We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooh, that smell. Can't you smell that smell?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rio Aeroporto Hotel
Ranked #222 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel is the closest I've come to hell on earth. You might say I've lived a pampered life, but hear me out..... I travel for a living and have stayed in thousands of hotels all over the planet in my life - the Luxor Aeroporto is, bar none, the worst I've encountered. I stayed here for 3 days in November 2012. First off, the lobby actually looks OK....don't be fooled. As soon as you get to the corridors where the rooms are located you'll notice carpet that looks like it came from a junkyard and is stained to an absolutely disgusting level. Also in these corridors are the ever present white cinder block motif that just exude "institutional" character along with ghastly, flickering, fluorescent light.

Now to the room itself.....inside is a dirty tile floor with more white cinder blocks and more flickering fluorescent lights. The view behind the curtain (where a window would normally be) was of, *SURPRISE* more cinder blocks, but hey, at least someone painted them with a beach palm tree mural. The tiny 10" TV was un-watchable due to constant static that made incredibly loud and annoying sounds through the speakers. This occurred on all channels. Food options in the airport are limited and I was far too scared to try and eat anything from the kitchen at this dump. The beds were of the small single type with a concrete mattress and too-small sheets that constantly came undone and exposed you to the raw, stained, disgusting mattress and pillows. The bathroom is no better with plenty of black curly hair to make you feel right at home. Make sure your vaccinations are current. At least the hot water worked, I was surprised by that! And the smell....oh god the smell......it's an overpowering mildew/chemical smell that words can't do justice to; truly repugnant. Worst of all, the smell starts to permeate your suitcase and clothing after a few days. Frightening.

To summarize, please avoid this establishment at all costs. It is quite possibly one of the worst hotels on planet Earth. It's dingy, disgusting, smelly, horrific, dark, windowless, depressing, and terrible. I would give it 0 stars if I could. They should just tear the whole thing down and start over.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ehmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Rio Aeroporto Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

We spent the night from the 23 rd to the 24 th of March 2013 in this hotel.What a nightmare! Rooms terrible small without a window, walls paperthin, you hear everything thats going on in the next room or on the corridoors,carpet dirty full of spots, bed terrible outworn, no Wi-Fi ,refrigirator noisy as hell, corridors without paint, looks llike a prison, what an Experience and 250 US dollars less, are they preparing like this for the next football world championship?

Room Tip: No idea,but try not to stay there
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

price about 5star hotel in the downtown (ca270USD/night) rooms are coparably big but dirty, bathroom tirty, not cleaned and with some old trash in the shower. The smell from AC made it fairy impossible to sleep. to get the remote to AC I must have called for room service. Service itself was good and helpfull. if you can, choose anything else.

Room Tip: Choose anything else
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B0l02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here awaiting our flight out of Brazil the following day. Check-in was more pleasant than most places we had been to in Brazil. The room was huge with a big bathroom, and initially we were very pleased with our choice. The room was adequately clean. The safe however was broken. The design is quite strange as it is a windowless room with a picture of autumnal woodland where you would expect the window to be. The breakfast was probably the worst we had in Brazil with stale bread and limited choice. It is very much a place to sleep for the night and not much more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Consider yourself lucky to have a room here if you have a long layover, as there are really no other options.
The traffic into town can be terrible at times just to get to the Centro hotels.
It is a long way to the beach hotels.

Room Tip: Take your sense of humor with you.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

What in the world this guys are thinking about? A bed and internet for 200 euros a day?? I`ve stay in many hotels in the world......but pay this money to bet a bed and 4 dirty walls?? Come on......a shame what the people do with the turists.......easy money comes just one time......never come back anymore.....no language, no service, no nothing....prepare yourself if you expect a good service.... be careful Brazilian friends, the world cup its on the way...and you dont have any conditions

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank TCSSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I've traveled all over Brasil. You have to lower your expectations some of what hotels offer.
After reading reviews about the hotel I expected to hate it before I arrived, and all the reviews were right, it's no four star resort for sure.
But I have a feeling anybody staying there is either stuck or connecting so its a place to crash for the night. The room was quiet, cool and clean.
The one thing that irritated me was I couldn't get the wifi signal unless I was sitting on the toilet!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio de Janeiro
Galeão
Linx Hotel International Airport Galeao
Linx Hotel International Airport...
#132 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
662 reviews
Hotel Pousada Guanabara Garden
#211 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
49 reviews
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Nova America
#68 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ibis budget RJ Nova Americ...
#101 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
423 reviews
BEST WESTERN Multi Suites
#3 of 5 in Duque de Caxias
29 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#93 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Aeroporto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Aeroporto Hotel

Address: Avenida Vinte de Janeiro | Terminal 1 - 3º Floor, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21941-570, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Galeão
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £69 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Aeroporto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out hotel is located inside the terminal 1, on the 3rd floor of the Rio International airport. this is very conveniente hotel with 97 rooms, with private bathroom, minibar, flat screen TV with international channels, restaurante open daily from 6am to 11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rio Aeroporto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Aeroporto Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Aeroporto Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing