We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with a Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Copa Hotel
Ranked #43 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with a Good Location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The facilities and staff in this hotel were great. The room was modern and clean (although the wifi was lacking a little bit). The breakfast was decent as well. But the staff went above and beyond. We lost our luggage and they spent a good amount of time on the phone with the airline tracking it down. They really treated us well and helped us out. Finally, the location is great. The area is safe (doormen also help out), and it is 1-2 blocks (5 minute) walk from Copacabana and a lot of great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. Ryan C,

in the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are really glad to hear that our front desk staff was helpful and assisted you during your stay. Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast and our very special location.

We hope to Welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    489
    105
    13
    10
See reviews for
205
339
62
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during soccer world cup. The room was small and the view was bad...the next building four meters away. But the room was clean and all was working. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was really good. Beach was about 5 minutes walk away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Windsor Copa Hotel
Dear Mr.François C,

first of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to help us with your comments. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location and our varied breakfast. Unfortunately one of our rooms was not up to your expectations. The rooms have different sizes and views, and it's depends on the category reserved.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Windsor Copa Hotel.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the world cup for 1 night on route to Salvador. The fan fest park is very close walking distance - 1 block away and safe to walk around. Dont walk around with alot of jewellery on or easy to steal backpacks/handbags. Keep money in your pockets and watch your surroundings..just be aware at all times. Front desk speak english. The room is small, but it is probably all you need when you stay in Copacabana. The breakfast was really nice, something different from the standard bacon and eggs breakfasts but well enjoyed by hubby and myself. Cannot fault this hotel, location is great, good breakfast and clean rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JeshC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Windsor Copa Hotel
Dear guest JeshC03,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us t Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and service.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon!

Best regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After trying with many different options on my short trips to Rio de Janeiro, this is one of the two of the same chain I am going to use from now on. Good service, location and staff, unless a bit pricey...
Hope to use it again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alejandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. Alejandro C,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as our location and service. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Even if for no other reason than its fabulous location, this hotel is an excellent choice. It's just a short walk from the beach, restaurants, and everything else in Copacabana. The hotel itself is also very nice--modern looking and clean. We upgraded to a larger room (a good idea), and appreciated the very comfortable bed and good pillows with nice linens, and the very large bathroom complete with a giant shower with extreme water pressure and excellent towels. There is a good-size closet space WITH hangers and a couple small drawers, a large in-room safe, a large desk/work space WITH outlets (110V), good lighting in the bedroom...the only thing missing was a comfortable chair. The bathroom could use another light, too. There is an on-site gym, and towels to use at the beach are available at no charge, although the chair station on the beach that says "Windor Hotels" does not serve the Copa Windsor, so you will need to rent a chair, if that's your style.

The breakfast buffet offered a good variety of foods, including lots of fresh fruit and juices, cheeses, breads, and hot dishes. Coffee and hot milk were served by the waiters, and sometimes they were a bit slow in refilling the cups, but the coffee was very good.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Postage stamps are available, a very nice commodity.

A negative was the internet--VERY slow at almost every time of the day. Nor did the room have any type of suitcase holder, something I would expect in a hotel of this quality.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road (6th floor), and it was a bit noisy. If you think you'll be bothered, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CONAIRAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest Conairaa,

thank you so much for your great review regarding your recent stay with us at the Windsor Copa Hotel.
We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our courtesy breakfast, served as a Brazilian style buffet, with plenty of local and seasonal fresh fruits and juices.
It is fantastic to hear how much you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart of Copacabana, only a few steps from the beach and from the vibrant cultural life of this neighbourhood.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Windsor Copa.

My very best wishes,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

STAFF: Special commendation to all friendly, helpful and professional front desk staff. They were patient in answering all our questions such as directions, money changing and relaying messages. They even helped us to check if certain shop was open, wrote down the address etc.

ROOM: Spacious, well maintained and everything worked without a hitch.

LOCATION: Great, just 2 min walk to Copacabana Beach. It's away from the main road so quieter facing. If you join a local tour bus, you will need to walk to main road for pick-up. Shops and eateries along the streets.

We ate at this local grilled meats joint called Quick Galetos - tasty chicken and thick cut pork well-marinated with liquor. Also a Kilo cafe where you pay by weight of your dish. You can also find shops selling Havaianas slippers and Melissa shoes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orbidtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest Orbidtank ,

thank you for your recent review, on Trip Advisor. Your comments are important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. Our staff strives to make each guest's stay memorable and exceed their expectations.
I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate yet another satisfies guest.
I hope you do have the opportunity in the future to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was an excellent hotel to stay in, located a minute or two from Copacabana Beach. The breakfast at this hotel was great, with Brazilian fresh fruits such as mango and pineapple included every day plus the full range you would expect. The rooms are nicely decorated and modern, the shower is fantastic. The rooms are small but who stays in their room in Rio!? The rooms were also clean and quiet at nights. All the staff were superb from the receptionist who greeted us the first night to the bell boy. Special mention however to our breakfast waitress from Rochina who every morning was always happy and smiling. We stayed for 10 nights. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeT6128DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest MikeT6128DF,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and service.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
717 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,345 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#37 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,810 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#47 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
827 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#80 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Property: Windsor Copa Hotel
Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing