We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ranked #70 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank NITERAGESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

This hotel is in a safe area, right behind famous Copacabana Palace. Short walking distance to bus stops-metro and to the beach. Building is modern, rooms and bedding are super clean. Toshiba air condition is so quiet. 24h open bar. Prices are affordable at its bar-restaurant. Internet speed is really good comparing to other hotels I stayed in Brazil. They let me check out late at 3PM with my Gold Membership on Le Club.
Worth of every penny!

Room Tip: Windows are pretty much soundproof but if you want exact silence, ask for a room facing backwards, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Engin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata E, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taken the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor and for choose ibis RJ Copacabana.
We are very delighted to read that we were able to fulfill your expections.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we will be glad to see you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very nice, simple room with a great location. Walking distance to Copa beach, many restaurants. One thing, the elevator door close fast. Like, the fastest elevator doors I have ever seen.

The buffet was pretty simple, but better than most continental breakfasts in the US. The coffee/espresso machine was appreciated.

I had my laundry done, a little pricey but it was done correctly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side of the lowest occupied floor, and noise level was low. Plus, we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you know the Ibis chain then you know what kind of room to expect , basic features , small size of rooms (but that's common also for much more expensive hotels in Rio) , good position just a couple of blocks from the beach behind the world famous Copacabana Palace .
We spend a couple of nights at this property as I really wanted to test this hotel since it opened months ago (one of the rare new additions in Rio) , the double bed is just enough for 2 adults , the extra bed for our son made the room feel cramped so we decided to move to another hotel for the remaining days in Rio .
The hotel has absolutely everything you expect from an Ibis , no luxury , basic quality , very clean with a good service offered by the staff , position is really good , also close to the metro station .
The rooms are really good for singles or a couple that is in Rio for vacation and doesn't need a swimming pool or any fancy extra service , the price/quality ratio is unbeatable in Copacabana .
The hotel offers a free wi-fi connection with quite good connection speed , all the staff is very nice and attentive , the breakfast has a reasonable choice of food and is not expensive , but we used just to take a coffee at the bar in the morning .
We only reserved our room in the last December days for our stay at the beginning of January and we could still find rooms available at a very reasonable price .
We were completely satisfied with everything , but needed to have a little bigger room so just switched to another hotel for this reason .
Will be back to this hotel for sure on one of my business stays !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlessioG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have been in Rio for a weekend, and chose this hotel mainly because of the price. It is quite well located, a few blocks from Copacabana beach, and I noticed that it is a very new hotel. Like every other hotel in Rio, it is very expensive, but with very good cost benefit for the area. New furniture, a bed that might get small for two, but clean room and bathroom and friendly staff. If they keep the quality and the price, I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I enjoyed this hotel. It had a great location, where we felt safe and comfortable. It was walking distance to the beach, which was nice, as lots of great restaurants and people-watching took place there. The free wi-fi was a lifesaver.

The room was a decent size, though I did find it uncomfortable that instructions on the window stated to not open the curtains. Hence, the room seemed dark all the time. In addition, the breakfast seemed shoddy; the coffee machine rarely worked and there were few choices for food except for small, cold pastries and a few pieces of fruit. Overall, these issues would not prevent me from staying again. The service was very friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank ashleyinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights, with my wife. Were visiting Rio for the first time and wanted a well located hotel. Staff was very friendly and collaborative. Buffet breakfast had plenty for all. Will stay here without a doubt in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank S1PRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,067 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#98 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
848 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
708 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,066 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#142 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Copacabana Posto 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Copacabana Posto 2

Address: Rua Ministro Viveiros de Castro, 134, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £34 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing