We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #28 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Have been staying at this hotel, two to three night on sixth floor street side room. Room was small, the pillows were awful, no shampoo in bathroom and…. NO hot water most of the time. That is unacceptable!!!
Staff wasn’t very friendly and helpful when I ask about direction to some place. Nothing special.
What I like in that hotel is the bar and pool on the roof with great views on street and favelas.
It is also very close to Copacabana (5 minutes walk). I would not recommend that hotel, there is many better choices in Copacabana, however dinner and food in general was delicious (like everywhere in Brazil), but that is only my opinion. You can always eat in many other restaurants on Copacabana.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    494
    178
    46
    18
See reviews for
321
402
48
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hersonissos, Greece
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I notice that sole travellers like myself have given this hotel a 'poor' rating so I am wondering whether we get different rooms??

However here goes...

I stayed here for the New Year celebrations last weekend.......Arriving late as is usual these days.

The location is convenient for the beach although it is at the wrong end of Copacabana, Although I fail to see why anyone would want to go and sit on Copacabana Beach. There is a shortage of restaurants around this area, apart from rather seedy 'fast food' places, so you will have to walk a little way along Av. Copacabana one block back from the sea to find a restaurant, the further you go towards Ipanema the better.

The hotel gives a reasonable impression in the lobby, but unfortunately it was built some years ago so the rooms themselves are somewhat drab and dull although the bed was comfortable, but was considerably narrower than the space provided for it so you nearly fell out of bed reaching out to turn off the bedside light.

In common with nearly everyone that I met who actually comes from Rio itself, the staff were unfriendly and having travelled through Peru, Chile, and Argentina it came as something of a surprise that no one bothers to say Good Morning, Evening, or whatever in any language.

At breakfast the 'greeter' on the restaurant floor merely thrusts a pen at you and points at the sheet of paper for you to write your room number on, the number of people having breakfast, the time, and your signature. During my four day stay the neither the porters or reception staff even acknowledged me, which is surprising the problem I had with my bathroom.

The breakfast was OK although I had been spoilt in Peru and Chile by fresh juices and these clearly were not, the waiters do have a tendency to take your plate away while you are still eating off it.

On New Year;'s Eve afternoon I reported to reception that my toilet did not flush, I am sorry if you find this a bit unsavoury, but the remains of the previous day's food were still in the bowl, it was still not fixed on New Year's Day until I asked about it again, when it was fixed. In the meantime I had to use the toilet down in the lobby. I am amazed that the house keeping staff had not reported this before I even got there.

For an hotel that charges this sort of price you would also expect that you would be able to get a decent shower but I doubt if the shower head had been cleaned out for years.

Like everywhere these days all the lights are energy saving, so much so that two of them didn't work, something that was not really important as all they would do is illuminate two water stained pictures on the wall...As it happened on the day before I was leaving, for reasons I do not understand they started to work. They worked so well that that I could not work out how to turn them off so on the last night I got on a chair and took the bulbs out.

The hotel 'rules' say 'No noise after 10pm'...On two nights of my stay I was woken by the sound of children playing games in the hallway outside my room, on the second night I was woken at 1.30am by the sound of two women and a man having an argument in the hall, apparently about money, presumably this was the two prostitutes that I saw entering one of the rooms earlier that night.

I took a video of the shower and blocked toilet...Maybe I should put them on YouTube??

Room Tip: Get one at the back away from the motorway that passes the front, or stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitselakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Room service and food is terrible
Rooms are very dirty the never get cleaned up we stayed 15 days the first night my son spilled milk and 3 days later the smell was awfull because it went bad in the bed never changed it!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cutefati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macaé, Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Good hotel at Copacabana, although not so close to the beach. It's kind of gloomy, the staff is good but not very nice (as usually in Brazil) and the rooms are not very spacious. The diner is great. It's clean and everything works fine. It has free high speed Internet (one of best I've ever seen at hotels - I could download entire movies).

Room Tip: The highest, the best. The street is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo_Barros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Seconds away from the beach, Merlin has a nice little pool and rooftop bar with a great view down the road to the beach.

Spacious rooms, but nothing special. Only soap provided is an all purpose hand/body/hair shampoo in a dispenser in the shower and next to the sink.

It was exactly what I needed at the time, a hot shower and space to spread out my stuff and plan the next part of my trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Been there for two nights. Extreemly good location, just 5 minutes walk from the Copacabana strip.
But the hotel itself is in a dire need for renovation, rooms big but very poor. First time in many years that I didn't find a Shampoo in my room.
Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kobiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopcaledonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is my employers hotel o choice in Rio. It is very standard and nothing special. Also expect a per night charge for use of the on room safe

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coopcaledonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Best Western Plus Copacabana Design Hotel
Best Western Plus Copacabana Des...
#51 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
212 reviews
Copacabana
Acapulco Copacabana
Acapulco Copacabana
#29 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
730 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#33 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#69 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,043 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#49 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Copacabana Hotel

Property: Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel N0 392 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merlin Copacabana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merlin Copacabana Hotel! In the heart of Rio de Janeiro at the world-famous Copacabana Beach, the Merlin Copacabana Hotel is ideally placed just minutes away from Rio's business district, tourist attractions, leisure and shopping areas. On business or holiday, guests will enjoy all the amenities needed to make their trip a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merlin Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merlin Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing