We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Seafood restaurant in Barra, Rio de Janeiro” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Skinna

Restaurante Skinna
Ranked #83 of 13,531 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood restaurant in Barra, Rio de Janeiro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you want great seafood, caipirinhas, delicious deserts and an extremely friendly and cozy atmosphere, you have come to the right place! I have frequented Skinna since many years and the quality has never let me down. During the week they offer an "executive lunch" menu, where you have many seafood and fish dishes for a very reasonable price, for exemple "Moqueca de Camarão" for R$28,00! In the evening it is a bit pricier than that, but the portions are for two persons. If you are in the area, you should definitely come by and check it out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank firenguete51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    69
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eijsden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I'm originally from Rio, but I don't live there for more than 20 years. So, every time I'm there, I go to this restaurant. Actually, the first time I visited the restaurant was a long time ago, when they were at a different address (at the fish market). The food is still amazing! Try the sinfonia, it's really delicious! And the caipirinha...it's impossible to drink only one! Looking forward to my next trip to Rio!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank FernandaCS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Adorable seafood restaurante in Barra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

After a series of mediocre meals in Rio we decided to put google to the test and researched this gem. When we walked in we found we were the only tourists in the restaurant which is almost always a good sign. The manager spoke great English and helped us pick out the perfect selection of specialties for us to try. They could not have been friendlier and the leisurely experience was just what we needed after a busy week of work. The seafood was fresh and delicious. We had the garlic shrimp skillet and the brazilian seafood stew. Both excellent. Really lovely to go to such a warm and friendly restaurant on our last night in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank agngjcsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant in Barra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent food quality, lots of choice. The service is outstanding and the personnel speaks decent English. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Santa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice surprise - prawns were unexpectedly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Completely agree with the other comments made about this restaurant - very good service and the food is actually surprising good! We had large prawns with rice and were actually very happy with this tasty selection!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlderleyEdgeTiger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Skinna also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Skinna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing