We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel experience”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I'm not one for words, so I'll keep it short and sweet: in all my travels throughout South America, Discovery Hostel was the best. Great location, clean, tidy, decent breakfast. Most of all, the owners and staff are fantastic; really going the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay. I'll definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hostel is situated in a very good place. Everything is very close. Snack bars, pharmacy, subway, taxi and supermarkets. The staff are very attentive and helpful, they can speak multiple languages​​.

The atmosphere of the place is awsome. Take the opportunity to meet new friends. There you can find people from all places of the world.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a private room (for couples) choose which is next to the bathroom. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Nelson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a top hostel. It's extremely clean with a lot of facilities and above all a great atmosphere. It's 2 minutes walk from the metro, with juice bars and a supermarket around the corner. You can walk to Lapa and Copacabana is only 15mins away by metro. The staff will make you feel more than welcome and if you are as lucky as me you will make some good friends here. If you are looking for safety, location, atmosphere and comfort in Rio, don't look any further.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giv Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

When I came to Rio I stayed in the hostel for a week in late march and it was great experience. Besides that the Hostel is on a great location, the thing that I most liked is that Enrique and his staff make me feel like home and they were really caring about my stay. Thanks guys i had na Awesome experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexinho220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After travelling through Asia, Australasia and South America, Discovery Hostel has been my favourite hostel of the entire trip. The staff are incredibly helpful, the building is beautiful and the atmosphere is great. It's perfect for people travelling solo or with others. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollypearl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We were a little sceptical about booking this hostel with it being so close to lapa but we did not feel unsafe once in our 9 night stay! The metro is just on the corner so it's an excellent location! The staff are brilliant especially Jennifer, crazy Alex and Enrique, they help you with anything you need! It is so clean and tidy which is down to enriques hard work (cough OCD)!it has a lovely atmosphere and we made some amazing friends! The only thing that we would change is the smoking area because for us healthy Brits ;) the smoke was a little too much when we were sat in the lounge! And maybe jam at breakfast :) but we loved this place and would come back! Oh and the BBQ is amazing :) xx thank you for a lovely stay and I will miss Alex's random singing x

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natsky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just wanted to thank Lorraine so much for introducing me to the Discovery Hostel & all of its great people. Everyone was more than friendly & helpful to each guest. Everyone that stayed there couldn’t say more nice things about your operation, including me. The staff is great, fun and each one goes out of their way to be helpful. Would absolutely recommend it to all my friends.

Plus the location is PERFECT. Steps from the Metro, to get around town, walking distance from Lapa, THE nightlife epicenter, and everything/anything you need is blocks away. Can't say enough about how well I was treated by the staff. Genuinely nice people, and I rarely use those words....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vito D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
517 reviews
Aquarela do Leme
#2 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
94 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#3 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
WOLO Hostel
WOLO Hostel
#5 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
91 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#6 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
322 reviews
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#8 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 834 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £10 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing