We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beds, really cool staff and fabulous caipirinhas!!!”
Review of Kaza Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaza Rio
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent beds, really cool staff and fabulous caipirinhas!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Bet hostel I've stayed in in years: superclean and really nicely decorated, lovely hot showers, all the rooms have lockers you can safely put your luggage in (provided you have your own padlock) and some of them have aircon, which comes in really handy on those superhot Rio nights!! Besides the facilities, which in my opinion are spotless, the staff was really nice, just a lovely bunch of people that were really fun to hang out with and have lots of local knowledge, besides they make the best caipirinhas I had in Rio at an affordable price, ding ding ding!!! It's the perfect place to prepare for a night out in Lapa or even to just stay drinking and having fun there:) It's not in the heart of town, but it's really well connected by public transport, so I'd rather stay in Kaza with its lovely rooms and staff and go into town whenever I wanted to... Can't rate highly enough, thank you, Kaza!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouReddish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    20
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
11
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here during the 2013 Rio Carnival in Feb. If you are looking for somewhere to stay for the Carnival this is defiantly a good place to stay as the sambadrome is just a 10-15 minute walk from the hostel. There is a supermarket and pharmacy a few steps away and the metro is just round the corner for when you want to get to the centre. The owner is very helpful - she helped us with tours, directions, taxis etc and has a lot of knowledge. We stayed in the dorms room, the size is a little small but have lockers for your big backpacks and the bathrooms are clean with nice showers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atusatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Kaza Rio is only a short walk to the Metro. The interior of the hotel is very clean, Rooms have a key locker large enough to fit a carry on. I had no problem with not having hot water while showering. There was no disturbing or loud noise from outside, as well, as in the hostel. The hostel comes full of charming common areas: A room with comfortable couches and an indoor hammock to watch TV. In the same room there is a door that leads you outside to a walled roof top that is very comfortable to relax and kick back under the stars. It is also used as a laundry area. The breakfast was very generous with coffee ( self-serve and all you want to drink), toast, jelly, dulce con leche, cake, and fresh fruit. No limit in quantity since it is self-served. The breakfast is served in a terrace by the bar area.
The bar area is open until 10 pm.
There are a few small restaurants around the area, but more like a neighborhood hang-out to drink a beer and locals to get together. There is a super-market with fresh fruits and a little of everything at walking distance, which brings me to my "I wish" list: a guest refrigerator. a A microwave will be great.
The owner is really involved and cares about her guests. Her attention and the staff is sterling. Every need (from directions to finding a very reasonable cab to the airport) is meet with great attention. Enjoy your stay!!
I would return to this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tumbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This hostel is located far away from the city center but 3 minutes walking from the metro station "ESTACIO".

The neighborhood is degraded, with no restaurant. The music of the nearby gym will wake you up every day at 7:00 AM and the first perfume you will smell is fried garlic from the restaurant downstairs (someone could like it).

Nothing to complain about cleanliness but the private rooms are very tight and the only furniture is the bed (no wardrobe, shelves, nore a/c ).

Breackfast is very poor, there's no cheese nor ham.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull, plus they speack a lot of languages.

Room Tip: private rooms are very narrow and the only furniture is the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoMarcoMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Proprietário at Kaza Rio, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thanks for spend some time writing about us! We are located in Estacio, a very local area far from the city center exactly 8 minutes by taxi, 15 minutes by metro e 20 minutes by bus. In our breakfast you will find: bread, butter, doce de leite, cake, cereal, milk, iougurt, chocolate, cafe, fruits and tea. Around our area you can find only local restaurants, but with a 5 minutes ride you can find a bunch of other options. We are truly sorry that we couldn't reach your expectations and invite you to come back to check the daily improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Spotlessly clean, bathrooms very modern, excellent staff who really make the effort to talk to you. The location is good, next to the metro and bus services. The dorms aren't the biggest but I suppose that is the part of it's appeal. Only paid 10 Brazilian in a taxi to lapa. Definitely would return

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philsidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

New hostel which opened around three months ago so has a clean and fresh feel. The double room we stayed in was tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable. The staff speaks good English.
The location is a bit gloomy and feels unsafe, though you have the metro 5 minutes walking distance. Would recommend to take a taxi if you are going to return in the evening. Not many restaurants around other than small “botequins”.
Unfortunately the breakfast doesn’t add much value to the hostel. No cereal, ham or cheese! Hardly anything else other that bread and butter.
The shower in our bedroom didn’t warm enough so we had cold showers during our two days stay. Shame the manager did not address this more appropriately. She agreed to make a little discount for the inconvenience but only for one of the nights. We had to debate this over the phone after which she finally agreed to give a discount for both nights, but only once one of the workers advised her how cold the water was.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Proprietário at Kaza Rio, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
I'm sorry that your experience at Kaza Rio couldn't be perfect, we work hard for that. Like you said we opened 3 months ago and until now never had a complain about the shower that was fixed at the first night unfortunately not enough warm for you. The shower works by eletricity but we are considering install a solar system pretty soon. Too bad that even letting you do your check-in hours earlier without charging or the free breakfast that we offered to you two plus the discount wasn't enough to make you guys more pleased. We honestly hope you can come back and have a perfect experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel Belas Artes
Hotel Belas Artes
#179 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
85 reviews
Centro
Caipi Hostel
Caipi Hostel
#51 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
265 reviews
Centro
Casa ZambaBem Hostel
Casa ZambaBem Hostel
#111 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quintal do Maracana Hostel
#129 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
10 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Kazazen Hostel
Kazazen Hostel
#153 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
19 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaza Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaza Rio

Property: Kaza Rio
Address: Rua Haddock Lobo 23, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20260-130, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 783 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaza Rio is located in Estácio a lovely and local area in Rio de Janeiro. 2 min walking from the metro station and with several buses running all day and night. You can choose between our private or shared dorms with Fan or AC. We also have a lovely rootop where you can enjoy with a caipirinha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaza Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaza Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing