We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$565
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$203
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Promenade Palladium(Rio de Janeiro)
US$185
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Barra(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Transamerica Prime Barra(Rio de Janeiro)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sol Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$250
US$226
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Granada(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brisa Barra Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apa Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveller rating
657
564
189
52
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
564
189
52
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprincesa isabelvery pleased with our staymeat and cheeselocation is brilliantshort walk from the beachbig bedfresh towelsmain roadspacious roomthe hotel staffcheap hotelstayed two nightsfew blocksnice hotelrio experiencecopacabanaroof
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. Good location, but hotel is very dated. Nothing quite worked as it is meant to do. The previous occupant had left a toe nail in the bathroom which was still there even after the room had been cleaned 3 times!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Cathy172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Merlin Copacaban was a nice finding for me after so many years of spending lotsa money staying in front of the beach. For a business trip it is ideal. Good, spacious rooms, very good breakfast and a nice restaurant. Staff is friendly enough, and you are a few blocks from Copacabana beach and in a good position to access downtown Rio by taxi. Worth a try.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room in the back, overlooking the greenery of the mountain.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed in so many Copa hotels and can categorically state that unless you are willing to pay $300 for a room, most hotels are like the Merlin with great staff but dated everything else and very expensive.

I went there for a week during a business trip. The positives: I liked the location, Copacabana is very old with dated but Prince Isabel Avenue worked greatly for me. This area has unkept architecture but great pubs and quanit restaurants and it is also nice to have a place 30 seconds from the beach for a daily jog. It is also easy to take a $10 cab to downtown with no stop lights on the way. The staff was as old as the hotel but very nice and helpful.

The negatives were that the room they gave me had a loud (those central type vents) A/C that kept up me up; to make it worse, no wifi in my room. The sheets and towels were clean but old and used up adding to the unpleasant feeling of paying $150 for what?

Room Tip: Dont stay in the rooms facing the Avenue, at 6:30am the noise starts. I stayed in rooms ending with 02 (front) before changing for rooms staying in 12 (better). Choose those.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavia Brum F, Reservations On Line at Merlin Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to know how was your stay at Merlin Copacabana Hotel, as well as suggestions to better serve you in your future lodging.

Please, provide a minute of your time to share your review, your opinion is very important to us.

Again thank you for choosing the Merlin Copacabana hotel, hope you come back again soon.

Sincerely,

Merlin Copacabana Hotel

Flávia B. Furtado – Reservas On Line
E-mail:mercadoeletronico@redemerlinn.com.br
Tel.(21) 2132-1019 – (21) 2132-1000
End.Av. Princesa Isabel, nº392
Rio de Janeiro – RJ. Brasil
Cep.:22.011-010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel has marble floors, gold platings and lots of mirrors. It is like walking into a hotel from the 50s. Our room was clean and spacious. However, the bathroom smelled like urine and our shower leaked onto the floor so there was a huge puddle of water when you got out. Valeria, a receptionist, spoke excellent English and was very helpful. The other receptionists, not so much. Wifi is NOT free. The breakfast which was included had variety and was good. However, the waiters seemed in a hurry for us to leave and would not let us take any food to our rooms.
The room service was fast but the soup tasted weird one time....
I personally would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jopasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife whilst she was on a business trip in July 2013. The hotel lobby is very posh and one gets the impression of a 4+ star hotel. Yet the room is quite ordinary, with somewhat shabby furniture and not particularly good views (as compared to another stay at another hotel further south in Copacabana, where we could lie on our beds in the room looking straight at the Christ the Redeemer statue!).

The shower/bathroom was not of a very good standard, either.

The breakfast, though, was quite good for Brazil (although we have had much better breakfasts on other trips around the world).

All in all this hotel deserves little more than a 3/5.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axeforro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews