We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca
Ranked #74 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Terrible experience ! AWFUL !! Unwashed bed sheets!!, people got stuck in elevator due to power outage (it happened twice in a period of two hours).
When we asked the hotel manager for help he simply replied than couldn't do anything... that the generator was BROKEN! and we have to wait for the maintenance staff that could take 45 minutes to arrive at the hotel... Nobody helped except for other hostages.
After the second power outage, surprise: Internet was DOWN, no telephone communication even with the receptionist.
All the staff are tricky, including the hotel manager (what a shame!). They were lying all the time about the situation, pretending that nothing happened...
The power outage happend at 22:00 hs and as we left the hotel (the next day at 13:00) the Internet were still DOWN...
Don't go to that Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cássio H, General Manager at Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013
Google Translation

Caro Sr. Sérgio,

Bom dia.

O Hotel Ramada Riocentro zela pela qualidade na prestação de serviços, porém, dependemos de terceiros para realizar um trabalho satisfatório.

Como é de seu conhecimento, a concessionária de energia (Light) teve problema no domingo a noite interrompendo o fornecimento de energia durante duas horas, isso acarretou uma série de problemas não só para o hotel mas para toda a região que também sofreu com o blackout.

A falta de energia impede, os demais serviços ( internet, telefone e elevadores). Por medida de segurança, é determinação da empresa que faz a gestão dos elevadores que pessoas presas nas cabines devem ser retiradas somente pela própria equipe de manutenção da empresa, no caso a “Otis”, por isso agimos dessa forma. Há casos de acidentes terríveis quando leigos tentaram resolver a situação quando não deveriam.

Com relação aos lençóis sujos, foi comunicado ao senhor que arrumação do seu quarto não foi feita também devido a falta de luz, porém, concedemos outro quarto para resolver essa situação no mesmo momento.

Estávamos aqui a sua disposição para ajuda-lo, inclusive foi ofertado ao senhor e sua acompanhante um outro hotel, sem que houvesse nenhum prejuízo, mas o senhor se negou e preferiu permanecer conosco naquela noite, além disso, o senhor se exaltou não só comigo que sou o Gerente, mas também com o Supervisor da Manutenção e com o Supervisor da Recepção e se retirou, não nos permitindo ajuda-lo em mais alguma coisa que necessitasse.

Sem mais.

Cássio Hosken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

The room are very nice, food is ok but expensive. It is a new hotel. Their location is far from places like copacabana beach or Christ the redeemer. I spent ~90 Real on taxi to go to any of these places. Only people at the lobby speaks english.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Well I thought the price was very reasonable the room was a good size and everything was clean and tidy the staff were extremely friendly and attentive the location was perhaps the downfall but not to far from the beach and shopping malls.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guvvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The actual hotel room is very nice. Big comfortable bed, decent sized room. Shower has super high water pressure. It has a little balcony which would be nice if there was anything to look at nearby. Our view was of a incomplete building that construction had apparently been abandoned on. Not so great.

As far as amenities, the pool is nice although there are only a few lounge chairs and a few tables. The fitness center is small but fairly well equipped. The restaurant food was not very good and very expensive. The dining room is more of a cafeteria set up near the front desk. Service was super slow. Several nights a buffet was set up and I was nearly finished with my dinner before any drink order was ever taken. I was able to take the complimentary shuttle on one occasion and it was convenient, other times when I requested it I was told it was full although no passengers were on it yet. I guess you have to reserve a seat?

Now the location. It was far. From almost everything. We tried to set up a tour and the tour guides told us we were too far away to pick up. We spent a lot of money on cabs and they took a long time to arrive at the hotel. The nearest beaches were Recreio and Barra. They were each about 15-20 min cab ride depending on traffic. Ipanema took an hour but there was a lot of traffic. It was about 15 miles away I think. I wouldn't recommend walking anywhere around the hotel. It looked sketchy and the staff advised against it. Barra Shopping was the closest shopping area and it was about 20 min away. It is very close to the future Olympic site.

I suppose in 2016 I would recommend this hotel but until then I would suggest looking in areas closer to the sites and beaches.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ten3487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My brother and I stayed here for a few nights during Carnival since all the other hotels were triple the price they typical are. We figured we’d be out and about most of the time during Carnival anyways so we thought we’d stay some money, which wasn’t a bad idea. We did end up transferring to Ipanema beach after a few days. The hotel is ok but it’s far from the beach. You end up spending a lot of $ on taxis and you have to wait a good 30 minutes for them to arrive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Although in "Rio Centro" do not think it is at all near all the usual attractions one thinks of in Rio, "Christ The Redeemer", Sugar Loaf Mountain, Coppacabana Beach, Carnival, The Airport, they are a long and costly taxi ride away. The building itself is new and a bit stark, probably here because the Olympic park is nearby.The catering is also not up to European standards though the staff do their best to be helpful. There is a free shuttle bus to take you to the large shopping mall about 10 minutes away or the Barrca Beach about 15 minutes.There is nothing else around the Hotel to make you want to stop until of course the Olympics arrive in 2016 when it might be a convenient place to stop but for Rio itself aim more for the beach or harbour area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keniron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was initially confused when my taxi pulled up and there was no beach in site, however this hotel is new, clean and modern. This is one of the best hotels I stayed in outside the US! The staff is really friendly and in true Brazillian will do everything to make you comfortable. THE BEST PART OF THE HOTEL IS THE LE CORPUS SPA IN THE HOTEL!!! This spa has a package for around $100 bucks you get a body scrub, sauna, facial and massage! The massage and scrub is performed by two ladies so its four hands on you!!! PURE HEAVEN :)

Room Tip: If you do stay here, you can arrange a taxi to take you sightseeing to Copacabana, Impanema, Sugarlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Courtyard Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Courtyard Rio de Janeiro Barra d...
#123 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
80 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Best Western Rio Convention Suites
Best Western Rio Convention Suit...
#217 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
20 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#215 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Venit Barra Hotel
Venit Barra Hotel
#144 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
56 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Residence Inn Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Residence Inn Rio de Janeiro Bar...
#149 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
38 reviews
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#83 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca

Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22780-160, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Jacarepaguá
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Riocentro Convention Center with Free Shuttle to Barra da Tijuca BeachWith a location close to beaches, the Riocentro Convention Center, and the 2016 Summer Olympic Village, the Ramada Rio de Janeiro/Riocentro hotel provides travelers with convenient access to a number of major destinations in Barra da Tijuca. Located southwest of the city near the Atlantic Ocean, our Rio de Janeiro hotel is in the heart of Barra, an area well-known for its beaches and shopping malls just 45 minutes from the Rio de Janeiro-Galeao International Airport.When you are ready to head out to the beach for the day, take advantage of our free shuttle, which also provides service to the convention center and shopping malls. If work is on the agenda, our Riocentro hotel provides free Wi-Fi along with conference rooms and a business center to help you stay connected. An outdoor pool and fitness center provide the perfect way to unwind, while our on-site restaurant ensures you can grab a meal any time of day.LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Rio de Janeiro hotel is located less than a mile from Riocentro, the largest exhibition center in Latin America and host to numerous events throughout the year. For those that came to relax, Barra da Tijuca beach is just fifteen minutes from the hotel and is one of the most sought after beaches for surfers and fishing enthusiasts. Visitors to Sugarloaf Mountain can watch rock climbers scale this impressive peak or can reach the summit themselves via cable car. If shopping is more your sport, Barra is home to many malls, including the largest shopping center in South America, BarraShopping, which boasts nearly 700 stores, restaurants, cinemas and a bowling alley.DINING OPTIONSNearby Marius Crustaceos offers a unique setting to enjoy fresh fish and seafood while Porcao Rio’s serves an expansive buffet with 30 kinds of salad, seafood, steak, meats, pasta and dessert. Vovo Tino Bar and Restaurant is a great option for Happy Hour, while Café Etilico also hosts a variety of shows and events to entertain diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Rio De Janeiro - Barra Da Tijuca Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing