We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Rooms are not good”
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Copa Hotel
Ranked #40 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Rio Windsor, on our first trip to Rio de Janeiro in Nov 2013, and chose the hotel because of the location, and the good ratings on TripAdvisor.
The location of the hotel is definitely good with it just being short walk away from the Copacabana beach and just behind the famous Copacobana palace. The choice of restaurants nearby also contribute to the good location.
However, the rooms and the hotel itself were quite average and a bit of a letdown.
The rooms are small and not so comfortable. Even the bedsheets were not clean on our arrival, though were replaced by fresh ones on the next day.

Would recommend this if you're not planning to spend too much time in the hotel room and wish to explore Rio as much as you can. It is also very close to the beach.
However, don't expect a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaitanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Copa on your recent trip to Rio, and also for taking your time to help us through your comments. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location and services. Unfortunately one of our rooms were not up to your expectations (the rooms have different sizes and the size depends on the category reserved).
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

We wish you a great New Year’s eve and a 2014 full of peace and happiness!

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very good. It's 1 block back from the beach, breakfast is excellent and when we needed to stay an extra night, staff were very helpful - they were fully booked, but made a note and suggested we try back in the morning when they could see if there had been any cancellations. The rooms are small, but this is a city where space is at a premium and it wasn't an issue, we were comfortable. Wifi speed and connectivity is excellent. We had a room at the back of the hotel on the 12th floor which was very quiet even though it was next to the gym.

In terms of locations within Rio, we shortlisted Ipanema and Copacabana based on safety whilst also not wanting to break the bank! We visited Ipanema several times and actually preferred it there - nicer beach and it felt safer to stroll around in the evening for restaurants and bars - they're all clustered together, whereas in Copacabana they're more spread out and we passed more people sleeping/passed out in doorways. Whilst we loved the hotel, we wished we'd known and gone for Ipanema as a location instead.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Mrs. Alex,

thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel.
The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that our front desk helped providing you an unforgettable experience.

Thank you once more for choosing Windsor Copa Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was excellent we found the staff very helpful and could not have done enough for us. Rooms were lovely and clean with excellent bathroom and beds.
The hotel is very convenient to access the main beach and attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachbaby85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your recent review, on Trip Advisor. Your comments are important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. Our staff thrives to make each guest's stay memorable and exceed their expectations.
I hope you do have the opportunity in the future to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A good shower can make or break my hotel stay and the shower at the Windsor Copa made me giddy. Water pressure was strongly cleansing but not overpowering, glass doors and sleek black tile - thank you Windsor Copa! On top of a tremendous shower, the front desk was very helpful and gracious, the location was ideal and the breakfast had a mixed fruit shake that I kept going back for. I really can't think of anything to complain about!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhereNextNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear guest,

in the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are really glad to hear that our front desk staff was helpful and assisted you during your stay. Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast and our very special location.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We wanted a nice hotel, affordable and in a safe location - we didn't go wrong with this hotel. The staff on reception could not have been more helpful - they checked us in early (without charge), they answered and questions and queries we had and organised a city tour for us. The room was bright, very clean and spacious enough for what we needed. The location was extremely convinient for Copacabana beach. Would stay here again. The only thing we missed was a hotel bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Mrs. Ruthie,

thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!

I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart Copacabana , 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the area, as much as you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Windsor Copa Hotel.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A modern, clean, comfortable hotel in a great location. Only one small block from Copacabana beach. Ideal as a base for a few nights when exploring Rio.
Sensibly priced and helpful staff. The facilities are limited but when there is a whole, incredible city outside your door, it's more than adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iliketogoawanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa Hotel!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, our location and our helpful staff. We all hope to welcome you back here soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We wanted a clean hotel in a good location with a nice bathroom and good wifi and this was perfect. Not cheap by European standards but I think that is common in Rio. This seemed good value compared to other similar hotels. The location is great, 1 block from Copacabana and only a couple of blocks from the nearest metro stop. Breakfasts were ample and had a great choice. Wifi was really good, I managed a half hour Skype video call to the uk with no problem at all. Only slight downside would be the lack of bath (only had a huge shower) but I think that is probably common in similar hotels in Rio. Overall good value for Rio.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank andreampearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Mr. Andrea,

Thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices. I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart Copacabana , 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the área.
We look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#36 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
768 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,149 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#42 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#77 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,439 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#70 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,050 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#99 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £48 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing