We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Nearby Hotels
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$492
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveller rating
377
504
253
92
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
504
253
92
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden tulipthe upper floorsswimming pooltop floorexcellent locationvery nice hoteleasy accessreception stafflate checkrooftop barchrist the redeemersugarloaf mountaincopacabanamaurosuitcasesfavelaumbrellas
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was my second time in Rio de Janeiro and my last one I just couldn't come back because of my hotel's choice. But Golden Tulip changed my mind, I had an incredible hospitality with Ivan and João (manager) and I don't have anything to complain about it. The breakfast was great, also the room and the neighborhood were perfect!

Thanks all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Luciano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Novotel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Mr. Luciano, thank you very much for your review,
we are glad to know that your stay with us made you change your mind about Rio de Janeiro.
Our collaborators João and Ivan will be informed that you were satisfied with their service and I am sure they will be more than glad to know it!
The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again.
Our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Golden Tulip Continental Hotel in Rio de Janeiro is very well situated at Leme' s Beach, in a calm narrow street just one block from the see front. However, the hotel does not deliv what is shows in the booking sites, and it is far from being a 4 star hotel. The hotel is only partially refurbished, so, be aware not to be placed in a room with horrible bed matress, bad pillows and with no infrastructure (that was my case). The internet does not work and the staff, contrary to waht is usual in Rio, are not helpful, showing that their treinning was not enojgh to receive guests.

Room Tip: Talk to the desk staff to be sure they will place you in a good room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvialourenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Novotel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Mrs. Silvia,
Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to know that your stay wasn’t as you expected. It is true that not all of our apartments are yet refurbished but we are working on it already, still we try our best to guarantee that our guests have a pleasant stay. Our teams are trained regularly in order to attend our guest’s needs and I’ll make sure your review will be taken into consideration so we can improve our services.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First time in Rio de Janeiro and stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. Good location, 30 seconds to beach and taxi just outside the door. Metro in walking distance. Dinner restaurants in walking distance, or just a short taxi drive to Ipanema with lot of good restaurants. We had room in 15th floor. Good beds and size of the room. Not to much noice from the street. From time to time the noice between the rooms and also from the corridor was annoying. Old mixer taps in the bathrooms made it difficult to adjust the temperature on the water and also the intensity on the water flow was varying. The quality of the free WiFi was not always good, but it worked and it was for free. The breakfast was good, and the coffee excellent.
The bar and pool area on the roof was very nice, with a stunning view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Novotel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Mr. Per, thank you very much for your review!!
The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again.
Our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were there right after the world cup. Rooms were decent, beds fairly comfortable even though not the newest. My only complaint was the sound isolation of the windows. The staff was awesome with a can-do attitude. Breakfast was great, with great selection of tasty foods, especially fruit. Very nice view from the roof with nice pool and the bar. Close to the Copacabana beach and in generally safe neighborhood. I would go back to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dragoslav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Novotel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Mr. Dragoslav , thank you very much for your review!!
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us
The Golden Tulip Continental team will be looking forward to see you again.
Our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My first hotel in Rio de Janeiro, bad hotel, the services it's bad also, it's no clean, I was afraid to go bear feet in my room, it's noisy, good location, and very very expensive, you can get around very easy, but all Rio smell bad, very dirty all around.
Look for something else.

Room Tip: They do have a better rooms in like a new floors buts same thing
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mauricio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luiz Rodolfo P, Gerente geral at Novotel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Mr. Mauricio,
thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry to know that your stay wasn’t as you expected. We always try our best to guarantee that our guests have a pleasant stay and for this matter, our teams are trained regularly in order to attend our guest’s needs. I’ll make sure your review will be taken into consideration so we can improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews