We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!!”
Review of Kaza Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaza Rio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My stay in Kaza Rio was so nice!!Staffs are so great.Very friendly,helpful,kind, and gave me a lot of information.You can catch staff easily because there are enough staffs.
The rooms keep clean well everyday.Tere is mini bar so that you can buy cold juice&beer.I made a lot of friend in there.

Kaza Rio is near from station,but if you go beach it takes about 15min by metro.I stay in carnival season(it is important day to every Hotel&hostel ,so that I was tolled to send money thought bank.It is quite difficult for me...

But,expect these 2 points,everything is good!! I really recommend this hostel and want to stay again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank はなまるはなこ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Rio was the first stop on my travels and I am so glad I had the opportunity to stay at kaza rio. The location is good because you are able to access everything easily with the metro station only a few minutes away. Staff were such an incredible help and answered any questions with perfect English! Stayed during carnaval and was shown an amazing time at the Bloco's with the staff and other hostel stayers. Lovely rooftop terrace for when you just fancy a relax, breakfast also served there and it was delicious - best I've had (and I've stayed in a few hostels) If/When I return to Rio I know where I'll be staying. Had such an amazing time, Thank You!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WizzieMogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Located in a poor, dirty and dangerous part of Rio. Close to metro but train is 30 mins to beach and taxis are very expensive. Not a location for tourists. Horrible building shared with other flats, constant noise and smells, woken up every morning by building work and shouting at 7am. Staff refused to honor the deposit which was paid via website claiming its a fee not deposit which is not true. Hostels ridiculous policy is written in bad english and not enforcable. Hostel wanted me to pay for extra nights which I didnt stay at end of my trip! Threatend me with violence and when police were called they backed down. Avoid this place, bad location and too noisy to be a hostel. Staff are very arguementative and better is available elsewhere for cheaper. Huge misake of a hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Proprietário at Kaza Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are truly sorry for those guests that didn't have a good time with us, but as you can see in the other reviews that doesn't happen that often. We work hard to improve day by day, unfortunately some people think that they can abuse and be aggressive to women as you have been to all the girls that works here, that is inadmissible. You understood everything that you had to pay according to our policy and even so you payed less, we could call the police by your behavior but we didn't wanna make your trip a bad one. The location is not dangerous at all. Since we opened we didn't have one single case of a guest that had any kind of problem in the neighborhood. Estácio is a very traditional area, non touristic, specially for those who want to experience the city as it really is, beyond the traditional sights that you can reach easily by metro or bus. After all someone who thinks all that you think about us shouldn't stay for so many nights as you did. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Excellent place, amazing people. Very near to the metro station, in a quiet neighborhood, few minutes away from Lapa. Very clean and comfortable... definitely a place I will recommend to everyone going to Rio. Thanks for such a great time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a grand time at Kaza Rio and would suggest it to anyone and everyone! The hostel was clean, location close to a subway which took us into the touristy area, warm showers, and the hostel staff were fantastic! There for questions, always helpful, and spoke English very well. They showed us a fantastic time with a BBQ on their cute little terrace, movie night, showed us around Lapa, and in return we showed them some American drinking games! It was a blast. I will definitely be staying at Kaza Rio next time I come. Promise :)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spent new years eve at Kaza Rio and loved every single thing about it! Warm welcomed by nice staff, well decorated and small details such as they made a special dinner for new years, bought us metro tickets and a Free BBQ on the first! I would definitely will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judavezinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hostel is located in non touristic part of Rio, quite hard to find... But it is really close from the metro station which will take you to the city center in 5 minutes and there is a bus stop at 10 meters.

It is really clean, new and there is dorm with air condinioning, the staff is quite friendly.

It is really cheap for Rio
- There is a nice bar and a terrasse on the roof... but it closes at 10pm.
- There is no night Staff who can for example call for a Taxi
- There is quite a lot of noise from the street
- Breakfast is not included (if you pay less than 40)

I had a big problem with bedbugs... They were really embarassed and they refunded me for a night.

Room Tip: In summer, rooms with AC are only 5 Rls more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renaud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula R, Owner at Kaza Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thanks for your review, as you said took us by surprise since we never had a bedbug problem before. We are very glad to inform you that the problem was solved. And now we triple check every single bed! Anytime you are around come and join us and check our daily improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Laranjeiras
Villa 25 Hostel & Suites
Villa 25 Hostel & Suites
#6 of 836 in Rio de Janeiro
114 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#2 of 836 in Rio de Janeiro
499 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
WOLO Hostel
WOLO Hostel
#5 of 836 in Rio de Janeiro
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#77 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,210 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#78 of 836 in Rio de Janeiro
493 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaza Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaza Rio

Address: Rua Haddock Lobo 23, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20260-130, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 836 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £10 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaza Rio is located in Estácio a lovely and local area in Rio de Janeiro. 2 min walking from the metro station and with several buses running all day and night. You can choose between our private or shared dorms with Fan or AC. We also have a lovely rootop where you can enjoy with a caipirinha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaza Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaza Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing