We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ranked #61 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location and great value”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had read that the rooms were incredibly small, but we found that it was a decent size for a value chain hotel. The location was fantastic (2 minutes from Copacabana beach and 2 minutes from a metro station), the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the free wifi was particularly useful.

Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    1,105
    260
    33
    22
See reviews for
471
705
138
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

From the second I walked in, the guy on reception was brilliant. Spoke perfect English (which was very welcome after struggling in Iguassu) and couldn't have been any friendlier or helpful. The room was excellent, clean, aircon, flatscreen TV with connections underneath for HDMI or standard inputs so you could plug devices into into it and free wifi.

Location was great too, just a couple of blocks from Copacabana beach. Felt very safe in the area too walking about. They also were able to provide a power adapter as although I had taken the dual cylindrical pin adapter for my UK plug these didn't work here (or Iguassu) as the base was too big and needs the small hexagonal head.

Restaurant was also very good and again the waiters etc couldn't have been more friendly.

I only wish every Ibis was like this!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milene S, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Milene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 7days and were really satisfied. The staff was very helpful, spoke good English (at least one in each shift) and was very nice. The place was clean and everything worked perfect. The hotel is about 5-10mins walk from the Copacabana beach, the area felt very safe. This is in contrast to the city center (with high office buildings “New York style”) – I advice everybody NOT TO GO THERE over the WEEKEND. The place looks like from the I Legend movie – deserted and dangerous. We were robbed there with my mom. However, it is save to go there over the week in normal working time (which we did before the robbery and felt safe, surrounded by crowds of people)…

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milene S, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Iva,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Milene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

It's an Ibis like any other. A short walk from Copacabana, the main shopping street and the excellent Metro. Great option as long as you get a good deal on the price. Service is a bit hit or miss, and check in can take a while, but that's about average for an Ibis.

Helpful?
2 Thank Qayser H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I just returned from a week in Copacabana, from May 4 - 11, 2014. I was there on business.
The hotel is very basic, but I mean that in a good way. It was clean, and the restaurant provided an adequate breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. In that location, and at that price, I don't know how you could do better. I looked at a few other hotels and they were either much more expensive, or were not as well-kept.
If you really want to stay in Copacabana at a reasonable price, this is probably your best option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Initially I chose Sheraton but moved to Ibis because the former was quite far from the main beaches of Copocabana or Ipanema. I am glad I did because Ibis Copacabana is unsurpassed in terms of location. It is in Copacabana and just two blocks from the beach (less than 5 minutes' walk) and 1 block from the subway station. There are countless shops and restaurants around, so shopping and food are easily accessible. Staying near the subway, in my opinion, is important in Rio because it allows you to get to just about anywhere in Rio.

Service is excellent in the hotel. Everyone from the check-in counter staff to the restaurant staff were exemplary - being very friendly, courteous, attentive and ready to assist in any way. I must highlight one staff Cynthia who helped to arrange tours for me; she was very kind and gave me lots of advice on where to go in Rio.

The rooms were very well maintained and comfortable. Toilets were also spacious and clean. Wifi in the room was available and reliable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank hotspot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milene S, Gerente geral at Ibis Copacabana Posto 2, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Milene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#33 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
649 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#142 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
483 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#98 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#49 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
844 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#55 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
876 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Copacabana Posto 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Copacabana Posto 2

Property: Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Address: Rua Ministro Viveiros de Castro, 134, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing