We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca
Ranked #79 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a new hotel and some facilities / services (restaurant, etc) were being done in temporary rooms. The hotel is clean and seemed safe. The location is not very good and it is not walking distance from anything (and there are no side walks, etc.), so you will need a car or taxi to get anywhere (even to Riocentro, etc). The beach is about 20 - 25 minutes away. The staff still needs some training. I would not stay in this hotel again and would not recommend it to my colleagues (unless they are going to Rock in Rio or Olympic Village).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cássio H, General Manager at Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Good morning.

We appreciate your feedback as these are very important for us to evaluate our services.

Regards,

Cassio Hosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    385
    195
    57
    54
See reviews for
172
142
37
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for 2 nights attending a conference in the nearby conference venue. The hotel is relatively far away from downtown rio, but close to an area with a lot of development activity (olympic park).

Local taxi drivers have difficulty in finding the hotel; but once you get close to the location there are traffic signs leading you to the building.

The hotel itself looks like an appartment complex that was converted last minute into a hotel. I've arrived early in the morning, check-in took about 15 minutes (altough there was no other customer present) and was ok. For some reason they told me that they don't accept Ramada/Wyndham Rewards numbers in their hotel.

I then made my way up to the room through a dark and not very appealing looking corridor into my room - just to find out when I entered the room that it was occupied by another guest (a rather scary experience for this poor guy). Back to reception to get another room, they then went up to check some rooms if there is one available and ready.

After another 25 minutes, they actually found a room for me. The room itself is pretty basic with a noisy airconditioning - every room apparently has its own split aircon device instead of central airconditioning. The bathroom is very small and basic and was unfortunatly not very clean and full of small insects. The bathroom also lacks some very basic amenities such as tissues. The best part of the room is the bed which is comfortable and clean.

After 1 day my room keys stopped working - I had to go back to the reception 3 times until they managed to get me a new key that was actually working - no excuses from their side at all.

The breakfast room is terrible, small, fold-away tables, over-crowded without any sense of true hospitality. The hotel restaurant offers so-so food with a completely useless service team.

All-in-all the worst Ramada I've ever stayed. Bad infrastructure combined with terrible service and complete absence of any customer focus. I will not return...

I finally got my

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swissski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cássio H, General Manager at Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Ms.,

Good Afternoon.

Thank you for sending your opinion. It's of great importance to evaluate our services.

I will personally take adequate measures to resolve the facts mentioned.

Best Regards,

Cassio Hosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

it was terrible! let me give some examples:
- i left a piece o dental floss sticked on the bathroom wall and nobody took it out for three days;
- every time i took the tower, a different hair show up;
- floor was dirty and sticked.
- my shower didn´t have a courtain or something;
- i asked for breakfast at 7:45, it arrived after 8:00 after they insist to have me in the restaurant because it was "free breakfast" instead of ask to the room service and pay R$ 25,00.
- the invoice was wrong with additional beverages and beer that i never had. When I asked for the invoice, they said it would take a long time to print, i am waiting for that on my email but i feel i will spend many phone calls.
- bathroom entrance has a big step with no ramp, what almost destroyed by toe nail.

Room Tip: don´t go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdKami01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cássio H, General Manager at Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Good afternoon.

The Ramada Riocentro welcomes your comments, they are very important for us to take appropriate measures to improve our services.

I'll personally send your comments to the heads of sectors mentioned so that these cases do not occur again.

Sincerely.

Cassio Hosken
General Manager - Ramada Riocentro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Terrible experience ! AWFUL !! Unwashed bed sheets!!, people got stuck in elevator due to power outage (it happened twice in a period of two hours).
When we asked the hotel manager for help he simply replied than couldn't do anything... that the generator was BROKEN! and we have to wait for the maintenance staff that could take 45 minutes to arrive at the hotel... Nobody helped except for other hostages.
After the second power outage, surprise: Internet was DOWN, no telephone communication even with the receptionist.
All the staff are tricky, including the hotel manager (what a shame!). They were lying all the time about the situation, pretending that nothing happened...
The power outage happend at 22:00 hs and as we left the hotel (the next day at 13:00) the Internet were still DOWN...
Don't go to that Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cássio H, General Manager at Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Google Translation
Caro Sr. Sérgio,

Bom dia.

O Hotel Ramada Riocentro zela pela qualidade na prestação de serviços, porém, dependemos de terceiros para realizar um trabalho satisfatório.

Como é de seu conhecimento, a concessionária de energia (Light) teve problema no domingo a noite interrompendo o fornecimento de energia durante duas horas, isso acarretou uma série de problemas não só para o hotel mas para toda a região que também sofreu com o blackout.

A falta de energia impede, os demais serviços ( internet, telefone e elevadores). Por medida de segurança, é determinação da empresa que faz a gestão dos elevadores que pessoas presas nas cabines devem ser retiradas somente pela própria equipe de manutenção da empresa, no caso a “Otis”, por isso agimos dessa forma. Há casos de acidentes terríveis quando leigos tentaram resolver a situação quando não deveriam.

Com relação aos lençóis sujos, foi comunicado ao senhor que arrumação do seu quarto não foi feita também devido a falta de luz, porém, concedemos outro quarto para resolver essa situação no mesmo momento.

Estávamos aqui a sua disposição para ajuda-lo, inclusive foi ofertado ao senhor e sua acompanhante um outro hotel, sem que houvesse nenhum prejuízo, mas o senhor se negou e preferiu permanecer conosco naquela noite, além disso, o senhor se exaltou não só comigo que sou o Gerente, mas também com o Supervisor da Manutenção e com o Supervisor da Recepção e se retirou, não nos permitindo ajuda-lo em mais alguma coisa que necessitasse.

Sem mais.

Cássio Hosken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The room are very nice, food is ok but expensive. It is a new hotel. Their location is far from places like copacabana beach or Christ the redeemer. I spent ~90 Real on taxi to go to any of these places. Only people at the lobby speaks english.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Well I thought the price was very reasonable the room was a good size and everything was clean and tidy the staff were extremely friendly and attentive the location was perhaps the downfall but not to far from the beach and shopping malls.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guvvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The actual hotel room is very nice. Big comfortable bed, decent sized room. Shower has super high water pressure. It has a little balcony which would be nice if there was anything to look at nearby. Our view was of a incomplete building that construction had apparently been abandoned on. Not so great.

As far as amenities, the pool is nice although there are only a few lounge chairs and a few tables. The fitness center is small but fairly well equipped. The restaurant food was not very good and very expensive. The dining room is more of a cafeteria set up near the front desk. Service was super slow. Several nights a buffet was set up and I was nearly finished with my dinner before any drink order was ever taken. I was able to take the complimentary shuttle on one occasion and it was convenient, other times when I requested it I was told it was full although no passengers were on it yet. I guess you have to reserve a seat?

Now the location. It was far. From almost everything. We tried to set up a tour and the tour guides told us we were too far away to pick up. We spent a lot of money on cabs and they took a long time to arrive at the hotel. The nearest beaches were Recreio and Barra. They were each about 15-20 min cab ride depending on traffic. Ipanema took an hour but there was a lot of traffic. It was about 15 miles away I think. I wouldn't recommend walking anywhere around the hotel. It looked sketchy and the staff advised against it. Barra Shopping was the closest shopping area and it was about 20 min away. It is very close to the future Olympic site.

I suppose in 2016 I would recommend this hotel but until then I would suggest looking in areas closer to the sites and beaches.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ten3487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Jacarepaguá
Best Western Rio Convention Suites
Best Western Rio Convention Suit...
#227 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
7 reviews
Jacarepaguá
eSuites Riocentro Verano Stay
eSuites Riocentro Verano Stay
#184 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
255 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Venit Barra Hotel
Venit Barra Hotel
#134 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Convention Suites
Midas Rio Convention Suites
#209 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
148 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimpico
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimp...
#111 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
422 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Riocentro
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Rio...
#74 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca

Property: Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca
Address: Avenida Salvador Allende 500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22780-160, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Jacarepaguá
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Rio Olympic Park' rooms are bright and spacious, divided into superior, executive and deluxe categories. They have a balcony and are equipped with digital safe, iron and ironing board, minibar, air conditioning, free wi fi internet, 42 "LCD TV, bathroom with hairdryer and magnifying mirror. The Quality Rio Olympic Park offers an excellent leisure structure with swimming pool and fitness center, as well as a meeting and event space for up to 100 people. The hotel offers full services of gastronomy, 24 hour room service and breakfast included in the daily rate. The Quality Rio Olympic Park is located near the Jacarepaguá Lagoon and has access to the main destinations of Barra da Tijuca such as: Rio Arena, Olympic Park, Riocentro Convention Center, Barra Shopping Mall, Metropolitano Shopping Mall, Cultural Centers, Barra Music and Cidade do Rock . The hotel is 15 km from Barra Beach, 09 km from Recreio dos Bandeirantes Beach, 07 km from Jacarepaguá Airport, 33 km from Tom Jobim International Airport (Riogaleão) and 37 km from Santos Dumont Airport. Jacarepaguá is a great choice for travelers interested in nature, beaches and landscapes. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Rio De Janeiro - Barra Da Tijuca Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing