We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars is about right for this property.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Palace Hotel
Ranked #33 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked this property on Hotwire.com for a short trip to Rio. It was listed a 3.5 stars and that was a fair description of the property. Located just in from Post One in Copacabana the location isn't the greatest but you can walk the beach. If you want to get to anywhere in Rio though, you'll have to be content to cab it. Another Windsor property is located on the beach and is priced accordingly.

The hotel provides a free breakfast which was tasty enough. It was obviously geared to local and European tastes but there was enough there to satisfy anyone. There was also free wi-fi which should be standard at all hotels.

The room was small, but comfortable enough. The bed was older but clean, and met expectations. Better bed-sheets would have been welcome. What was impressive was the water pressure in the shower. It took a layer of skin off and when turned up I could probably use it to pressure wash my driveway. Every bath amenity you could want was provided.

The service was better than 3.5 stars but I look to the room more than I look to the how nice the bellmen are.

In short if you go into this hotel expecting 3.5 stars you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 for 2 nights.

The bedroom and bathroom were both clean and nicely presented, although the wood panelling in the bedroom was looking a bit worse for wear. Air con worked well and there was plenty of space for storing my belongings, including a safe. Comfortable double bed (not two singles pushed together). Nice flat-screen TV with plenty of stations, though BBC World and CNN news were the only English language programmes; this wasn't really an issue because who wants to spend their entire holiday in a hotel room? Generic shampoo and conditioner available with a rickety but superb hairdryer!

Great location - one block away from Copacabana beach and about a 10min walk from Copacabana Palace hotel. As a result, all the touristy places were within easy reach but without all the noise. Actually, talking about noise, I had a room on the 7th floor facing the main street with a balcony. Unfortunately, even with the door closed there was always street noise drifting into my room - I could have asked for a room transfer, but just used ear plugs and that was fine.

Metro station very close-by, with a range of shops, supermarkets and restaurants all within walking distance.

Staff were very helpful at all times, especially on the front desk and in the restaurant. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of hot and cold foods. Small selection of food in the evening restaurant with a good service from the staff. Reasonably priced caipirinhas.

My only issue is that this 4* hotel has a 'business centre' where guests have to pay for internet access. Yes, it's only 25cents per minute, but why? Also, there is no printer available, so the front desk chap and I had to do a silly dance of sending emails back and forth to each other in order to print my document (it never materialised). Come on, WPH, sort this out!

Overall, I had a pleasant stay at this hotel and would happily use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GKG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very noisy hotel , no guest allowed in rooms . I paid for a room with two guest , they dd not allow me to bring my guest in . I also booked a queen size bed , they gave a double bed , I have to fight the next day to get what I paid for. Will never stay in this hotel again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

In general the stay in Windsor Palace is good. It is clean and the room is has enough space and light.
The service of the hotel is good. They are helpful. Internet is not the fastest thing there but that's general problem in Brazil.
Breakfast is ok, nothing special but not bad.
The fitness is small and with less devices but at least they are good. The pool is small but nice area for resting.

Room Tip: As high you stay as best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackpearl2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here in March, location was ok, hotel itself is ok, breakfast is good, staff are nice and very helpful. Our first room had bed bugs, we were quickly moved, rooms are basic but ok if its just for a few days. Unfortunately accommodation along with everything else in Brazil is very expensive!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location is very central and two blocks from the beach. The rooms themselves are not very luxurious and could use some serious updating, but then it would probably be much more expensive like the other hotels. People are nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet is very complete.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify the size of need desired. If not you will get 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexppg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is very close to Copacabana Beach and also to many good restaurants.

The reception staff were very helpful as regards information on attractions and how to get to them. They do offer tours, but to be quite honest it is easy and cheap to get round Rio using taxis and the main attractions do not need a guide.

The room was clean and very comfortable, with an enormous bed. There was a good variety of food for breakfast. The roof bar had very good views of the beach and if you peered round the corner you could see Cristo Redentor!

My only gripe was that the free WiFi was very flaky - one needs to put the latest pics of Rio on Facebook to show off the lovely city!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,173 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,090 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,474 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#29 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,659 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Domingos Ferreira 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050-012, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £41 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Palace
Windsor Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing