We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok value, clean, but rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #81 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok value, clean, but rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

This hotel is located right on the border of Copacabana and Ipanema, so the location is pretty good. I did not feel unsafe at all (but tried not to walk around after dark too much, especially if no one was around). In general the hotel was clean and relativley nice for the price, although the shower could have been a little nicer. We had a "delux" room, which had no view, but was a good size for two people. My biggest complaint about this place was the staff, as they were not very friendly at all. In addition, whenever we asked for advice on where to go or eat, they would only recommend places they would get a cut from. They recommended the Plataforma dinner and tour. I highly recommend you DO NOT take this. The resturaunt was really bad, worse than even the crappiest churascuria I've been to in the states (and the tour was expensive). The show was just OK, but bad for the price. I would recommend just researching and finding better resturaunts and shows to go to on your own. Don't rely on this hotel for advice. The view from the top was the best part of the hotel. They charge $4R a day for the safe, which isnt that bad.

As for Rio, Ipanema and leblon are defeniltey nicer beaches compared to copa, but copa has cheaper drinks and stuff for sale on the beach. Christ the redemer and sugar loaf shouldnt be missed, but beware at sugar loaf, they wont take credit card unless you have ID on you!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjg896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    657
    284
    78
    40
See reviews for
228
578
79
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

I had a good luck ordering a double deluxe room with a seaview, so the view from the room was breathtaking (it would have been spectacular, if one could open the windows in any other way than from below). The whole of the beach is right in front of you, with the historical fort within 100 m, two-three blocks to Ipanema and a fantastic view of the Sugar Loaf. The other rooms were claustrophobically small - so splash out (the nearby Sofitel has balconies where one can sit and enjoy the views).
Bathrooms are small and entrance into the shower stall is somewhat limited. Anybody with the waistline more than 38" should think twice about squeezing themselves into the narrow opening between the glass sliding doors.
Breakfast is copious and satisfying, especially since it is free : ) The pool on the top of the hotel is VERY small, but serves as a good viewing platform for those who stay in rooms with no view whatsoever. Deposit safes are R4 per day, keep that in mind. IF you decide to leave luggage downstairs keep in mind that it may spill onto the vestibule area where everyone has free access to it. Lock it securely
Nearby restaurants are open 24/7, portions are gargantuan, prices are ok. So is food.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyValera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We arrived to an extremely friendly welcome. Our room was not ready so we went upstairs to the miniscule pool which had a good view of Rio.

The rooms are small and nothing special. They have the feel of a modern boutique hotel. We had no view so the room was dark. Our air conditioner did not work correctly, so we actually slept in a different room the first night. The next day they tried to fix it, but it still did not work correctly so they moved our room to another floor. The room was identical to our previous one.

The best part of this hotel was its breakfast. The fresh fruit was abundant and phenomenal.

The location was good because it was at the end of Copacabana closer to Ipanema. Ipanema has the better restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjenjeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollebygd
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

I can really recommend this hotel.
Our stay was fantastic.
Staff was very kind and helpful.
I was upgrade to Master suite with no extra cost.
My klients had all ocean wiev.
Thanks.
Coming back

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BollebygdBullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

The Orla Copacabana is just fine for business, if you're not planning on being in the room much. The rooms are tiny, and as other reviewers have noted, "extras" abound -- in a city like Rio, you shouldn't have to pay for a room safe, but here you do. The breakfast buffet is good, but very pricey. WiFi is listed as a benefit, but it didn't work in the rooms, only the lobby.

The location is good-- right where Copacabana meets Ipanema -- but a rather poor part of the strip for restaurants, really.

I got a good rate because I was part of an off-season convention in Rio. Bus service to the convention location was included from this location, so it was convenient. But if I was going back to Rio for leisure travel, I would consider another location, and a bigger, international hotel for the sake of services, safety, etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theaquitaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

I had an ocean view room for 4 nights.. Checkin slow but the hotel and staff excellent. No complaints at all and would stay here on any future trips to Rio...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed there for 3 nights in January 2010. Excellent location overlooking full lenght of Copacabana beach with Sugarloaf mountain in the distance. You get this view from the roof top podium or from a Deluxe room - which was our choice. The room was spacious, clean and met our expectations for the price. Staff was very helpful and spoke good English as their second or third language. Free WiFi and breakfast, which was excellent, could not believe the choice on offer. Safe in the room (extra charge) . Minibar in the room came handy to keep our supply of local beer, wine and champagne chilled. The Ipanema beach is just around the corner! Shopping, Supermarkets, Restaurants are just a few minutes walk away.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Twin single beds pushed together do not make a good double bed.
  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VisitorXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#45 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#56 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#47 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orla Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orla Copacabana Hotel

Property: Orla Copacabana Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orla Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orla Copacabana Hotel is just off famous Copacabana beach, a half-mile from Ipanema Beach and downtown Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Highlights at include hotel-wide complimentary WiFi Internet access, a rooftop swimming pool, poolside bar, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orla Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orla Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Orla Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing