We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Ranked #109 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Really enjoyed staying here ,staff very friendly and helpful.The hotel was upgrading but our room was small but had everything you needed.Breakfast great and some good places to eat near by.The local buses are really good value.Just a couple of blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Last week I stayed at this hotel as part of my trip to Rio with the Rio+20 summit. We'd been warned that prices had been hiked for the summit, but the hike was ridiculous for the state of the hotel. The advertised fitness centre had two running machines, a stepper and two bikes - only one of the bikes was actually working and no one could turn the air-con on, and in a country that is always warm, it was not healthy. No water or towels supplied either. The rooms themselves are small and in desperate need of repair. The air-con in the room was extremely noisy, to the point where I needed to wear ear plugs to sleep. The toilet blocked up, the tap in the bathroom constantly dripped, the internet connectivity was expensive and unreliable...the list goes on and on. I would recommended trying elsewhere before this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The staff was rude and not helpful.Worst hotel in Rio.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I got a good price to stay in the hotel for Rock in Rio, so a taked.
Basic and small room with no confort. Noisy A/C.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pecuniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Hotel under renovation..
Very small rooms with mould, holes and dirty walls. Extremely noisy A/C
Tiny breakfast room
A lot of money for nothing

Room Tip: Don't think there is one..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruicaricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Noisy,dusty hotel that is being renovated now. Besides the too expensive room, reception staff very unfriendly. The hotel is being renovated, which means that it is dusty everywhere and very loud. The room is very little and has old furnishings. Same with the bathroom. The pool is very small and has only a few chairs to lie in the sun. The gym room is very small and not really new. Everything is old in that hotel. The restaurant is very crowded in the morning, because the restaurant is very small too. The breakfast is not bad but is it annoying when you have to dance around other people to get what you want. The hotel does not have any airport shuttle although most of the tourists there need one. They can only call a cab for the guests.They have only two elevators that fit 6 people each (one of them is of course in renovation) so you always have to wait a lot. You cannot use the stairs, only if there is a fire alarm. Worst of all is that besides the very unfriendly staff at the reception (pretty chaotic, not really serious when they are talking to you, sometimes you don't even know if they understand English or not) that they charged us twice for the room. We have written to them and they said it is not true. We are still waiting for the refund.

Room Tip: Best thing is to rent a private apartment so at least you know nobody is unfriendly too you. Keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina-Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have been spending the last 6 months travelling around South America staying mostly in hostels and decided to finish our trip with a little luxury. The hotel had a special offer on, due to the fact it was being re-furbished (which is mentioned on their website), of 47% off. For a 3 star hotel it wasn't too bad but we both agreed that the full price would not be worth it.
We were located on the 10th floor, a smokers room, but the views weren't that good. The room was pleasant with a nice ensuite and a big screen tv. The bed was as comfy as could be considering they had put 2 singles together to make a large double. The breakfast was however excellent, with lots of choice and an unlimited supply, setting us up for the day. The location, a 5 minute walk to Copacabana beach, was just right. There is a 1st floor outdoor pool, which dissapointed us as we were hoping for a roof pool, but the pool was clean and did get sun from 10am till 3pm, though the pool side bar wasn't open (maybe due to the refurb). The staff were pleasant enough and when we left they stored our luggage for the day.
All in all after our prior accomodation we thought the Astoria was a nice place but would be too expensive at full price,

Room Tip: The smoking rooms are on the top, and the singles are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Bandeirantes
Hotel Bandeirantes
#122 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,020 reviews
Copacabana
Apa Hotel
Apa Hotel
#149 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
468 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#101 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Rio
Hotel Atlantico Rio
#105 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,013 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Travel Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Travel Copacaban...
#181 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
193 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
#253 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Copacabana

Address: Rua Republica do Peru 345 | Copacabana Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £37 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Astoria Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing