We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so great hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #78 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not so great hotel”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The hotel has the best location, it is two street away from beautiful Ipanema beach. It was not really clean and the building itself is a bit rusty. For this price it should be much better. The staff is incredibly rude. It has a great breakfast and bar where you can enjoy while having drinks in the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank very much for your review. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much in consideration our guest’s opinion, no wonder your feedback is truly appreciated.
I must agree with you that our location is just prime. Located in an area known by locals as “Charm Quartier”, Mar Ipanema Hotel is encircled by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town, being one short block away from the Ipanema beach.
I’m really glad you enjoyed our Armazém Devassa restaurant, where breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks, including beers from the Devassa microbrewery are served. Did you had any of those?
Your comments about the property being rusty actually stunned me. Our property has been recently renovated and we are very proud to say that Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only 100% renovated property in Ipanema neighborhood. Also, our hotel is the only one in the area offering free wi fi connection.

Regarding our staff, please be assured our General Manager will address this issue straight away with our front desk staff. Also, we are interested in knowing how rude they were with us. I apologize for any inconvenience, however I would like to thank you a lot for your feedback and comments about your stay!

Best regards,
Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    594
    196
    38
    28
See reviews for
187
489
91
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albufeira
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A nice three star property on the main shopping street of Ipanema. Large room (the De Luxe rooms), but these are located between the second and third floor, so quite a bit of outside traffic noise. Perhaps a standard room on a high floor might be better. Staff all very pleasant. Wonderful large walk in shower.

TV channels could do with some changes to make this an 'Olympic friendly' hotel for tourists. Only 2 English language channel - CNN and Bloomberg - not very good. From memory, I think there were 2 German, 1 French and 1 Italian channel, otherwise all Portuguese.

A small dining room for breakfast, but it was a really good one in terms of quality and staff efficiency. Buffet food constantly being checked by the manager, always piping hot. Very good. Self serve coffee from flasks that tasted like good coffee.

Free wi fi worked perfectly inside room. Hotel has available all beach equipment - towels, chairs, umbrellas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review about your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it and sharing your experience with other future guests!

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even happier to know how helpful our staff was during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us!

The deluxe rooms are definitely a work of art. Equipped with 42’ LCD TVs, Egyptian cotton sheets, Ipod docks, and many more amenities. Regarding the traffic noise, please be assured that new soundproof windows are being installed in all rooms, including the De Luxe rooms. That being, I’m sure we will be able to provide you an even more comfortable stay the next time you stay with us.
Concerning the lack of International TV channels, I believe you missed to use the SAP button, once we have more global channels than you listed, such as Sony, Fox, ESPN, Universal, National Geographic, just to mention a few of them.
Great to know you found our Armazém Devassa restaurant pleasant. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks are served everyday there. It is a very typical "carioca" brewery and meeting point for locals and tourists in town. The breakfast itself offers a wide variety of tropical fruits, breads, hot dishes and Brazilian delicacies.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach equipment that we lend to guests. As you mentioned you could rent those at the beach, but that would cost you around R$20/day.

Again, thank you so much for your comments! Wish you all the best and hope to have you again with us!

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed here for our last night in Rio. This was the most expensive hotel of our entire stay in the country. In terms of location combined with hotel quality, I guess it was worth it. We had a very comfortable stay and no trouble with outside noise etc. The fact that it didnt have a beach view is not something that we minded, walk 100m and you are on the beach anyway. It is also great that the hotel rents out bath towels, chairs and parasols for free, it saves you from a lot of hassle on the beach.
The only thing I did find disappointing about the hotel was the opportunity to change clothes when you have checked out earlier that day. We checked out at noon and our flight was leaving in the evening. When we came back from our last day in the hot Rio sun we wanted to have some room to change into more appropriate winter clothes, but were told we could do that in the Devassa restaurant - the place where breakfast is served in the morning but its an open bar/ restaurant during the rest of the day. Not great if you have paid 170 euro for a night's sleep to have to change your clothes in toilet of a bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMH-Rdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel has a prime location. Located at the trendiest neighborhood in town and one short block away from the wonderful Ipanema beach, Mar Ipanema Hotel offers a prime location for its guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach equipment that we lend to guests. As you mentioned you could rent those at the beach, but during summertime its common not find available ones at the beach, not to say that it wouldn’t be cost free.
Concerning the changing of clothing at the Devassa restaurant, I was able to speak with our General Manager and front desk staff, which told me that since you had check-out and we were fully booked for that night, unfortunately we couldn’t give you access to a proper bathroom at the rooms.
I apologize for any inconvenience, however I would like to thank you a lot for your feedback and comments about your stay!

Best regards,
Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at the Mar Ipanema Hotel in December for three days as we had always wanted to visit Rio de Janeiro and we were enticed by the strains of the music,life and colour of its people........
It was a perfect location and a great hotel. The bedrooms were very pleasant and we felt close to Ipanema beach as well as the shops and restaurants of both Ipanema and Leblon.. Sightseeing was excellent either with a tour organised by the hotel or a taxi and plenty of helpful tips from the reception staff. Breakfast was abundant with plenty of choice from tropical fruit to other tempting and nutritious fare. The Mar Ipanema was clean and modern and was also within walking distance of Copacabana beach where you could hire bicycles, stroll, swim, sunbathe or sip on coconut juice. The nearby bars and restaurants were legendary and we happened upon the Garotta de Ipanema where the popular song had been composed and realised how lucky we were to be staying in such a cool place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel, and for taking the time to review it!
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our prime location!! As you pointed out, the best restaurants and bars in town are all in the vicinities of our hotel.
Good to know you found our rooms pleasant. Our property has been recently renovated and we are very proud to say that Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only 100% renovated property in Ipanema neighborhood. Also, our hotel is the only one in the area offering free wi fi connection.
Good to know you visited such a popular location such as Garota de Ipanema, it’s just great for hearing Brazilian music! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerly,
Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

There's a big choice of hotels at Copacana and Ipanema, so what sets the Mar Ipanema apart? First, the competence, experience and helpfulness from the staff. It's located just five minutes walk from Ipanema beach and offers all the gear for a day on the sand watching the world go by. Chairs, towels and umbrellas are available by asking the front desk.
The hotel was good value, and rooms well decorated, with quality furnishings and fittings. A previous guest (probably) took the plug for the basin as a souvenir (?), but when we called the desk a very competent engineer turned up in less than five minutes with a replacement, and made sure it fitted properly.
The buffet breakfast (included, but available from a separate cafe attached to the hotel) was brilliant, with lots of local specialties, plus the normal breakfast fare. Best scrambled eggs I had enjoyed on my trip this time.
I booked this after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor, and I wasn't disappointed. Stay here with confidence. The free wifi is very fast, and easily connected.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest,
That kind of reaction is exactly what we aim for when receiving guests at Mar Ipanema Hotel. I’m delighted with your comments about our staff. Be assured I’ll personally congratulate them on the excellent service provided. Regarding the location, I must agree with you that it’s a huge difference between Copacabana and Ipanema districts. I loved your comments on our prime location. Our street is indeed a "carioca" version of NYC`s 5th Ave. You can find all the best stores and boutiques close to the hotel, as well as supermarkets, drugstores, banks, restaurants, and bars. This is why the area in which the hotel is located is called "Charm Quarter".I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach equipment that we lend to guests. As you mentioned you could rent those at the beach, but that would cost you around R$20/day.
Thank you again for your praise regarding the our rooms, they were all recently refurbished being equipped with LCD Tvs, Ipod Docks and furniture and decorations made by Brazilian artisans, as well as the complimentary wireless internet that you very well pointed out.
Also, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast served at the Devassa restaurant. Everyday Brazilian delicacies as well as a variety of tropical fruits and warm dishes are served. The scrambled eggs tip was an excellent one! Nice picture of the hotel, by the way!
Once again, thank you very much for your reviews and compliments about our hotel and staff. It’s truly overwhelming to know that we were able to have a wonderful trip and get to know our marvelous city.

Best regards,
Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Close to beach and lagoon. On December 1st just a short walk to lagoon to see impressive firework display and the switching on of a huge colourful, but gawdy, electronic christmas tree. Anyway back to the hotel. Compact twin bedded room on 10th floor was very quiet and had everying we needed. You get used to more compact rooms in some large busy cities. The breakfast was suberb - fresh fruit including papaya, perfectly cooked scrambled eggs and very hot good coffee. The staff were quite helpful and friendly but not so much as other hotels I have visited on my travels. Location was quite good for restaurants but you will be paying at least London prices here - Rio is not cheap. Good secure facilities to leave luggage on day of departure as we had an evening flight back home. Close to supermarket and HSBC bank.

Room Tip: obviously higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisthemenace2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Guest,

How can I even begin to thank you for such an amazing review?! I was so happy to read about your stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed our great location, all of the best restaurants, bars and shops in town are located in the vicinities of the hotel.
I am very happy that you were able to visit Lagoa and see the fireworks. Maybe because we are only one short block away from the beach, many guests end up not visiting such a wonderful place. Also, the Lagoa Christmas Tree is considered the world's largest floating Christmas tree!
I’m also happy to hear that you were delighted with the breakfast, served at the Devassa restaurant, which is opened for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks.
Again, thank you so much for your candid comments and the compliments concerning our front desk staff!
WIsh you all the best!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful king bed on the 3rd floor,with a large bathroom. Read previous reviews that complained about noise and lack of AC. Make sure your key card is in the slot by the door,shut the bathroom door(that room is not AC),and use the hand held device to choose your temperature. It works great! Windows are one paned, so close the heavy drapes and leave the AC on-very little street noise. Staff was great,arranged a van to take us and a lot of luggage to the airport for $40 US. Made reservations at Margutta restaurant, 2 blocks away . A wonderful family owned small restaurant that specializes in seafood. What a special wonderful last meal in Rio! All the staff was wonderful and very helpful-thank you.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff49085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Fantastic review!!! Thank you so much for your comments about your stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! I am so happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and city! Also great news to know you found our rooms amusing! We truly appreciate your comments about our front desk staff!
Thank you so much! Hope to see you back soon!
Cheers!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,332 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#44 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
156 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#113 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,189 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,634 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#93 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Property: Mar Ipanema Hotel
Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing