We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 4 Star.. But Cheap & Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #215 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star.. But Cheap & Cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Ageing hotel but pleasantly suprised after reading some dreadful reviews! Room was clean, good breakfast with excellent choice. Pleasant pool area on roof to admire Corcavodo or watch the Cariocas down on the streets. Copacabana is 5 minutes walk. Area seems fine, even late at night.Hotel's biggest problem is lack of lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top (13th) Floor. Nice & peaceful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    337
    368
    183
    115
See reviews for
320
250
81
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel showing 4 stars actually 2 stars standards.
Price during World Cup very high (700 USD)... service, premises down to 2 stars.
No regular hot water, short cold water, noisy, old and badly maintained rooms, very low level of food (breakfast and restaurant), acceptable position close to Metro,
Old and dirty sheets, water on the floor from windows.
Elevator often broken. Expensive wireless.
People sleeping in the hall on the sofas.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms ending with 09 they are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The room smells. Then it is small. The bed is old and mattress has spots...Two elevators are both out of order. AC is very noisy plus the street noise comes through it as if you were outside. Avoid this place. No safe box in the room. The only plus is its location from beach.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Erdene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed recently in room 910 at Atlantico Copacabana. For less than US$50 more , I could have had a much more decent 4* hotel. The hotel definitely doesn't deserve its stars , unless it undergoes a huge remodelling job and invests in special training for its entire staff.
To start off with, the front desk staff seemed quite stressed out to me. They didn't really care if anybody was happy or not. Second, the place was filthy. The elevators scratched and dirty, when not noisy or out of order. The corridors to the room: need cleaning and painting job. The room: quite small, but terribly worn down and dated. The tv set was older than my grandmothers', the bed had smelly linen and a few bug wings in it. The mattress was worn out and not comfortable at all. I wound up sleeping in my clothes. The electrical outlets were dated, worn down and looked a bit risky. Internet didn't work for me at all. Allthough it had hair dryer and amenities, The bathroom was the worst: very old, full of mold and rust and looked very dirty, not to mention the smell. This hotel must have been a nice one in the early 70's , however, it has been completely abandoned by its owners. It looks almost as if it would be on its way to bankrupcy. There was one good thing though: allthough the breakfast room looked like a mess (the staff couldn't clean up as fast as necessary) , the breakfast buffet was nice and had good variety.

Room Tip: I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatySalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uzice, Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I spent seven days during World Cup in this hotel located 250 m from Avenida Atlantica and Copacabana Beach. Also, metro station is just in front of hotel. From that point of view hotel is very good located. Another (and the only) pro of this hotel is that hotel is almost new (opened in 2013) and that all looks very new. Everything else is very poor. Reception staff (the only who speaks English) were not professional and client oriented. Room service is terrible. Twice we had situation that towels were not changed.
Rooms are very small, with no space for luggage so we used third bed for it. Hotel amenities are also very poor. Even it was stated in offer hotel did not have WiFi. They have just use of PCs in lobby for very expensive price.
Breakfast is not so bad but same in all six days.

Not recommend this hotel. This four star are three, or even two, star level in Europe.
It is not value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nesic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked The Atlantico Copacabana for the World Cup, I required 6 rooms, we paid a well inflated price of around £250 per room per night, I stayed 6 nights, if I had nor pre paid I would have checked out. interestingly the rack rates were taken down from behind reception.
My room for the first 3 nights was OK as it had been 'refurbished' but at the best a 2 star, my colleagues did not have such luck their rooms could only be compared to a hostel, broken rooms, dated controls, cockroaches, very noisy air conditioning.
for my remaining 3 nights a colleague & I had a twin room to keep costs down, it was like going down the time tunnel, the room was shocking, noisy, dirty.
Breakfast was a lot of baked items , A 2 slice domestic toaster was on offer the whole restaurant, I did contemplate buying one to help them out. The staff at breakfast did not want to be there, there were no smiles or 'good morning' just miserable people working, serious management issues here.
The reception staff were rude and were more interested in having there own conversations than attending to customers.
I spent an afternoon in the pool area one day, they had 5 sun beds ,3 could not be used as they all had broken backs, they could have easily been replaced .
Im not sure if the owners care or visit this property , but I suggest they do and use a secret guest company.
This hotel may have had a 4 star rating in the 60's but should be hostel rated, no issues with hostels but I booked a 4 star hotel.
Serious management issues here ,bell guys dressed in old outfits .
I feel have been stolen from never mind ripped off
The staff ingeneral were

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I had travelled to many places in the different continents but this is the worst hotel stay ever!
This hotel is one that I will strongly recommend all NOT TO stay!
Because,.... Firstly, WIFI is chargeable and connection is Unstable!
Day 1 - the toilet ceiling started dripping water. We called for room change but was told no room as they are fully booked due to world cup session, promised to change the next day, but it didn't happened.
Day 2 - part of the toilet ceiling dropped down BUT they still refused to change room. Stating that it's world cup session so fully booked. As the booking was made thru the booking dot com, we called them for help, then the hotel staff called our room and said will arrange for a change of room. We waited for more then 1 hour till almost 12 midnight.
A non English speaking staff come to pass the new room card, don't understand what he was talking about but he's tone and body language was showing sign of anger. No one help us with our luggage and we had to change room ourselves.
Last Day, the lift wasn't functioning properly, we waited like 10 minutes for the lift and it just skipped our level and head downward.
When we finally got in the lift and go to the lobby, the lift door just open and closed almost immediately, my friend went out and before I can go out of the lift, the door closed and it went up again...
When I finally got to the lobby level again, the service staff have to put his hand to stop the lift door from closing!
Crazy lift!
After the change of room, other then hygiene and cleanness, overall seems ok...
The only nice and hardworking staff here is Mr Rene whom is at the Reception during the day time. He speaks good English and help.
But still I will not want to stay here even again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wan Xin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#110 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Travel Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Travel Copacaban...
#198 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Bandeirantes
Hotel Bandeirantes
#108 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Hotel
#105 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Copacabana
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
#121 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Praia
Hotel Atlantico Praia
#145 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantico Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Property: Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Address: Rua Siqueira Campos 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-072, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantico Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantico Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing