We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ranked #66 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a very good location, the staff welcomed us with a smile and checked us in quickly. They have been friendly and helpful during our whole stay.

The room was always clean and had everything we wanted, the cleaning staff was also very friendly. (We were on the 5th floor).

We tried the breakfast once, it was ok, but outside of the hotel are soany better options to try a taste of Rio cuisine! :).

Only the wifi reception was poor, but it did work most of the time for the basic needs. They were on top of things when it was down.

You cannot ask for a better place to stay, location-wise and price-wise.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BVD725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milene S, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Milene S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

1. The hotel room is basic. Close to the beach. Around the block you can take a free shuttle to the Rio Sul mall. It is worth the trip, lots of shops.

2. Cleanliness. We requested the room to be cleaned daily. I noticed the sand was still in the shower from two days previous when we went to the beach. We also complained that it smell like mold...it was really bad.

3. Staff are somewhat friendly. We had to leave to the airport early am; the elevators were not working. We contacted the front desk; he did nothing....we were stuck on the 9th floor. We walked down the 9 flights with our luggage. Did not offer any help.

4. Taxi charges extra if it is before 6a or after 9p.

5. By Rio Tours. The staff are not friendly, especially Deborah. She fail to take the group to entire tour; Catedral because it was closed. We complained at the front desk. Luis front desk told us he was going to refund us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belen20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milene S, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Milene S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of the hotel is good, just a few blocks from the beach and there are heaps of small supermarkets around. With all the over priced around in the same area, ibis is a comparatively budgeted choice, but with all the basic things you need at a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mabsbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very basic hotel built cheap managed cheap you can really feel they are trying to keep costs down. The little pleasantries are overlooked.overall an OK hotel good location, rubbish food and bar but staff as helpful as they can be with limited English.

Room Tip: Keep Windows locked if on ground floor. People roam around the grounds at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I doubt if you can find another hotel in Rio that can beat the price / quality factor of this hotel. The hotel is new, therefore all rooms are in great and only GREAT condition. I've seen 6 rooms in different floors and they all looked superb (we have stayed with the group). Yes , rooms are not very big, but you aren't going to stay in your room for other than your sleeping time once you are in Rio, right ? Bed and pillows were very convenient. The kid's bed is an option in some of their rooms. We have paid 16 Reals extra for breakfast ( 8 reals per kid), and it was worth it. The coffee was delicious, as well as their pastries , meats, etc. Great shower. I've got the impression that the neighborhood is quite safe around the hotel. They also have security guys at the hotel on duty. We have used the safe in the room to keep our documents and cash, so we could walk around with small amounts of cash. Two blocks to the beach. Metro station is few minutes walking distance, as well as many bus stops. Paid extra for the late check out. They have a flat taxi fee of 50 Reals to the airport, just make sure you get the card from the reception - we used 3 cabs, and only one of them have charged 50 R, the rest wanted to have more once we arrived at Rio International. Would definitely stay here again, and recommend this to families with small kids.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aidasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milene S, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Milene Sacardo Iazzetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent cost/benefit hotel with simple and basic, but clean and quiet rooms. Excellent location, close to bus and subway stations and just 2 blocks away from Copacabana beach, with lots of options of restaurants, specially by night. Tourists, specially foreigners, should be careful when wandering at night by the beach sidewalk.

Room Tip: Try picking higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaljunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in the Ibis Copacabana for 6 nights in April. The hotel is ideally situated just two blocks from the beach (5 minute walk max.). Considering the location, the price is very good. The hotel staff speak excellent English and were very helpful - we had a problem with one of our pre booked trips and the guy at reception rang another company for us and got us booked on a similar trip that day. Every night we asked reception staff for recommendations of where to eat and the restaurants they suggested were very good. The hotel is clean and safe, as is the surrounding area. The breakfast is just a typical hotel breakfast but there was enough variety, and considering the cost it is very good. We did get a burger as a snack (I wouldn't recommended that) - it was just a quick processed one but that's because bar and snacks for 24 hours. The rooms are quite small but perfectly sized considering you spend little time in the room as there is so much to do outside of hotel. The area is quiet over night and we had no issues with noise. Overall, we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison_Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renata E, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Alison:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Milene Sacardo Iazzetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#39 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
767 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,093 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#209 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#85 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,398 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#52 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
943 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Copacabana Posto 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Copacabana Posto 2

Address: Rua Ministro Viveiros de Castro, 134, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £40 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing