We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #81 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December and thought it was a great find. The location was perfect, just two blocks from the beach, and on a great shopping street with lots of restaurants nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable. The (included) buffet breakfast was very generous. Because it is a busy neighborhood, it is noisy so bring your earplugs. It was also very hot when we were there so we needed to have the A/C on all the time, adding to the noise.

The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. They helped us locate an English speaking taxi driver one day to drive us to several locations rather than take our luck with someone who only spoke Portuguese.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PepperRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Wow! Thank you for your awesome review and kind words! Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and city! I’m glad you enjoyed our room! In fact, we are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. Our rooms are all equipped with ´32 LCD TVs, Ipod docks, free complimentary wifi internet access, and many other amenities. Our location is just prime, I couldn’t describe it better myself. As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located two short blocks away from the marvelous Ipanema beach, being surrounded by Rio’s best restaurants and most refined boutiques. Concerning the noise coming from the street, we are located in a very trendy and busy street and few times such noise can be noticeable. For this reason, we are installing new soundproof windows in all of our rooms, in order to provide an even more comfortable stay for our guests. Good to know our staff was helpful. I’ll congratulate them myself! Thanks again for your kind words! I hope you can come back to visit us soon!

Best wishes,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my friend. The hotel was not bad, with good breakfast and the staff was very helpful. Avoid booking tours through hotel, because they add to the price and tours are very short and little rushed. If exchanging the money, pay really good attention to the rate, because they keep changing it depending on which staff you ask and not in an insignificant way!!!

Hotel provides beach chairs, umbrellas and towels which is really useful.

The hotel has amazing restaurant, both with atmosphere and food.

Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and compliments made to our hotel. It’s always really nice to know our guests had such a nice stay as you did. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast, served at Armazém Devassa, a truly “carioca” restaurant/pub. They do not only serve, breakfast, but also buffet-style lunch, as well as lunch, dinner and late night drinks. Did you have any of their great craft beers? Good to know our staff was helpful and was able to arrange tours for you and your friend. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach equipment that we lend to guests. As you mentioned you could rent those at the beach, but that would cost you around R$20/day.
Thank you very much for your review and kind words, we hope to see you soon again!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 January 2013

this hotel is a couple blocks from the beach. It is in a reasonably nice part of Ipanema. The beds are comfortable the room was clean. The hotel is a reasonable value. our breakfast were included and they were quite generous

Room Tip: all the rooms were probably pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. We are glad know that you had a pleasant stay at our property and enjoyed our rooms. In fact, Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only 100% refurbished hotel in Leblon/Ipanema districts with all rooms being equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Ipod docks and many other amenities. It’s nice to hear that you liked our breakfast as well, which is served at our Armazém Devassa Restaurant every day, from 6 to 10 AM. At the breakfast buffet you can find a wide selection of breads, tropical fruits, juices, as well as Brazilian delicacies.
Thank you very much for your review and kind words, we hope to see you soon again!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Spent 3 nights here with my wife back in September 2012. We picked this place after reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor. The price was a little expensive but all hotels in Rio de Janeiro are expensive. We got to the hotel at 12PM, before check-in. Our room was not available so they were able to store our luggage till check-in. We returned 4 hours later. Check-in was fast and easy. The front desk spoke good English and were very helpful. One minor thing is that it's really hard to load/unload from a car/taxi infront of the hotel. There is a half-circle driveway for loading/unloading, but it's hard to see and it's along the bus lane where cars are not suppose to travel. Later that night the front desk provided some recommendations on where to eat besides the Devassa restaurant/bar that is attached to the hotel. We were in room 403 which faces Rua Visconde de Pirajá. You could hear the traffic from the street below, but it did not bother us as
the traffic died down at night. What made the most noise were the doors in the hotel. The only way to close your hotel room door when leaving your room was to basically slam the door shut. There is no rubber trim along the door to dampen the sound, nor does the outside door handle turn to close the hotel room. You could hear when people were leaving their rooms. The room was smaller than the typical US hotel, but still comfortable for two people. The room had a mini-bar fridge, where we kept some bottle water and sodas cold. The room also had an electronic keypad safe, which was large enough to store a laptop and digital SLR. The room had air conditioning. The king size bed was comfortable. The bathroom had a standup shower and did not have a bidet, but a bidet shower/spray. Breakfast was included with our reservations, which was served in the Devassa restaurant/bar that is attached to the hotel lobby. Breakfast was buffet style, with eggs, cereal, breads, fruit, yogurt. The front desk had some tours available to some local football (soccer) matches. My wife and I decided to go see a football match, Coritiba Foot Ball Club vs Botafogo de Futebol e Regatas at Estádio Olímpico João Havelange. The tour bus picked us up right infront of the hotel. The hotel is located 2 blocks from Ipanema beach. We felt very safe walking at night around the hotel. The area is filled with lots of upscale boutiques. There is a supermarket right across the street where we bought beverages and snacks. There is a bakery called Panadaria Ipanema 3 blocks away that serves good desserts. The Metrô Rio station of Osorio / Ipanema is 6 blocks away. The Hippie Fair is also held in Osorio plaza on Sundays. Overall a great stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. Complete reviews like this one bring even more credibility to Tripadvisor and to our hotel’s services. Initially, I would like to thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. Concerning your room, I’m glad you found it comfortable. All of our rooms are 100% renovated, and yes, sometimes it could be difficult to find a brand new hotel in Rio. I am glad you pointed that out! Concerning the noise coming from the street, we are located in a very trendy and busy street and few times such noise can be noticeable. For this reason, we are installing new soundproof windows in all of our rooms, in order to provide an even more comfortable stay for our guests. As a matter of fact, we already installed soundproof windows in room 403, just after you check-out! Concerning the price, please note that the rates of beachfront hotels are usually 20-30% more expensive than ours. As you were able to realize, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located in a really residential and upscale neighborhood, a stone’s throw from Ipanema beach and as you said, surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest boutiques in town. Good to know our staff was pleasant and were able to help you with recommendations on what to do in Rio. I’ll congratulate them myself! As you mentioned, our breakfast is served at the Armazém Devassa restaurant, which is free for guests. Not only breakfast is served over there, but also lunch, dinner and late night drinks as well.
I’m also truly glad you took so many pictures of our property. In fact, guests that upload pictures help future guests to get a veridical perspective of hotels and as a consequence, to make better vacation choices!
Thank you very much for your review and kind words, we hope to see you soon again!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel, the rooms are not large but not small either, its comfortable. I did not experience any street noise, maybe because we were staying on a high floor or maybe because i'm used to live in a city. The location is excellent, it's close to the beach (about 2 short blocks), to the shops in Ipanema and also to a lot of different restaurants, not to mention the one located on the ground level: good food, cold beer and great servers! The staff at Mar Ipanema are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waikikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Wow! Thank you for your awesome review and kind words! Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and city! I’m glad you enjoyed our room! In fact, we are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. Our rooms are all equipped with ´32 LCD TVs, Ipod docks, free complimentary wifi internet access, and many other amenities.
Our location is just prime, I couldn’t describe it better myself. It’s noteworthy that we are roughly 20-30% cheaper than beachfront hotels. Also, since also shops and restaurants are located in streets adjacent to the beach, our location is even more suitable than the location of beach front hotels.
Good to know our staff was pleasant and were able to help you with recommendations on what to do in Rio. I’ll congratulate them myself!
Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel as well as recommending us. There is no better compliment for us than our guests telling us they would recommend and stay with us again. We hope to welcome you back very soon !

Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Mat Ipanema may not be on the beach but it is only 2 blocks away and in Ipanema there aren't any hotels on the beach anyway. Ipanema & its beach is far better than Copacabana so it is worth sacrificing the beach view for a better neighbourhood.

The hotel is decent - the rooms are not large, but not overly small and the bathroom is decent quality, with the most powerful shower I've ever experienced. I had only 1 gripe with the room - the noise from the busy street outside means ear plugs are essential.

Reception staff were friendly and spoke good English. I booked a day long Rio tour through the hotel, but frankly I wouldn't recommend it - the tour guide wasn't great and you'll learn much more about Rio by getting on the metro with a Rough Guide and making your own way to the main attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the main street if you can - or ensure you bring good ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverside-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It’s always great to know that our guests had such a nice stay with us. Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.
I’m glad you liked our rooms as well. We are glad to say that Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only entirely refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. All rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Ipod Docks, and may other amenities to provide our guests a comfortable stay. Concerning the noise, rest assured that the next time you stay with us you will have an even more relaxed stay, once we are currently installing new soundproof windows in all rooms!
At last, thank you very much for your compliments on our staff, glad to know they helped you out efficiently. I’ll make sure to personally congratulate them!
Thank you very much for your review and kind words, we hope to see you soon again!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Mar Ipanema is an ok hotel...clean, tidy and free breakfast/wi-fi is a rare find in Rio so a welcome bonus. The rooms facing the street are noisy so don't forget your ear-plugs and you'll be fine. Hotels closer to the beach are probably 25-30% more expensive (as a minimum) so this hotel offers a practical alternative a few minutes away from the beach - that said if you can afford it the beach side properties are worth the extra.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the higher floors and be prepared for traffic noise on street facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro, as well as for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed our location, which is a stone’s throw from the best spot of Ipanema beach and just 3 blocks away from the lagoon. As you pointed out, Mar Ipanema Hotel is also the only hotel in Leblon and Ipanema districts which offers complimentary wireless internet access to all of its guests. Concerning the noise, rest assured that when visiting us again, you will have an even more pleasant stay, since we are installing new soundproof windows in all rooms!
Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back very soon - take care!

Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#90 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,551 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,443 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#42 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,170 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#25 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
289 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#8 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £76 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing