We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An upmarket experience for a very economical price”
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Copa Hotel
Ranked #42 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An upmarket experience for a very economical price”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Windsor Copa is a welcoming and sparkling clean hotel. Impressive in terms of character, décor and service, it is also ideally located, just one block from Copacabana Beach. Knowledgeable and patient staff are both attentive and helpful and, although the rooms may be a little compact, they are also quiet and very well appointed. Charming dining room and an excellent, generous breakfast buffet - make sure you try the custard and coconut pastries!

Getting to the airport: ignore the offer of the doormen to have the hotel car drive you to the airport - it is very expensive. Rather, book the shuttle advertised at the front desk (but book early); or use a normal cab.

All in all, an upmarket experience for a very economical price.

A perfect stay - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Reserve a higher room away from the elevator if you want an even quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mr Bem D,

your amazing comments made our day!
We are delighted to hear how joyful has been your stay with us.
Our restaurant team is very happy with the compliments to our daily breakfast, served as a buffet with various fresh options of fruits, juices, breads and "the famous" coconut pastries!

We look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

My very best wishes,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    496
    109
    13
    10
See reviews for
208
342
64
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was here in June 2014, one week before the World Cup, and the Hotel staff treated me very well, they could not help enough with any question or problem that I had.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of variety. Anyone who has a special diet or needs, the staff would accommodate them.
It is very central to stores, supermarkets, internet cafes and more importantly the Copacabana beach. If you feel energetic, you can take a leisurely walk to Ipanema beach, which is about 2-3 miles from Copa. There are many taxi ranks close by.
It is very safe and secure, I was a little apprehensive on arriving, but my fears were totally unfounded. There are different groups of police monitoring people, vendors, cafes and bars all along the beach.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickg156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Mr rickg156,

We are really proud that your impression was excellent. We will be informing all the staff about your positive observations to motivate them even further.
Thank you so much for the compliments to our staff and for recommending our services to other travellers.

We all hope to welcome you back at Windsor Copa soon.

My kindest regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is its location, one block from Copacabana Beach and immediately behind the iconic Copacabana Palace Hotel. The other big plus is the staff, who were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The rooms are fairly basic, although everything in them seemed to work. The street in front of the hotel is very busy, so those who are sensitive to traffic noise should ask for rooms on the side of the hotel.

We were there during the World Cup, so paying FIFA's scandalously high rates. At other times of the year I suspect that this hotel is far better value.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr. Charlie1001,

thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. It's a pleasure to hear that you are giving us a BIG PLUS! Our staff are always trying there best to assist all the guests with their doubts and their needs. We are happy that you enjoyed fantastic location in the very heart of Copacabana and we all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio.

Warm Regards from Rio!

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Pros: Stayed here during World Cup. The hotel is ideally located nea Copacabana Beach. Nearby shopping, food and points of interest. Great price for the location.

Cons: Horrible views. Rooms are extremely tiny. Needs more dining options inside the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Raul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. Raul V,

I would like to thank you for the time dedicated to this evaluation. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location in the very heart Copacabana, 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the area. Concerning your comments about our rooms, we have 3 rooms category and they have different sizes and views.
Once again we thank you for your time and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Windsor Copa Hotel.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I`m a travel agent/tour organiser and had 25 rooms held for 16 nights over the WC, so these comments represent both myself and clients.
Could not fault the spotlessly clean rooms, very efficient staff, excellent breakfasts (again with attentive staff), and slightly quieter location 1 block back from the beach.
However the disadvantages were the lack of a hotel bar, pool and beach views which are offered by Avenue Atlantica hotels.
Very disappointing however was the hotels reluctance (despite several pre-tour requests) to re-sell a number of our unsold rooms, at a cheaper rate, to give others the opportunity of staying on Copacabana at a more affordable price.
I`m still giving the hotel a good rating, but due mainly to the quality of rooms and super staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are similarly sized, and can best be described as "compact", so don't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourorganiser99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest tourorganiser99,

thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel.
The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed or delicious breakfast, location and the services provided by our staff.
Concerning the rooms issue, we did absolutely everything in our possibility to give you all the assistance needed to solve that matter.
Thank you once more for choosing Windsor Copa Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The facilities and staff in this hotel were great. The room was modern and clean (although the wifi was lacking a little bit). The breakfast was decent as well. But the staff went above and beyond. We lost our luggage and they spent a good amount of time on the phone with the airline tracking it down. They really treated us well and helped us out. Finally, the location is great. The area is safe (doormen also help out), and it is 1-2 blocks (5 minute) walk from Copacabana and a lot of great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. Ryan C,

in the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are really glad to hear that our front desk staff was helpful and assisted you during your stay. Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast and our very special location.

We hope to Welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during soccer world cup. The room was small and the view was bad...the next building four meters away. But the room was clean and all was working. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was really good. Beach was about 5 minutes walk away.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Windsor Copa Hotel
Dear Mr.François C,

first of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to help us with your comments. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location and our varied breakfast. Unfortunately one of our rooms was not up to your expectations. The rooms have different sizes and views, and it's depends on the category reserved.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Windsor Copa Hotel.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
729 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#34 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,102 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,869 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#81 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,394 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Property: Windsor Copa Hotel
Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing