We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #27 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The only thing positive about this hotel is that the location is good otherwise the hotel is very old, noisy. It is very highly priced for the quality of stay offered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_milan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Good things: Location, Clean Rooms, Free Wifi
Bad Things: Poor room service, Complimentary breakfast not quite good. Staff not very helpful except one or two. Needs renovation.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the street. Eat outside. There are many restaurants within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saumitrasengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Looking a little tired, and rooms stark and lacking furniture and 'warmth'.
On a very busy road and near the red light area, we were told; but little evidence immediatley around. More down in the beach area if that is what you want!!
Get a room at the back if possible to reduce noise. Staff friendly and pool area ok, if a little lacking in choice of drinks. Breakfast ok, if some of the choices a little unusual for a British taste.
Not a bad experience but would probably not hurry back.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The location is great, you can really walk to the beach, but too old hotel, need some renovation. Staff was very noisy in the morning with cleaning equipments.
Elefator didn't work right.
Wouldn't like to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaCOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Have been staying at this hotel, two to three night on sixth floor street side room. Room was small, the pillows were awful, no shampoo in bathroom and…. NO hot water most of the time. That is unacceptable!!!
Staff wasn’t very friendly and helpful when I ask about direction to some place. Nothing special.
What I like in that hotel is the bar and pool on the roof with great views on street and favelas.
It is also very close to Copacabana (5 minutes walk). I would not recommend that hotel, there is many better choices in Copacabana, however dinner and food in general was delicious (like everywhere in Brazil), but that is only my opinion. You can always eat in many other restaurants on Copacabana.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I notice that sole travellers like myself have given this hotel a 'poor' rating so I am wondering whether we get different rooms??

However here goes...

I stayed here for the New Year celebrations last weekend.......Arriving late as is usual these days.

The location is convenient for the beach although it is at the wrong end of Copacabana, Although I fail to see why anyone would want to go and sit on Copacabana Beach. There is a shortage of restaurants around this area, apart from rather seedy 'fast food' places, so you will have to walk a little way along Av. Copacabana one block back from the sea to find a restaurant, the further you go towards Ipanema the better.

The hotel gives a reasonable impression in the lobby, but unfortunately it was built some years ago so the rooms themselves are somewhat drab and dull although the bed was comfortable, but was considerably narrower than the space provided for it so you nearly fell out of bed reaching out to turn off the bedside light.

In common with nearly everyone that I met who actually comes from Rio itself, the staff were unfriendly and having travelled through Peru, Chile, and Argentina it came as something of a surprise that no one bothers to say Good Morning, Evening, or whatever in any language.

At breakfast the 'greeter' on the restaurant floor merely thrusts a pen at you and points at the sheet of paper for you to write your room number on, the number of people having breakfast, the time, and your signature. During my four day stay the neither the porters or reception staff even acknowledged me, which is surprising the problem I had with my bathroom.

The breakfast was OK although I had been spoilt in Peru and Chile by fresh juices and these clearly were not, the waiters do have a tendency to take your plate away while you are still eating off it.

On New Year;'s Eve afternoon I reported to reception that my toilet did not flush, I am sorry if you find this a bit unsavoury, but the remains of the previous day's food were still in the bowl, it was still not fixed on New Year's Day until I asked about it again, when it was fixed. In the meantime I had to use the toilet down in the lobby. I am amazed that the house keeping staff had not reported this before I even got there.

For an hotel that charges this sort of price you would also expect that you would be able to get a decent shower but I doubt if the shower head had been cleaned out for years.

Like everywhere these days all the lights are energy saving, so much so that two of them didn't work, something that was not really important as all they would do is illuminate two water stained pictures on the wall...As it happened on the day before I was leaving, for reasons I do not understand they started to work. They worked so well that that I could not work out how to turn them off so on the last night I got on a chair and took the bulbs out.

The hotel 'rules' say 'No noise after 10pm'...On two nights of my stay I was woken by the sound of children playing games in the hallway outside my room, on the second night I was woken at 1.30am by the sound of two women and a man having an argument in the hall, apparently about money, presumably this was the two prostitutes that I saw entering one of the rooms earlier that night.

I took a video of the shower and blocked toilet...Maybe I should put them on YouTube??

Room Tip: Get one at the back away from the motorway that passes the front, or stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitselakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Room service and food is terrible
Rooms are very dirty the never get cleaned up we stayed 15 days the first night my son spilled milk and 3 days later the smell was awfull because it went bad in the bed never changed it!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cutefati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
#57 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,064 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,081 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#30 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,074 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#36 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
780 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Copacabana Hotel

Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel N0 392 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £41 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merlin Copacabana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merlin Copacabana Hotel! In the heart of Rio de Janeiro at the world-famous Copacabana Beach, the Merlin Copacabana Hotel is ideally placed just minutes away from Rio's business district, tourist attractions, leisure and shopping areas. On business or holiday, guests will enjoy all the amenities needed to make their trip a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Merlin Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merlin Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing