We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location; Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
Ranked #77 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Location; Good Hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Good hotel overall. Standard Brazilian buffet breakfast, 5 minute walk to Copacabana beach, free (although very slow) computer in the lobby, basic but clean rooms. Pool is slightly bigger than a postage stamp, but it is outdoors on the top floor--a nice spot to sit and relax. Hotel faces the very very busy Avenida Princesa Isabel. The buses never seem to stop. Ask for a room up and facing the back--was as peaceful and quiet as could be! Surprisingly almost total absence in the hotel of any tourist brochures, maps, flyers, etc. that one would expect in a city as popular as Rio. Travelled with my 14 year old son--we would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowzitMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    313
    158
    32
    27
See reviews for
122
265
63
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here for a few nights on my own. A five minute walk to the Copacabana and I felt quite safe walking around the area solo at night. Nice views from the 'pool' (bathtub) on the roof. Good staff and really you get what you pay for - not too plush, not too central. Breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spudyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2008

The Rio Copa was great! We were there for 1 week. It was an easy walk to the beach. There was a view of the beach from the pool area on the roof.
The breakfast was good buffet style 1 hot dish then breads and cereals etc. Breakfast service was excellent. The overall service in the hotel was excellent.
We do not speak portuguese but many of the staff speaks very good english. They were more than helpful. They reccomended restaurants in the area that were good bargins. Good tours and very happy to have us there.
The rooms are small but very clean and modernized. There are bellhops, security and plenty of waitstaff very eager to help.
We found the Rio Copa to be very pleasant for the money. Would definitely reccomend and we would gladly return there again.

  • Liked — The Service was Excellent!
  • Disliked — Fitness room and pool were modest
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshireDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Mones, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2008

Previous entries have been mixed. Best Western has bought the Rio Copa so it's now the Best Western Rio Copa. It is stragetically located to bus/metro/taxi locations. Take your pick. Recent renovations have elevated them to a 4-star rating. I stayed during Carnival so I was soaked at $200 a night during the "big nights" but the drop to $99 my final 2 nights was, I think, a bargain. Excellent breakfast buffet 6a-10a. Rooms clean, great shower (very hot), helpful staff (pretty good English & knew which buses to take to go where), and I can fault nothing. Give them a look-see.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Savvy English
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DanSewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

So, this was my first time in Rio so I wanted to get to know all the different hoods such as Copacabana and Ipanema, therefore I booked for 4 nights at mar ipanema hotel and 3 nights at BW Rio Copa Hotel! both hotels were very nice. The rooms at Rio Copa are slightly bigger though and also nice decorated. The location is very nice, a lot of tourists told it was the best part of Copacabana (Leme or something I can't remeber). I was very weary about the BW Rio Copa hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews but when i got there I couldn't understand why is it so poorly rated. The staff is really nice, specialy the clening ladies and the frontdesk officers.
The hotel is next to the copacabana beach which is very wide and wonderful. Also it is next to the biggest mall in rio, called Rio Sul.
The hotel's restaurant is a brand-new one and has excellent buffet!
hope you enjoy it!!

  • Liked — Wonderful pool
  • Disliked — Internet (Just to say something-didn't get to use it)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfreak000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Booked with hotel via email and Skype. Gave credit card details. Hotel refused to organise a car to meet me at the airport. Can't be bothered to use Yellow Pages. After I had left Australia the hotel then wanted a photo copy of my credit card (front and back) or the wouldn't keep the room. "It is the law" they said - Rubbish. No local currency held at front desk so I paid the cab in $US - Bloke on front desk watched the Cabbie try and rip me off etc. (Always have $US in small denominations). Room with own air-con that noisily cut in and out. Curtains smaller than the window. Lots of street noise and flashing signs. Stayed one night and rented an apartment. Best Western's toll free don't want to know about any problems unless the booking was made using them. Ho hum.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Not enough space.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8002reverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2007

Rio Copa Hotel was overall ok.
The rooms are ok. Not very modern but clean.
The breakfast is a really Brazilian style with lot of fruits and all kind of breads. The price is a bit expensive but seems to be that is Brazilian economy to be growing enormously.

  • Liked — Next to the Hot Zone!!!
  • Disliked — Too much time to check out!! Almost an hour
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frankwoods68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#76 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
865 reviews
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#28 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,286 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
#65 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#57 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
815 reviews
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#135 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
127 reviews
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#88 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel

Property: Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel 370 | Copacabana Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-010, Brazil (Formerly Rio Copa Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel is located just two blocks away from the world famous Copacabana beach. We are the ideal choice for visitors wishing to stay near the major Rio de Janeiro attractions. The Rio Copa Hotel offers wonderfully decorated rooms, full Service Restaurant, swimming pool and meeting facilities. Enjoy one of the world's favorite tourist destinations at the Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Copa Best Western
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing