We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obregado Richard - Rob - Patricia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just left the bed and breakfast O Veleiro because we had to continue our trip to Iguassu.
2 friends of mine, my girlfriend and myself stayed for 4 nights at O Veleiro.
I must say we had a wonderfull time.
Richard and Rob were also in for a little chat and helped us a lot with their tips.
It was our first visit to Rio and with their tips we woudn´t have had such a great time.
Also Patricia, the lady of the house did a splendid job with organizing our rooms and making an excellent breakfast. She even made home made jelly which zas absolutely delicious.

I would recommend this B&B to everyone who wants to visit Rio and loves to submerge along the locals.

Once again thank you very much Rob, Richard and Patricia

Muito Obrigado

Ruud

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruud881712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hello, we visited Brazil for the first time in early 2014 spending 5 days in the wonderful city of Rio De Janeiro over the new year’s period. We stayed at O Veleiro B&B and had the best time.
We were welcomed and looked after by the very friendly and very helpful Rob, Richard and Patricia. They are gorgeous people. They recommended local markets, restaurants and things to see and do. The caipirinhas on arrival were just what we needed. And now we are hooked!
Our beautiful room was clean, comfortable and cool. The whole facility had fascinating rooms, delightful décor, quiet corners and spacious social settings. The gardens and surrounds are brilliant.
O Veleiro ensured our stay was safe, interesting and fun. We felt part of their family. The location was an easy walk or short taxi ride to restaurants, public transport, beaches, banks, shops and tourist sites. It is in a beautiful part of Botafogo which is alive with Brazilian culture.
The breakfasts were healthy and delicious and a great way to start the day. We went out adventuring while some days we lazed by the pool and the bar. Our hosts provided super service and guidance at all times. Rob’s tour was a highlight as he has amazing experience and knowledge of the city’s history, people, places and customs. He took us to heritage sites, the national park, beaches, lookouts and the inner city. He is a great driver and excellent story teller!
We met interesting characters, the local marmosets, saw local architecture, enjoyed the sun, surf and sugar loaf, had no problems with money or language and learnt so much.
And what’s more O Veleiro is panda friendly!
We continued our holiday in Brasilia, Catalao and Caldas Novas where we met up with family and friends.
We would highly recommend O Veleiro as the best, friendliest, affordable B&B in Rio and say to Rob, Richard and Patricia and their staff thank you so much for making our first experience in their marvellous country a relaxing, pleasant, exciting and memorable one. We will be back.
Cheers, Paul and Louise, Uki, Australia, 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fox843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed at O Veleiro for just 2 nights at the end of May. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and very much wished we could have stayed a lot longer. This B&B is a beautiful home set a little way up a hill in Botafogo. We had a room with private ensuite facilities which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The owners, Rob and Richard, were friendly and helpful, as was the receptionist, Patricia, who went out of her way to make sure our stay was pleasant and stress-free. She made really good caipirinhas; very welcome after a long day seeing the sights, and was keen to help in any way she could. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious and included freshly cooked hot food, smoothies, fresh exotic fruits, etc., as well as the usual coffee, tea, juices, cereals, breads and cakes. The pool is small and was not in use when we were there due to essential maintenance work taking place. However, I'm sure it would normally be a very pleasant and welcome place to cool down on a hot day. The location was perfect; we felt safe and it was close enough to walk to both Sugarloaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer. The famous beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema are a little further away, but if you prefer the metro station is just a 15 minute walk away and will take you directly to either. From the metro station you can also directly reach most other places of interest very easily, or take a taxi which is not expensive. As stated in previous reviews, cash payment was required immediately upon arrival (which hadn't been the case anywhere else we had stayed) BUT this is stated very clearly when booking and so wasn't a problem for us. I would not hesitate to stay here again (if I am lucky enough to ever return to Rio) and will definitely be recommending this B&B to any friends who may decide to holiday there. Thank you Rob, Richard and Patricia!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pelizzari2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I enjoyed a wonderful few days here and the staff were so helpful during my stay that I felt compelled to return the favour by spreading the word of how great it is.

What's good:

- Good sized rooms with adequate facilities
- Squeaky clean bathrooms and hot water showers
- Amazing breakfast with a selection of hot and cold foods
- Set up on a hill in a quiet and safe area with beautiful views
- Lovely owners who take a genuine interest in you and your plans whilst in Rio - they make you feel as though you're staying with a friend
- A fifteen minute walk from Metro station
- Strong WiFi in rooms and some communal areas
- Homely feel with lovely lounge and dining area

I'd usually write a list of what's 'not so good' but there was nothing significant to note. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiaraPel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in O Veleiro for the last two weeks in April and had a fantastic stay. We stayed in a double room with a private bathroom (which is outside the room). The bathroom is next door on a little patio and so is not private - this was not a problem as this was the room I chose to book. My parents had the double room next door with a private ensuite bathroom and also were very pleased with their room. The beds were very comfortable. There were hammocks outside our room which were great for relaxing in. We had fresh towels each day and really enjoyed the breakfasts. We loved the fresh fruits which were grown on the property and there was also a selection of coffee, tea, fresh fruit juices, ham, cheese, bread, cake and eggs. The breakfast was so good that we didn't generally need lunch! We were made to feel very welcome and we had good chats with Rob and Richard who recommended places and gave us helpful hints. Patricia was also very friendly, makes excellent caipirinhas and was very helpful in helping us order a takeaway. We had to pay on arrival and fill in forms before we put our bags in our room - the fact that you have to pay cash on arrival is clearly stated in the booking and we had a good chat with the owners whilst we were filling in the required forms. The b and b is located up a cobbled street and there is a fantastic view down the hill. It is about 15 minutes walk down the hill and then a little further to the nearest metro. After a long day we generally opted to get a taxi back up the hill after a long day and we didn't have a problem finding a taxi at the bottom of the hill. It was nice to be in a area of Rio which was not very touristy and we felt safe when walking around. We would not hestitate to stay again on our next visit to Rio.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice and clean room, though a little overpriced (we paid 130 USD for one night in a double room with a shared bathroom). Good shower! The Canadian owner is nice and helpful, but there is one lady working at the reception who made us feel very unwelcome throughout the stay. When arriving at the hostel, she did not even allow us to leave our bags in our room before filling in the papers at the reception area. Instead, she insisted that “payment is always the first thing to be done upon arrival”.

The breakfast was okay for a short stay (quite basic variety), the swimming pool was covered with leaves from the surrounding trees and hence not ready to be used, but as we stayed only one night we did not bother. You walk 15 minutes down the hill to Botafogo to take a bus or the metro. The walk felt safe, but is quite deserted at night time. In conclusion, the hostel was okay for a short stay, but we have stayed in three different B&Bs/hotels in the same area during our stay. Hence, we believe that there are many better options in the neighbourhood you might wish to consider.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
83  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The first thing you need to do to stay here is get your money out. Pay upfront the full amount in cash. The room was small and the beds smaller. Sometimes we got a hot breakfast and sometimes we did not. Expect to have your room checked when you are out to make sure you did not leave a light on or air conditioning. Shower hot water system does not work it is either too hot or cold.
Plus points.
Beautiful house and location up the hill.
We felt very safe walking back at night and leaving our valuables in the room safe.
We were given some good advice about how to get to different places e.g. We could walk to sugarloaf and the Christ statue from the house.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
67  Thank hornstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBOVeleiro, Owner at O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

As owner of this Bed and Breakfast and one who regularly reads the reviews on other accommodation sites as well, I sometimes ask myself how it is that we seem to "attract" certain types of customers to our home?! Folks who in my opinion, post comments and make complaints that simply don't make sense! Please allow me to use this reply to clarify a few points:

We are a small Bed and Breakfast in a private family home and do our best to offer a safe, comfortable place to stay in Rio, in a good location, with a relaxed atmosphere and at a reasonable price, as related to comparable alternatives here in this city. No sense comparing room size or prices to a hotel (whether in the USA or in Dubai for that matter)! Our intention here is to make folks feel as much at home as possible while in our home and offer information in English, Spanish and Portuguese to help guests get as much as possible out of their vacation here in Rio!

This couple identified themselves upfront as airline employees (and vegetarians) and that they would be coming with the intention to afterwards promote our property to other airline employees?!... However, we are not a Hotel and do not offer special rates to crew members as some of the big chain hotels do. Our rates and conditions are the same for all guests. We offer a full complimentary buffet Breakfast daily from 8am to 10am and expect that guests can make their own food choice decisions -whether they wish to eat meat or fruits etc. and hence do not alter our breakfast offerings based on an individual guest's diet.

From our web site, to the reservation offer, to final confirmation letter, we inform that payment is due in cash on arrival, yet people still think this is unreasonable?? So why do they book and then complain later? As a point, all the B&Bs I have stayed at AND nearly all the smaller hotels and pousadas I have stayed at in Brazil, require a 50% deposit at time of booking and the remainder of payment on arrival... Some accept credit cards but many do NOT.

Their room was small? The room this couple stayed in offers 165 sq feet (or just over 15 sq meters) and a private bathroom with shower in the room. Reasonable enough size for a room in a family home in Brazil. The couple specially requested 2 single beds so we removed the standard king size bed in the room and replaced it with 2 extra large single beds. These beds are 95cm wide by 2m long as opposed to standard Brazilian single beds which are 78 or 88cm by 1.88m in length!

Our Buffet Breakfast is usually a big hit with our guests. We offer a variety of breads, cakes, pastries, cereals, cheeses, cold cuts, yogurt, fresh seasonal tropical fruits (including bananas, papayas, guavas, passion fruit, even avocados, from our own garden when in season!), juices and smoothies prepared daily, homemade jams and spreads, eggs on order, waffles or pancakes on Sundays, fresh pastries on alternate days, special Brazilian coffee, selection of teas or hot/cold chocolate - to ensure your day gets off to a good start! All these guests had to do was request eggs and we would have made them to order as we did for the other guests. Most tell us there are already too many choices to start off with...

To save room costs from escalating for other guests and to help save the planet in general, we believe in turning off the air conditioning and the lights in the room when leaving the house. We ask our guests to do it themselves but when they do not, we WILL do it! If this doesn't work for you then YOU are NOT a good match for our B&B so please reserve elsewhere.

The same hot water system (a computer controlled, on-demand, 18L per minute, endless hot water system) provides the water for 3 different rooms and none of the other guests complained about having too hot or a cold shower while they were here. If guests alert us that they are having a problem with something we can do whatever is within our power to remedy the situation. In this case we could have explained to them how to correctly adjust the water temperature. Doesn't make much sense to smile through Breakfast for 4 days and then wait until you get home to complain that nothing was right?!

In addition, these guests left us to travel to Ilha Grande for 4 nights yet on leaving, still opted to book their return back to stay with us again. If they weren't happy, why did they not choose another place to stay in the city?!

We appreciate that otherwise in the rest of your review, you mention that you enjoyed our home and location... We (and the majority of our satisfied guests over the past 14 years) also love this location - up an old cobble stoned road in the forest, with amazing views in the surrounding area, cooling breezes on hot summer days, away from the hustle and bustle of Rio - feeling like you are somewhere out in the countryside, while still right in the heart of touristic, south zone Rio. Just 7 min by taxi from Copacabana and walking distance (30 min) from the 2 major tourist attractions in Rio - the Sugar Loaf and the cogwheel Train up to the Christ Statue!

In addition, compared to Santa Teresa, where many other B&Bs are located here in Rio - and as recognized by the guests themselves - we offer a very secure and safe location.

Best regards, Rob and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
803 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#3 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
588 reviews
Urca
Hotelinho Urca
Hotelinho Urca
#10 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#6 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
277 reviews
Solar do Cosme
#15 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
128 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#9 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rua Mundo Novo 1440 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22251-020, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £45 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by several guests as a "Hidden Gem in an Oasis of Green", O Veleiro was the first Bed & Breakfast to open it's doors in Rio de Janeiro! Our location, carefully chosen on 15,000 sq ft of land, in a safe residential area, is the only B&B within walking distance (30 min) of both the Christ Statue train and the Sugar Loaf Cable cars. Also just 7min from Copacabana and the beaches by taxi (can also be reached by public transport bus or metro). The surrounding area offers magnificent views and remnants of Atlantic Forest, while a variety of flora and fauna can be found and wild parrots, toucans and small monkeys visit us daily! We are also pleased to be able to offer our own "home grown" fruits (seasonally), Papayas, Mangoes, Guavas and Bananas in our hearty complimentary breakfast, served from 8-10am each morning. Besides a variety of fresh tropical fruits and homemade juices, Brazilian coffee, assortment of herbal and black teas, hot and cold chocolate, assorted cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, homemade preserves, jams and jellies, cakes and eggs cooked to order, depending on the day we offer waffles, tapioca, pastries, and other specialty items!Our spacious, 4 story, heritage style, family home Bed and Breakfast (Cama e Café or “Hospedagem Domiciliar” - the correct term used to describe this type of accommodation in Brazil), is located on a quiet, cobble stoned road about 1.5 km up a picturesque hillside, which opened the way for horse drawn carriages to the south zone of Rio de Janeiro from the Centro in the early 1830’s. We offer 3 ample, comfortable, private rooms and a friendly, low-key atmosphere. Fresh quality cotton linens and towels and daily house keeping are provided. Our En-suite rooms also offer flat screen LCD TVs with DVD player, a mini bar fridge, and individual air conditioning.Besides our guest rooms, the main areas of our home and gardens are open to our guests including 2 large “salas” – one inside the main house with a wide screen TV and international cable, sports and movie channels and another quieter “sala” near the pool - sometimes used for massage services provided by one of our local masseuses - we also have a small pool and an open bar area on the pool deck. We make sandwiches and mixed drinks – including the famous “caipirinha” – Brazil’s national drink, on request, complimenting the contents of our self-service mini bar fridges. Free hi-speed internet is available throughout the house and gardens and a guest computer is available for a small charge for those without their own internet device. We offer a wealth of helpful, personal knowledge in English, Spanish or Portuguese, to point you in the right direction, and assist you in organizing your stay within your time limitations to make sure you don’t miss any important sights. One of your hosts is also a registered guide with the Brazilian Ministry of Tourism and we offer private tours, walks and hikes around the city and into the nearby mountains for those guests interested. please inquire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Veleiro Hotel Rio De Janeiro
o Veleiro b&b
O Veleiro Bed And Breakfast Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing