We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Brisa Barra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisa Barra Hotel
Ranked #24 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A brand new hotel, very welcoming and modern. Rooms and beds are very comfortable, with great view of the sea. Breakfast is delicious with different food options.
Location is great for those seeking to be at the beach, but not in the crowd.

Room Tip: Good only if you've got business to do at Barra da Tijuca. Very far from city center and tourist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    182
    51
    7
    9
See reviews for
143
111
10
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State of Rio de Janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The service at reception is simply terrible. It looks like they are doing you the favor of talking to you... All in a bad mood! We forgot a phone charger and when we asked at reception the guy, without checking, said nothing was left and that our collegue probably forgot it somewhere else.
Also it gets quite noisy when the wind blows in the middle os the night.
Not worth it at all!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersonWhoJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

LOCATION:
If you want to spend your time in Rio at Barra da Tijuca and surroundings, this is great location - the beach is just across the street, with a good track for seaside jogging and wonderful sunset.
But if you want to visit (proper) Rio de Janeiro (with its main must-see points), then you should avoid Barra da Tijuca. The traffic is a real problem in Rio. To go anywhere near the South Beaches or Downtown in Rio would stole you almost a hour of your precious time in Rio.

HOTEL:
It is a 1 year-old hotel, but some details already need maintenance as inside the lifts. Good room, clean, modern. I booked for a single room, and there was three very narrow single beds. I'd really like more just one queen size bed, but ok. The TV hadn't good cable signal, bad sound and image. The window gives you a great sight to the ocean, specially at the sunset time. It's not sound-proof; from the 7th floor I could hear the waves - what it's no problem at all. The walls seemed thin: I could hear the sound of the shower in the next room - which really can wake you up.
The bathroom is very good - you can enjoy either jacuzzi or shower.
Average breakfast - the coffee itself isn't good (I'm a coffee-addict), the bread could be better. They cannot make a good espresso for you. Don't even ask for. It's far from "continental" breakfast Brazilian hotels use to offer.
Last thing: they charge for wi-fi connection - IMHO it's rude if you are paying no bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with sight to the sea, upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parolo-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for a business conference he was attending, so we didn't know what to expect. We had a view of the ocean that was fantastic, as the beach was right across the street. We really liked the cleanliness, as well as the pleasant efficiency of the staff (Mauricio spoke English and was kind and very helpful).

I was on my own in the daytime, so the tour that was arranged by the concierge staff was really perfect--small and personable (Try to get Victor as your guide--he is awesome).
The breakfast buffet was very good with some local dishes available. Also the small bar in the lobby made the best caipirinha! I had one my first night there, and never had another that rivaled it.

The only downside was the hotel's location from downtown Rio. I took taxis to the city proper and to the botanical garden, and it took a fair amount of time to get there due to traffic and distance. If you take a yellow cab you need to pay in cash, though it is less expensive than calling for a red cab which takes credit/debit cards.

I should mention something about the noise at night since other writers mentioned this. Neither my husband nor I were bothered by it. It was sort of loud, I suppose, but it was a white noise from the ocean across the street with the sound of cars passing by, not a lot of honking or voices, etc. So to me this was just ambient sound. Maybe we are immune since we spend a fair amount of time in Manhattan, where it really is noisy.

Room Tip: You must get a room facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannefromNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I loved staying in this hotel. Nice and fast staff, new and really clean room. I was lucky enough to get the highestfloor facing the beautiful Barra beach.
Very good bbreakfast.... Go for a walk.... You'll probably be faster than cars. There's always traffic jams.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenatoFuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I took this trip with two foreign friends. For the most part, our trip was more business than tourism, except that we stayed in Rio de Janeiro from Saturday night until Monday morning. Considering that Sunday was Mother's day, the hotel was surprisingly empty... or perhaps not so surprising, given the rate (US$300/night for a triple-room). Yes, it is expensive, but the view/location might just be well worth the price we paid. Furthermore, proximity to the Yellow Line makes it relatively easy to commute to the International Airport or out of Rio. The staff was professional, friendly, polite and helpful. The few interactions we had, they were very accommodating. Valet parking is also included, although one of the drivers did not know how to start a key-less car. Beds were narrow, but I had no problem sleeping through the night, even with the AC working (not too noisy). Breakfast was included in the price and was plentiful, with a variety of fruits, juices, and breads. There were a few (and rather small) annoyances: internet was paid (US$10-US$13 depending on R$ exchange rates), the loss of the magnetic/electronic room key would incur in surcharges, and don't ask for an espresso: at US$2.50 a shot, you would think that coffee was imported from Europe... but in reality it did not taste that great. All in all, it was worthwhile as my friends got to wake up to an astonishing view of Barra Beach.

Room Tip: 1. Wireless internet worked better near the corridor, away from the balcony. 2. The staff explains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vini00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights in April 2013. This is a modern luxury hotel. The internet cost was approx. 10.00/day. The buffet breakfast was very good. A nice assortment of fresh fruit, eggs that were prepared in many different ways, crepes etc. We paid more for an ocean view. It was beautiful. The rooms were very clean. The staff at the front desk spoke English & were very helpful. I like firm beds so I found them comfortable. Never used the pool as the ocean was across the street. The only negative I found was that the patio window is only single pane. The traffic on the streets is heavy during daylight hours & you could easily hear it with the patio door closed. Having the ocean view was nice as at night we could hear the waves crashing. If noise is an issue bring ear plugs. Our flight left in the evening & they accommodated us by storing our luggage & provided us with an area to change in prior leaving. They arranged reasonable Taxi service for us back to the airport. Rio is very expensive. You may not be getting the same for this price as in other countries but in comparison with other hotels in Rio was equivalent or better. I was concerned about booking this hotel when I read some of the reviews but very relieved when we arrived & it met our expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms that had ocean view may be noisy as patio door is single pane. The noise of the waves is soot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babageda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Ho...
#128 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,410 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
540 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Barra
Windsor Barra
#40 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#56 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
882 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#7 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
606 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Hotel Laghetto Stilo Barra Rio
Hotel Laghetto Stilo Barra Rio
#74 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisa Barra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisa Barra Hotel

Property: Brisa Barra Hotel
Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 5700, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-012, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brisa Barra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Brisa Barra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisa Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing