We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old place on the wrong side of copacabana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #28 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old place on the wrong side of copacabana”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

The hotel is in a busy street next to the tunnel to Botafogo, the walk to the beach is relatively short but I would not recommend anyone to do that at night, some dodgy dark corners do not feel too safe.
The hotel must have been very majestic in the 40's, too bad that no one took the time to refresh the deco or the rooms, we stayed in a room on the inner side of the hotel, towards the "morro", which was good because the street side is very noisy.
The staff had a general sense of indifference towards the guests and the breakfast was mediocre, we had much better food at simplier pousadas.
Locationwise it's relatively close to the beach (some 500m), but if you want to reach the better spots it's quite a walk, ipanema and leblon are reachable only by taxi or other mean of transport.
We stayed at the Merling using miles from AAdvantage (miles program from American Airlines, very little choice of hotels in Rio), so pricewise I don't know how the Merlin does, but if they charge more than R$ 300,00 / night it's a ripoff.
We did not hate our stay, but back in Rio we will definetly choose a better place on the Ipanema/Leblon side of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_S012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    488
    177
    46
    18
See reviews for
307
396
47
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Merlin Copacabana hotel is located on the Avenida Princesa Isabel, which is very very busy and just near the tunnel connecting Copacabana and Ipanema to the center of Rio. But in my room on the back side, I had absolutely no problem of noise...
The hotel is only some 200 m from the Copacabana/Leme beach. There are a lot of shops and restaurants around.
The room was very spacious and nice, but the furniture was a bit old. Excellent and big bed.
Good and friendly service.
Good breakfast and restaurant.
Horribly slow WiFi, but then they gave me a cable and that worked rather well.

Room Tip: Ask for a back side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vangrieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed three nights in this hotel in connection with a business trip to Rio, and was very disappointed. You get twice as high quality for this price in many other hotels. The room is really outdated and totally lacks atmosphere. Stone floor, radio from the 1970's and lack of furniture. It was almost not possible to open your computer at the office desk and there was no office chair at all. The lift to the higher floors were constantly occupied, so you have to wait a lot. Do not be fooled by the photo of the swimming pool, as the pool is really too small for swimming. And worst of all, my room on the 9th floor was REALLY noisy. It was just like the traffic was coming right into your room. There is a 10 minute walk down to the beach, but the selection of restaurants and so on was really disappointing. The hotel claims to have free WiFi, but it must have been turned off in the period 8PM to 6AM each day. It was useless, and when we complained to the hotel staff, they just said we could try it from the lobby. But, it was never a problem with the signal....it was the speed. It gave me a lot of practical problems when you are on a business trip and need to keep in touch with your company. I can really not recommend this hotel, but at the same time people told me that it was one of the better hotels in this area. Unbelievable.

Room Tip: Do not take any of the outer rooms, as you will be very annoyed with the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ratata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

The hotel is comfortable but dated in areas, clean and tidy but also a busy location. Breakfast is a wide variety of fruit and other things. Didn't really have the hot food, stuck with rolls and honey and coffee along with cereal. The traffic can be noisy so try and get a high floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TroublePunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

Good hotel with good location, Bt it's near red light area. it's not safe to be out late at night with valuables that what we were told. the beach is very near to the hotel, but the waves r quite big for enjoying there. Apart from that the lady at the front desk is nice n help ful, but the old guy who's looks are typical Brazilian is not at all good. When asked him abt any message from company, he said look inside ur room.. It was very funny for a receptionist saying this to his guest. Over all it was good stay coz of the location n weather.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macbhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Very helpful and pleasant front desk staff.
Curious long ugly bedroom - reminiscent of boarding house dormitory - comfy enough bed - room for almost 3 more King beds in here. Or a ping-pong table and bar.
Couple of VERY odd ceiling lights whose switches were hidden on the face of a defunct radio unit - took me three days to master the tactile art of turning them on/off!!! What a stupid system!!!!!
Tiny bathroom. Have to almost stand on the loo to open the door wide enough to pass through. Ghastly toiletries. Superb gushing shower (having come from water-saving Melbourne).
Very inconsistent (though free) WiFi.
Very good spread for the included breakfast - excellent endless coffee.
Very good dinner restaurant - good wine list.
Hotel suggestion of "ViaCopa" day tour was superb value - they really took great care to give you a good Rio experience.
Excellently placed for Copa Beach access - best asset.
Good rooftop pool and bar.
Great caipirinha maker behind the mezzanine bar - yum!
Final checkout efficient and painless

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here recently for a few days. Good location only a few blocks from the Copacabana/Leme end of the beach. Close to Tunel Novo, and Rio Sul shopping mall. Classic restaurant/take out sandwich place Cervantes is not far away, across Princesa Isabel (try their steak sandwich topped with an astonishingly thick slice of pate), and taxis are easy to hail.

There are various small stores nearby, including a grocery and a pharmacy, if you've forgotten any sundries, or want to purchase your own beverages to stock the small fridge in the room.

The hotel is definitely older, and rooms are noisy - you can hear your neighbors pretty easily. Beds are a little hard, but the room was scrupulously clean. Water pressure was good. My room was at the back of the building, where there wasn't any street noise - I'd recommend that location over the front. The elevators are quite slow. The AC worked and was relatively quiet.

It's not luxurious accommodation by any means, but it was okay value. They do have free wi fi, but the network would often drop. The breakfast was typical continental breakfast, but the fruit salad was fresh and good. The hotel has a restaurant, and they post the menu in the elevator, but I did not get a chance to try it.

The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly at all times, and patiently answered "where's the nearest...." kinds of questions, as well as expedited laundry service for me.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (close to the hill) are much more quiet than those on the Avenida.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Best Western Plus Copacabana Design Hotel
Best Western Plus Copacabana Des...
#41 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Copacabana
Acapulco Copacabana
Acapulco Copacabana
#27 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#57 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Copacabana Hotel

Property: Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel N0 392 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merlin Copacabana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merlin Copacabana Hotel! In the heart of Rio de Janeiro at the world-famous Copacabana Beach, the Merlin Copacabana Hotel is ideally placed just minutes away from Rio's business district, tourist attractions, leisure and shopping areas. On business or holiday, guests will enjoy all the amenities needed to make their trip a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merlin Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merlin Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing