We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Palace Hotel
Ranked #37 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June for 5 nights and what a great stay it was,first the staff were just fantastic so polite nothing was ever too much for them always willing to help so thank you to all of them. The breakfast was lovely so much fresh fruit again the staff were very polite and helpful,the room was very good cleaned every day so all was good,Location could not be in a better place one street behind from the Beach and so many lovely restaurants around but please remember that in some of them although you think the price might be high it is for 2 of you so really good value,so I would recommend this hotel to anyone great place thank you to you all the staff for making our stay great.

Room Tip: Please do not ware any good jewellery that is on show,I just took costume jewellery so if it was sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Mae B,
Thanks for posting a review of your stay at Windsor Palace Hotel.
It's the most pleasent thing to hear from our guests they have enjoyed the service we provided. The vison of Windsor Hotels is to offer the best hospitality service in Brazil, and reviews like yours show us we're in right path.
Once again, thanks for your compliments and hope to be your option on your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Before we arrived to Brazil for the World's Cup, my son and I we were having problems finding a hotel well located and reasonably priced. . .It took us almost two months to find something that we wanted, the hotels were either way too expensive or their location was questionable. . .We were lucky to finally come across this property and could not believe it so we made the reservations and pre-paid for our stay at the time of booking. When we got to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised, the hotel was better than we expected, it was modern, classy, and very comfortable, it was like a small version of a Four Seasons in New York City. They are in Copacabana Beach section. Their included breakfast was buffet style, with linen napkins and silverware. Their food selection was great and their location could not be in a better section, only two blocks from all the bars, restaurants and shops. The Fan Fest tent was only two short blocks away, at the Beach in Copacabana. The staff was the only hotel staff that we came across in Brazil that spoke English and we were treated the way you expect to be treated any where in the world when you are a guest. We are already planning to book this hotel for 2016 when we will be attending the Olympics.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cyberpilot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Cyberpilot2014,
First of all, thanks for writting us a review of your stay. We're very please to know you have enjoyed your stay.
You'll be more than welcome to come back to stay here with us whenever you visit Rio de Janeiro!
Your compliments will be forward to all our staff.

Best Regards,
Gabriela Moreira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Was there during World Cup. Location is excellent - 3 min walk to Copacabana beach, a couple of good restaurants are almost next door. Safe place, easy to get to. Room was very small with window to quite noisy street, but during World Cup there was no choice. Breakfasts & service were very good. They also have a small pool, bar and tiny wet sauna on the top floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitry_Ivanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mr. Dmitry_Ivanov,

Thanks for spending your time posting a review of your stay at Windsor Palace Hotel.
Indeed, our location is priviledged. Close to restaurants and bars, banks, mail office, metro station, but specially the Copacabana Beach.
Compared to our standard rooms, the superior and superior Executive rooms are bigger. Usually we upgrade guests, free of charges, when their reservation is for long periods, like yours. But during the World Cup we were fully booked for almost 40 days straight, and had to block the room type according to what was reserved.
Hope you have another oportunity to visit our city and stay as our guest again. I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised

Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this was a business trip. When ever you go to Rio Safety must be kept in mind. right in the heart of Copacabana this hotel was wonderful. In America when we say 4 stars the hotel is veryyyyy veryyy nice. IN RIO when they say 4 stars kinda over rates it. only a few rooms on every floor..........4 to be exact...the staff was wonderful as they remembered our name every day anything we asked for was done right away... the beds were changed everyday... the bathrooms cleaned everyday new towels everyday....... bed was very comfortable. One night sitting at the roof top bar which had a wonderful view of the ocean we asked to stay opened later and they did.breakfast was fresh everyday fresh eggs fruit coffee teas juices cereals ..............fresh everyday. I started this off about safety issues. theyhave 24 hrs a day security at the front door......... and never once did i see someone who didnt belong in the hotel come into the hotel.On a scale of 1-10 ten being the tops i would give this a 7 plus rating......when i am back in rio in a few years i will stay here again.thank you windsor staff for making me feel like home

Room Tip: tip the front desk as i always do a 20 is fine every room faces the ocean you are on blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbelvin36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mr. lbelvin36,

First of all, thanks for posting your review about Windsor Palace Hotel.
I'd like to say, in the name of all Windsor Palace staff, that it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest during all these days. Thank you for all your compliments. They will be forward to everyone!
We hope to have you guys as our guest again in the future!

Best Regards,

Gabriela Moreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found this hotel last minute through a travel agent who was stuck with extra rooms during the World Cup. They advertise it to be a "four star" hotel. It is far from it as we rate hotels in the USA.

The hotel is centrally located one block off the beach. It is in the Copacabana neighborhood on a tree lined street 18 stories high. There are stores, restaurants and bars everywhere. You do not need a car in Rio.

The hotel lobby is very small and uninviting as is everything at this property. The hotel front desk personnel could barely speak English so you will need to be patient. They were polite and trying to help.

While I paid two hundred dollars per night, they up charged me OUTRAGEOUSLY for a third person in my room. I was with two teenagers. They charged me more money per night for the third person then I paid for the room. The front desk person told me "if you do not pay then leave". I had no other choice but to pay.

We got our keys and had to wait for the extremely slow elevator to the 14th floor. They have two small elevators, and both are extremely slow. The stairs are faster.

There are about 6 rooms on each floor.

Our room seemed to be recently renovated and it had three twin beds. It was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and small. It would be a "holiday inn" here at home.
It was not bad, but not four stars. The wireless was fine. There was a small fridge filled with soda water and beer. It was not free and was a dispute at check out as there was no price list in the room.

The a/c was fine and it did have a balcony. Room 1404 with a "slight" water view.

The pool and fitness area are on the rooftop. Along with a bar. They are all very small. The pool is not much bigger than a hot tub. The view from the roof is panoramic of the entire beach and is nice to sit and hang out. It is not for laying out in the sun. Just sitting at the small tables.

Breakfast was included and it was served again in a small restaurant. It was a buffet with fresh fruit and juices, but the powdered scrambled eggs and low quality bacon were inedible.

The TV is only in Portuguese so be prepared to hook up Netflix or watch BBC if need be. It is very difficult to communicate with the hotel personnel, their English is hit or miss depending on who is working.

You will need a adapter for your chargers as they only have 220 sockets. The hotel will give you one if they are available. I was given one on the 2nd day but I went and bought my own.

You should do your research before you go to make sure you know want you want to do and see. The taxi drivers also do not speak English. We went to Google then here on trip advisor to search what to do. We then took a screenshot/picture of "Christ the Redeemer" statue and gave it to the driver and we were on our way. We did that every time we got in a cab.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be on the ocean facing side of the hotel. The higher the better as the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr. Richard E,

Thanks for posting your opinion about Windsor Palace Hotel. It's due to our guests comments that we're able to to evaluate the service we provide and the changes we can make in order to offer a high-quality standard hospitality product.
Indeed our location is privileged! Just one block away from Copacabana beach, very close to bars and restaurants, banks, souvenir stores, bus stops and subway station.
The Windsor Palace Hotel went through a big renovation last year but because some suppliers delay, we had to postpone the reception, restaurant and elevator renovation to after the World Cup.
As for the charges, you did get a very good rate at your room. Probably, as you said, because the agency (who had already paid for that room in advance), was stuck with extra rooms.
The charges for the thrird person were informed prior your check-in, authorized and confirmed by you, when you signed the charge difference form at the reception. The hotel charges 25% of our rate for a third person. The misunderstanding about the third person rate is probably because you paid a very good price for the agency that was stuck with extra rooms.
Our helpful receptionists explained all that (in english) to you and even provided an upgrade to a superior room with balcony to your family.
Here in Brazil the powdered egg is only used in biscuits, mayonase and instant macaroni industries. Our scrambled eggs are fresh and served at the buffet. But if you like, you can order a sunny side-up to the waiter.
As said before, our guests opinions are of great value and help us improve our service. Therefoere, we invite you to return and undo the bad impression.

Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Was here for World Cup. As with ALL other hotels, prices were jacked up. Overall, very happy with hotel. Location is superb!! Breakfast is top notched. Customer service is very polite and attentive. Ros are better than I expected. Would def come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nguyenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr. nguyenj,

Thanks for posting your opinion about your stay at Windsor Palace Hotel. It's a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed our service. The Windsor Hotels main goal is to provide constant training to make sure we offer the best hospitality service in Brazil.
We apreciate the time you spent posting this review and hope to have you again as our guest on your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent two nights at the windsor Palace in Rio during the World Cup. Very friendly staff that spoke English. Room was recently refurbished and was in great condition. Hotel is near the beach and in a safe neighborhood. Great breakfast each morning. Close proximity to good restaurants. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Like any hotel in Rio, try to get one as high off the street at possible. I think ours was on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC_Donkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear KC_Donkey,

Thanks for coosing Windsor Palace Hotel and thanks for posting your review about us.
Our location is really privilleged! We're close to a lot of bars, restaurants, banks and stores, and at the same time, in a quiet street in Copacabana. Although, is a bit hard to find a quiet street in Rio de Janeiro during the World Cup...
We're very pleased to know you've enjoyed your stay. Your compliments will be foward to all our staff!
Thanks again and we'll hope to be your choice next time you visit our city!
Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,067 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#34 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,140 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#66 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,374 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,432 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#46 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Domingos Ferreira 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050-012, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £66 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Palace
Windsor Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing