We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so bad afterall”
Review of Hotel Bandeirantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bandeirantes
Ranked #113 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so bad afterall”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was very apprehensive about staying at this hotel after reading some of the reports but was relieved to find that it was OK. Room OK, great breakfast, beach easy to walk to.and the staff were helpful when needed. My only real complaint was that the air conditioner was very noisy.
Absolutely fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    400
    271
    79
    74
See reviews for
240
356
53
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are good, spacious and clean for a budget hotel.
The location is great for shopping and the beach.
We didn't have too much noise even though we had a room on the front but there is construction going on both sides of the hotel.
The roof had a nice little pool with a good view of Christ the redeemer.

Reception however needs lessons in customer service!! It took us over 45 mins to check out after being ignored by the very rude reception staff. They wouldn't store our bags and are extremely unhelpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandatheNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Brazil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My friend insisted on staying at this hotel because the price was reasonable but anyone a bit smart knows that you get what you pay for!

The hotel has a poor quality in all aspects:
1. Location: although just 3 blocks from Copacabana beach, the street in which the hotel is located is really noisy and has a lot of traffic all day long. Seems that this is downtown and not copacabana!

2. Infrastructure: the hotel is decadent and needs updating in the rooms and restrooms which are very dark. The air conditioning is insanely noisy so if you are a light sleeper be aware of this. The bathroom broke 2 days before we left the hotel, flooding the whole restroom. Despite our calls to front desk nothing was done. We asked again for maintenance the following day but they didn't care. Since we paid full in advance, the hotel said there were nothing they could do. What a shame!!!!!!!
The TV also needed maintenance - it would lose cable sign now and then and the french chanel had no sound. Asked for maintenance but, again, nothing was done.

The only good thing here are breakfast and Samir, the front helper, who was very nice.

Stay at the Ibis or somewhere else for a much better deal! I do not recommend this hotel at all!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel - huge room, clean and equipped. Great breakfast, friendly staff. It was a little noisy, but we didn't experience the level of disruption as some other reviewers - slept through the night. Location is good for copacabana beach and the metro. It's not the copacabana palace, but it's convenient. Good for the price considering how expensive rio has become.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel has a good accommodation, breakfast and location however the employees don't help the tourist to find a best deal to visit the city. They offer services with prices over the average and if you don't agree they treat you bad. The employees take advantage from tourist. Also they charge for wifi. As a Brazilian I am shame to write this review but I am sure there are many other hotels better to stay. My recommendation: Check the prices outside of the hotel before agree with any service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solange M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Your average 3 star hotel, it was clean and comfortable. No wifi, but great location near shops, cafes and restaurants and within walking distance of the beach. You can easily get to Ipanema for nights out or a quieter beach day. Breakfast was fine and we had no security problems. We stayed for 6 nights and were able to get around to all the tourist attractions (Christ the Redeemer etc) from here and try out different areas of the city (Lapa, Ipanema, Flamenco).

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Bandeirantes is a truly terrible hotel. I stayed there for two nights in May 2013. On both of those nights I hardly slept due to the deafening street noise coming into the room from the paper-thin windows. The air conditioning drowned it out, but was so loud itself that sleep was difficult anyway. The elevators are painfully slow, and most of the time I opted for the ugly back staircase instead. The washroom in the common area was flooded when I tried to use it. The hotel was dark and dank, and just seemed like a sad place.
Worst of all, the staff are surly. Upon check-in, they assigned me to a room that was under construction, filled with tarps and paint cans and ladders. They then moved me to a different room, but had no record that they moved me, and when I checked out they tried to make me pay for charges stemming from the construction room. I refused, and it got loud. I would never, ever stay here again.
There are two average things about it: it's only about a five-minute walk to the Copacabana Beach, and the restaurant (in the underwhelming basement) has a decent selection. Honestly, though, Rio is packed with hotels. If you want to enjoy your time in this amazing city, choose a different one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#111 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#76 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Copacabana
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
#127 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#58 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
#219 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#138 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bandeirantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bandeirantes

Property: Hotel Bandeirantes
Address: Rua Barata Ribeiro 548 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22040-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bandeirantes 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bandeirantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandeirantes Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Bandeirantes Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Bandeirantes Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing