We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I suggest it”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I suggest it”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Well located, just next to the Gloria metro, next to Lapa, centro...; Great stuff: easygoing and kind, they will be really helpfull with you!! A really nice atmospheare, and a good breackfast. I spent a really good time there. Defenetely i suggest!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    42
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
78
199
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Absolutely brilliant hostel. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Really nice building - a house converted into a hostel: wooden floors, high ceilings, nice bathrooms, good kitchen, patio area for eating - one of the nicest I've ever stayed at in this respect.

The location is good; in a safe area only a few minutes walk to Lapa and Santa Teresa, and 1 minute to Gloria Metro station from where you can take the metro to the beaches for 3.20 Reals. Or if you prefer the bus for 2.70 Reals, the bus stops are about 2 minutes away.

I chose this hostel because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor and I was right to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locate di Triulzi, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I spend 15 days in April at Discovery Hostel. What can I say... One of the best hostel's experience in my life. Great position, superclean and the staff is really helpfull with a lot of suggestions to live Rio in the better way. If I should come back in Rio for sure I'll book a room in Discovery Hostel!! A big thanks to Enrique, Jennifer, Alex and all the people at Discovery hostel... also the cat Leite!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugenioZona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

had just 24 hours in rio after a business trip. the staff at discovery hostel made these hours to the best since years. you get a warm welcome, perfect informations, individual decorated rooms and communal area... I was just a short time there, but it felt like home. i think this is the best thing, that can happen on a journey :) coming back to rio, this will be my first choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I choice this hostel because it was recommended on Tripadvisor as #1. After staying there for 10 days, (I booked for 6 days) the city Rio, the hostel and the people stole a peace of my heart! The staff of the hostel (Enrique, Zion, Jennifer and Alex) will take care for everything and keep this hostel a place to come back for every day! Cleaning happens every day, Continental breakfast, nice music and atmosphere! They give you good advice about food, sightseeing and activities and nightlife!!

Room Tip: Every room is equal! Good beds, 3 high bunkbeds with AC and fans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tijntje89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in Discovery for nearly a week after extending our stay several times because we didn't want to leave! The hostel itself is a beautiful building with spacious, clean dorms and great kitchen facilities and communal areas. It is also set in a great location with the Gloria underground stop at the end of the street and plenty of buses stopping nearby too.

The staff are incredibly friendly and will be able to answer any questions you have about Rio such as how to get to places and the best spots to eat (Chico's!!) so you can make the most of your stay. They'll also organise any tours or activities you want to fit in.

Easily one of the best hostels we stayed in during our time in South America, hopefully we'll be back one day!

Room Tip: The top bunks are pretty high but if you email ahead and request the lower bunks the guys will put y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squigs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Location, Location, and Location. This hostel is close to the Gloria subway station where is really close to Lapa and within a walking distance to historial center. Going to Copacabana, sugar loaf and Christo is easy reach because bus stops and subway are close by.

the area is safe. it has a lot of juice bars and grocery stores. Stocking up your daily food supplies wont' be any problems. the best part is you can watch daily Brazilian life!

the hostel itself is really clean and tidy. Staffs & owners are friendly to help. after checkin, you'll be given a map telling you where the major attractions are located and how to go there. (thanks for telling me the night market)

Other Likes. Each bed has a mini head lamp. You can unplug it and use a cable outlet to charge your electrical devices. Water filter's equipped in the kitchen so you can fill up your water bottle. Attraction and transport information is available in the living area. RED painted ceiling and custom-made cushions with Rio de Janeiro's attractions. Huge fan in sleeping room. Nice music. Definitely a good place to stay.

Room Tip: if possible, Room 1 & 2 would be better because they're away from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank commonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Babilonia Rio Hostel
#8 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#9 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Botafogo
Gaia Comfort Hostel
Gaia Comfort Hostel
#6 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#3 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Property: Discovery Hostel
Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 765 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing