We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Augusto"s Paysandu Hotel
Ranked #166 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine for the budget option”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We booked through hotels.com and were promised a 'balcony view' but instead our window faced a concrete wall, in a corridor of more concrete walls, barely 3 feet from our window. Having said that the staff are friendly, the lobby is a genuinely nice art deco lobby and the breakfast is good, together with the shower. And we paid appox. £50 for a night with brekkie included. #value.
Be warned (!) you have to pay for wifi, which seems kinda in keeping with the 20th century aesthetic.

Helpful?
1 Thank JayDidThis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    113
    111
    26
    25
See reviews for
55
106
53
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
195 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel nestles in possibly Flamengo's most pleasant street, well placed for the park and beach as well as getting around to all the major sites.

It is undeniably in a bit of a time warp, but that is part of its charm. Some fellow tripadvisors' criticism of its charges seems not to appreciate that this modest hotel is situated in one of the most sought after districts in one of the world's most prized cities.

The staff are helpful and the facilities are good. My request for a garden facing room was granted with a third floor room that looked out on to a riot of tropical growth of neighbouring gardens and the trickle of a nearby fountain.

Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: I enjoyed 308 which was well positioned for a pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I'm from Rio. I never stayed in a hotel in Rio before. I specifically chose this hotel because of its history and glamour. It was a huge disappointment. The shower was broken. The staff didn't believe me when I said so. Wanted to double check. It took them thirty minutes to double check it and see that I was right. They wanted me to take a shower in another room and walk back. I refused. I wanted another room. Finally, after a big fuss, they agreed. I felt disrespected. The doors are falling apart. The bed is low quality. The service is...I can't even describe how awful the staff was. Internet barely works. The fridge is a joke. Price: ridiculously expensive for what you get. Overall experience: worst night of my life. I will never come back!

Room Tip: Just stay away from it. Hopefully they will sell it to somebody who can actually take care of the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotels are very overpriced in Rio, so I found this to be "budget" accommodations in the city.
Pros: Good location in Flamengo, Great multilingual staff, Good breakfast, big room, working A/C
Cons: Outdated hotel
Our room 107 was huge, but couldn't get wi-fi. Staff was helpful in trying to move me to a different room, but we ended up deciding to keep a big room and to use wi-fi down in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and are not expecting anything else than a decent bed and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed there for a weekend with my wife. Location is good but the room wasn't very good. I thought price wasn't adequate for what the hotel offers. However, the worst thing on it was that we got a room on the first floor and there was a lot of noise very early in the morning (not sure if it was people on the street or employees preparing breakfast at the kitchen)

Room Tip: Do not stay in the first floor (very noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leocuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in Feb during the carnival and it was a good stay. Rooms are very pricey during the carnival time so we booked in advance and it was still expensive. Room is medium sized, could be a bit cleaner (I felt the sheets and towels looked a bit dirty). Front staff were very helpful and the free breakfast included is very nice (fresh fruit juices and continental breakfast). Close to 2 train stations so it was easy to get around. Some of the carnival parades went past our hotel so we were able to enjoy the ambience. Good AC so the rooms were cool during the intense hot weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thusha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Got back today from Paysandu Hotel and had a great time! Several close restaurants, free breakfast includes rolls, fruits, juices, coffee, sliced meat and cheese. Ridiculously nice staff, they have a big guy at the door and they always have someone working that speaks English.

The area is safe and close to every thing. You will not regret a trip out to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Barao do Flamengo
#223 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
52 reviews
Flamengo
Argentina Hotel
Argentina Hotel
#135 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
224 reviews
Hotel Novo Mundo
#94 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regina
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
730 reviews
Catete
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#35 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
367 reviews
Flamengo
Hotel Rondonia Palace
Hotel Rondonia Palace
#157 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusto"s Paysandu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusto"s Paysandu Hotel

Property: Augusto"s Paysandu Hotel
Address: Rua Paissandu 23, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-085, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusto"s Paysandu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Augusto"s Paysandu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paysandu Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Augusto"s Paysandu Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing