We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on Copacabana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #78 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hotel at Ipanema end of CopacabanaHotel Beach. The hotel has a nice entrance lobby and small bar area at the front. The staff were very friendly and helpful without fault. The breakfast was great with a good selection of fruit, cheeses, hams and cooked breakfast options.

The room I stayed in was fit for purpose but nothing more although I did pay extra for the beach view. Given the views at the side of the hotel look onto poor looking shabby buildings, I would not recommend staying in any other rooms. So upgrade is advised. All rooms have free Internet unless you are going to be downloading and sending large files, when you will have to pay a premium. I had no problems over the four days of my stay. Final comment on rooms with a view is that it can get noisy given windows are only single glazed. That said I slept fine.

The one area that really let the Hotel down, was my experience with dinner. The food was nothing short of terrible, which was a bit of a shock after experiencing a very good breakfast. My advice is don't dine at the hotel in the evening.
The hotel has a small gym and a postage stamp pool, more like a plunge pool. You cannot swim in it! The view from the roof top sun lounge area is fantastic and more should be made of this by the hotel.

The location is excellent for access to both of the best beaches in Rio, namely CopacabanaHotel and Ipanema. Good access to shops and I felt safe in this area of Rio.

Room Tip: Beach front room and a higher floor will help with the noise issue. 13 floors so 6 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritchieWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

The location is perfect.
But why do they have so tiny rooms?
There were available rooms, so an upgrade was possible.
But why charge 50 Reals for a larger room?
Avoid the rooms without sea view, you feel invaded by the favellas when you open the window. Very depressing.
The hotel needs to complete its refurbishment. The breakfast room is fine, and so is the breakfast. But rooms are still old fashion.
Nice people, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Copacabana view or die
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillytoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Besides its amazing view from the swimming pool, this hotel offers, very good service, a delicious breakfast and very friendly service. The room was very clean and comfortable. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The address is very good, but the room was very small and the bathroom very dark, they need more light. The soap was so small that didn't last the first shower, and the shampoo felt like water, no foam at all.
But it is very close from Forte de Copacabana and by sea shore, that worse a lot

Room Tip: Some room have a view, but they are few, and the rooms facing the very back are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jupenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

After several mixed experiences with other accommodation in Rio, we booked the Orla Copacabana. Situated in the best part of Copacabana (one might also say the only acceptable part of Copacabana), this hotel on Avenida Atlantica boasts some nice rooms with a great view on the ocean and the Copacabana (you can see a magnificent sunrise if you get up early enough and the weather is good), a silent air conditioner that works well, and bathrooms that are serviceable but nothing special.

The arrival experience was a little...unusual. Expecting someone from the doorman's staff to take care of the car with which we came, we were surprised to hear that the hotel does not help with parking. You have to sort yourself out. There are six parking spaces allegedly reserved for the hotel, on which you may park for up to 12h paying the normal Rio parking ticket (cartao azul), but then, my impression was that the spaces were used by other people as well and it was pretty difficult to find an empty spot anywhere near the hotel. Thus, DON'T COME BY CAR or try to find a parking lot somewhere... This experience was all the more unusual as most restaurants in Rio have a valet parking service. Well, the hotel does not.

Other than that - internet: the "free" option is slow, but ok. Breakfast was included in our rate, and consists of a buffet that is ok (a bit short on cereals and yoghurt), scrambled eggs are good and so was the bacon, the coffee....we preferred to order a double espresso since I found the coffee undrinkable, but then, I may be spoiled.

Service is good by Rio standards (but only average by normal standards).

Room Tip: Try to get a room with ocean view. More expensive, but how often do you come to Rio??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschuette4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Orla Copacabana is a very nice hotel, in a fantastic location with helpful staff. The rooftop pool is wonderful, especially when Copacabana beach gets packed. Ipanema beach is just a few blocks away. Ipanema Beach and it's sunsets are truly worth the short walk to go experience and see. The rooms are quite small and dark if you are not facing the ocean but let's be honest, are you in Rio to hang out in the room? The room above the standard room is more like the size of an american hotel. Breakfast is not great but get's the job done. Compared to the prices of other beachfront hotels researched this was the most affordable and we were happy with the results.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAfootPrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were 6 women in Rio for just 2 days. The hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and safe. Every time we were leaving the front door staff talked to us about where we were going and made suggestions on our safety. Front desk staff were more then friendly and helpful. Hotel had a perfect location. If I ever return I will stay at the Orla, but will spend the extra money for the rooms with the same view as the deck at the top. Our rooms were were clean and very quiet. Who does to Rio to stay in the rooms?

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the view if you are there for a romantic visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackiel332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#74 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,059 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#89 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,372 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#54 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,998 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,056 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orla Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orla Copacabana Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £62 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orla Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orla Copacabana Hotel is just off famous Copacabana beach, a half-mile from Ipanema Beach and downtown Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Highlights at include hotel-wide complimentary WiFi Internet access, a rooftop swimming pool, poolside bar, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orla Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orla Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Orla Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing