We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #74 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Whilst you do not get sea views, you are not paying for them, but you are just 60 or so yards from the beach. Better still there is a bus stop about 20 yards from the hotel entrance at which all the buses to all the destinations that you are likely to want to visit in Rio stop.
The staff are very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful, the rooms large and well-equipped and the decor modern minimalist.
The breakfast is an enormous buffet of pastries, breads, fruit and a few hot dishes; you won't go hungry.
There is a large supermarket about 50 yards away and all manner of bars and eateries close by.
Not the cheapest hotel in Rio, but excellent value nonetheless.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEDDINGTON35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Wow! What a great and complete review, thank you very much. It’s always nice to know that we were able to make our guests’ trip a pleasant one. I must agree with your comments about our location. Mar Ipanema Hotel enjoys of a prime location, just one short block away from the beach, having a better cost benefit than the beachfront hotels, especially considering that most of the stores, restaurants and bus stops are located in adjacent streets to the beach.
Since Ipanema and Leblon are the nicest neighborhoods in the city, hotels in these areas are in fact more expensive than in touristy Copacabana, for instance.
Our front desk and reservations staff are incredible, and I am very happy that they were able to help and meet your needs.
I am also truly happy to know that you enjoyed our location as well as our breakfast buffet!
Recommending the supermarket near the hotel is a great tip. They have everything you’ll need!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    590
    193
    38
    28
See reviews for
181
488
91
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed at the Mar Ipanema Hotel for 4 nights. Location was perfect for what we wanted to see and do. Staff was very friendly & spoke good English. Room was good for the price although the A/C in our room (1108) was very noisy & made it difficult to sleep. Wifi worked well in the room & was included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wateron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is truly important for us so we can always keep improving as a whole. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. As you pointed out, we are located in the finest area of the Ipanema district, one block away from Ipanema beach. I'm also really happy our staff was helpful; I'll make sure to congratulate our front desk staff.
Concerning the rooms, please notice that Mar Ipanema hotel is the only fully refurbished hotel in the Ipanema district and now all of all rooms are equipped with '32 LCD TVs, IPod docks, as well as complimentary wifi internet access.

Concerning your room's A/C, we're sorry it wasn’t of your satisfaction. Our A/C units are split air-conditioners which make less noise than regular A/Cs.

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

As all hotels in Rio, this is expensive, but this one provides a tremendous value. Just blocks from the beach, the hotel provides chairs and towels and the best bar to enjoy a cocktail, their homebrewed beer, and and a snack when you've had enough time in the sun. And the breakfast is fantastic. Great shopping and restaurants are within walking distance, and as is Copacabana beach. Their staff is friendly and useful to help arrange tours.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVinesofMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Thanks so much for your awesome comments and recommendation. We are so pleased knowing you had such a relaxing stay, and got to enjoy our breakfast and free beach equipment. We have to agree with you, our location is unbeatable!
Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back very soon - take care!

Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Very good location to the beach and make the most of the free beach chairs and parasols. The breakfast in the morning was lovely with a lot of options including some very special cakes. There are plenty of restaurants and juice bars nearby as well as a supermarket where you can get anything from food to clothes. The metro is 15 mins away but the bus stop by the hotel has buses going everywhere -Sugarloaf mountain, Centraal, Christ the Redeemer, Leblon shopping, Tijuca mountains. Just ask the staff at the hotel and they will tell you what bus to take. Don't miss the hippie market on Sundays - best place for souvenirs and bahian food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ_SG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
What a wonderful picture!! Definitely pictures say more than words on how Rio de Janeiro is the “Marvelous City”. Thank you very much for your complete review!!! Not only you are helping guests pick a hotel to stay, but you are also helping them to move around the city! Great tips there!
Thank you very much for your awesome review! We really appreciate that you took time to share your comments and suggestions with other guests!
On behalf of our staff I would like to thank you so much for doing so, and we hope to see you again very soon!

Best wishes,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

The hotel has the best location, it is two street away from beautiful Ipanema beach. It was not really clean and the building itself is a bit rusty. For this price it should be much better. The staff is incredibly rude. It has a great breakfast and bar where you can enjoy while having drinks in the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank very much for your review. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much in consideration our guest’s opinion, no wonder your feedback is truly appreciated.
I must agree with you that our location is just prime. Located in an area known by locals as “Charm Quartier”, Mar Ipanema Hotel is encircled by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town, being one short block away from the Ipanema beach.
I’m really glad you enjoyed our Armazém Devassa restaurant, where breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks, including beers from the Devassa microbrewery are served. Did you had any of those?
Your comments about the property being rusty actually stunned me. Our property has been recently renovated and we are very proud to say that Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only 100% renovated property in Ipanema neighborhood. Also, our hotel is the only one in the area offering free wi fi connection.

Regarding our staff, please be assured our General Manager will address this issue straight away with our front desk staff. Also, we are interested in knowing how rude they were with us. I apologize for any inconvenience, however I would like to thank you a lot for your feedback and comments about your stay!

Best regards,
Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albufeira
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

A nice three star property on the main shopping street of Ipanema. Large room (the De Luxe rooms), but these are located between the second and third floor, so quite a bit of outside traffic noise. Perhaps a standard room on a high floor might be better. Staff all very pleasant. Wonderful large walk in shower.

TV channels could do with some changes to make this an 'Olympic friendly' hotel for tourists. Only 2 English language channel - CNN and Bloomberg - not very good. From memory, I think there were 2 German, 1 French and 1 Italian channel, otherwise all Portuguese.

A small dining room for breakfast, but it was a really good one in terms of quality and staff efficiency. Buffet food constantly being checked by the manager, always piping hot. Very good. Self serve coffee from flasks that tasted like good coffee.

Free wi fi worked perfectly inside room. Hotel has available all beach equipment - towels, chairs, umbrellas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guest,

What a great review about your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it and sharing your experience with other future guests!

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even happier to know how helpful our staff was during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us!

The deluxe rooms are definitely a work of art. Equipped with 42’ LCD TVs, Egyptian cotton sheets, Ipod docks, and many more amenities. Regarding the traffic noise, please be assured that new soundproof windows are being installed in all rooms, including the De Luxe rooms. That being, I’m sure we will be able to provide you an even more comfortable stay the next time you stay with us.
Concerning the lack of International TV channels, I believe you missed to use the SAP button, once we have more global channels than you listed, such as Sony, Fox, ESPN, Universal, National Geographic, just to mention a few of them.
Great to know you found our Armazém Devassa restaurant pleasant. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks are served everyday there. It is a very typical "carioca" brewery and meeting point for locals and tourists in town. The breakfast itself offers a wide variety of tropical fruits, breads, hot dishes and Brazilian delicacies.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach equipment that we lend to guests. As you mentioned you could rent those at the beach, but that would cost you around R$20/day.

Again, thank you so much for your comments! Wish you all the best and hope to have you again with us!

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed here for our last night in Rio. This was the most expensive hotel of our entire stay in the country. In terms of location combined with hotel quality, I guess it was worth it. We had a very comfortable stay and no trouble with outside noise etc. The fact that it didnt have a beach view is not something that we minded, walk 100m and you are on the beach anyway. It is also great that the hotel rents out bath towels, chairs and parasols for free, it saves you from a lot of hassle on the beach.
The only thing I did find disappointing about the hotel was the opportunity to change clothes when you have checked out earlier that day. We checked out at noon and our flight was leaving in the evening. When we came back from our last day in the hot Rio sun we wanted to have some room to change into more appropriate winter clothes, but were told we could do that in the Devassa restaurant - the place where breakfast is served in the morning but its an open bar/ restaurant during the rest of the day. Not great if you have paid 170 euro for a night's sleep to have to change your clothes in toilet of a bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMH-Rdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel has a prime location. Located at the trendiest neighborhood in town and one short block away from the wonderful Ipanema beach, Mar Ipanema Hotel offers a prime location for its guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach equipment that we lend to guests. As you mentioned you could rent those at the beach, but during summertime its common not find available ones at the beach, not to say that it wouldn’t be cost free.
Concerning the changing of clothing at the Devassa restaurant, I was able to speak with our General Manager and front desk staff, which told me that since you had check-out and we were fully booked for that night, unfortunately we couldn’t give you access to a proper bathroom at the rooms.
I apologize for any inconvenience, however I would like to thank you a lot for your feedback and comments about your stay!

Best regards,
Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#29 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#111 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#19 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Property: Mar Ipanema Hotel
Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, TravelUp and Expedia so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing