotel thinking we would not be able to get our room but they had the rooms ready and let us check in early. The reception people were so nice, made reservations for us. I cannot say enough nice things about the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for giving us the highest score here.

We are extremely happy to hear how much you have enjoyed the high level of service at one of our hotels, the IPANEMA INN. Your compliments were transmitted to the reception team, who look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#36 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#24 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#59 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#64 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Property: Ipanema Inn
Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IPANEMA INN is a family-run boutique hotel located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing