We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copacabana Beach & Corcovado Mountain/Sugarloaf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
Ranked #77 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Copacabana Beach & Corcovado Mountain/Sugarloaf”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Walking distance to the beach, very active at night. The tour to Corcovado Mountain, Sugarloaf also including an excellent lunch was awesome. The tour bus picks you up at the hotel and an English speaking knowledgable guide able to speak spanish as well made our trip a lot of fun. Breakfast was available at the restuarant in the hotel, and outdoor small pool made this vacation memorable for my husband and I. However, check prices for laundry cleaning before you leave many items with the hotel staff. A laundry is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    313
    158
    32
    27
See reviews for
122
265
63
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here before we boarded our cruise,we had four days in Rio...The hotel was very good ,staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good, a good choice of food and very well presented..The room were ok need alittle up dating ,but very clean and the beds were very comfortable.Very easy access to the beautiful beach,HSBC bank a few blocks away from the hotel and small supermarket nearby.The main road was very busy all day and most of the evening,but we could not hear the traffic noise.We booked a taxi to take us to Sugar loaf mountain and Christ the Redeemer and tour round Rio.he was a great guy and his English was very good ,so he could explain to us all about what we were seeing.It cost use 300 Rial for the day,which was well worth it...I would not advise anybody to go out day or night wearing Gold jewelery ...Three people who were staying in the hotel ,had the chain ripped from their necks and that was in broad daylight.You have to be very careful ,there is alot of crime ,with pickpockets and people that snatch bags and jewelery.Don't carry too much money ,only take out what you need.Just be on your guard at all times .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yorkypud1726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East coast
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Augusto's Rio Copa hotel. We arrived before noon and requested adjoining rooms. We got these rooms on the 6th floor, although only one was ready when we arrived (about 11 AM). It was just a short while later that the other room was ready and the staff unlocked he adjoining door. One room was a standard room, while the other had a sitting area in it also.

There was a 4-digit combination safe in the room,, and a mini-fridge. The bathroom was acceptably clean, as was the room. The WiFi worked well for us. The breakfast was good. We were not bothered by noise from the street even though we were facing it.

The location was very good. It is near the tunnel from Copacabana beach to the Sugarloaf area. There are many buses that pass the hotel, and if we had stayed longer, we would have investigated and used them a lot. But our time was short, so we were using taxis. BTW, the taxis are now a lot safer than when we visited in 1998. They still do drive through red lights at night, as does just about all traffic (buses included), as this goes back to when you could be robbed if you stopped at a red light.

The staff was helpful, and as another reviewer pointed out, there is an HSBC a couple of blocks down the road to the beach which has multiple ATMs.

The staff held our bags in their storage room, since there was quite a bit of time between the check out time, and when we actually had to depart for the airport. We retrieved them with no problems.

We paid the flat rate fee of 80 Reals to go to the international airport upon departure. This eased our minds about traffic delays and any other unexpected glitches getting to the airport. But the cab had the meter going, and even though we were in a horrendous rush hour traffic jam (even our flight crew got delayed by it), the meter fare would have been about 65 Reals. Live and learn.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedo-goer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This isn't the best BW I've ever stayed at, but it filled more than the minimum requirements. The hotel is a little old, so the rooms are in need of update, but the breakfast was hot and the location was too. Not a bad place to start your days in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JOSHUA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is more a 3 stars hotel than 4 stars.
Room was clean but noisy (it is about time to replace the windows with more modern windows..) and the location is great - transportation is accessable.
Breakfast was very good

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NirMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location is great, staff is friendly, breakfast is simple and rooms are ok. However, It is a little noisy at night and I don't think it is worth the price. Rooms smell weird and are not as clean as they could be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great value hotel, a little tired and rooms need refurbishing . Plumbing also suspect particularly the toilets.
Reception friendly and helpful, few more smiles would be great.
The location is excellent and we felt very safe in the area.
Expect a good 3 Star hotel not a 4 Star .
Would stay again after refurbishment .

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4589712j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#76 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
865 reviews
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#28 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,286 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
#65 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#57 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
815 reviews
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#135 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
127 reviews
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#88 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel

Property: Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel 370 | Copacabana Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-010, Brazil (Formerly Rio Copa Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel is located just two blocks away from the world famous Copacabana beach. We are the ideal choice for visitors wishing to stay near the major Rio de Janeiro attractions. The Rio Copa Hotel offers wonderfully decorated rooms, full Service Restaurant, swimming pool and meeting facilities. Enjoy one of the world's favorite tourist destinations at the Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Copa Best Western
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing